The Forgotten Dream

27 68
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

October 8, 2022

"A dream doesn't become reality through magic; it takes sweat, determination, and hard work."

-Colin Powell


They said the sky's the limit when we dream. Growing up in a family with no silver spoons, I was a dreamer when I was a kid. I dreamed of a lot of things and fantasized about the life I wanted. Seeing fancy things on television made me yearn for them and I was inspired to dream more, hoping that someday, I could also have those things. Things that we can't afford to add to our possession.

I did love our simple life, living in a small hut with minimal stuff inside the house. But you can't blame a kid for experiencing a life that is better than her current life. That even motivated her to become a better person and pursue her dreams when she grows up. 

One of the questions in Ask a Traveler is, "What's your dream job?"

I have probably mentioned here before that I once dreamed of becoming a successful computer engineer. This dream was formed when I was in secondary three wherein I chose a computer subject in our TLE. I dreamed of working in a prestigious company and being one of its great programmers. I dreamed of working in Japan and being with other great personalities in the field of technology because it is a country known for its most advanced technology and innovation. 

I was halfway toward achieving my dream when I opted to give up. Something I regretted the most in the later years. It wasn't actually about the complicated job the main reason. I do love handling computers and other stuff related to them. I gave it up because I was demotivated since I wasn't receiving any support or encouragement from my family. I was dreaming for them, but they never dreamt for me. I felt like I was too alone in my journey and it was useless to pursue it.

The Hive platform was full of programmers and I somehow feel sad when reading posts about programming and anything related to computers. Those just reminded me of my forgotten dream. But they somewhat inspire me to look back at the past and probably restore it in due time. Not for the profession, but for a hobby.


I lost my passion for programming when I switched my job to business related. I once dreamed of becoming a businesswoman when I was young too. I remembered back when we were asked by our teacher in secondary one, "what's your dream job?" My answer was to become a successful businesswoman.

I wasn't actually sure about it. But that was formed because of watching shows on the TV wherein some personalities become successful and rich in business field. I dreamed of being the boss of my own company and putting up more branches in different places in my country. 

My first college course was actually B.S. in Business Administration. I switched to Computer Science in the next semester because I loved computers more than studying finance and accounting. I even hated mathematics, lol.


I do have a lot of dreams and I kept switching them. Others seemed to have been forgotten. The same as our literal dreams at night that eventually fade from our minds when we wake up in the morning.

But one dream that will never be forgotten is to be able to travel abroad.

I pursued this dream along with my dream to achieve the life that I want while helping my family.

I once lost this dream when I became demotivated due to unfavorable circumstances. But a person has ignited that dream and I was motivated to pursue it.

While traveling, I am also dreaming of living in a foreign land. To have a house somewhere in Europe where my family could have a vacation. Switzerland and the Netherlands were just some of the places where I most wanted to live. I want to live in a peaceful place full of nature that is too far different from bustling cities. Somewhere with great ambiance, tranquil scenic views, fresh air, full of greens, and the beauty of nature.


Back when I was a kid, we lived in a secluded part of the village, and believe me or not, we had never traveled to farther places outside our town. I mean, family getaways or outings. The only travel memory I could consider is going to the beach near our village. We don't even need to travel as we can just walk to get there.

If my memory serves me right, I only had a chance to visit our city when I was provided in Primary five or six. I did travel outside our town several times when my mother want to visit our father. However, they weren't enjoyable because I had to travel sickness, and I always ended up throwing up inside the bus. At the end of our journey, I felt dehydrated and weak, lol. So I really don't have any favorite childhood travel memories.

So as much as possible, now that I am capable of traveling, I want to visit as many places as I can. And my way of preserving those travel memories is through documenting them in my travel blogs. That even gives some rewards. I just hope that these two platforms, readcash, and Hive, would stay longer and would never end even if there isn't a reward, so I could easily read or retrieve my travel blogs when I retire. Reminiscing those beautiful travel memories would be a great way to spend time.

While traveling, I am sometimes surprised at myself. I am surprised every time I can do something that I haven't done before. Like sitting at the edge of a cliff, climbing an impossible part of the mountain, and others. I was a weak person before, especially since I fear heights. But I somehow conquered that fear throughout the years. So not anymore now. We really need to face our fear to conquer it.

We shouldn't limit ourselves, but rather try new things and if possible, explore the world in different ways 😊.



This post was inspired by this set of questions from Ask a traveler.

What's your dream job?

Where would you most like to live in the world?

What's your favorite travel childhood memory?

How are you documenting your trip?

What has surprised you about yourself?

If you missed my previous post about it, you can check it out here: Away for half a decade.

You can answer them too if you want to.

Thanks for reading.


**(Check out the new noise.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read. cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency  PeakD Torum •Twitter

17
$ 2.46
$ 2.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 10
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Yeah me too, I feels the same when I see them posting about programming and codings haha. But not in my teenage I dreamed about computer, I have a terrible happening in computer laboratory way back High school, this teacher bullies me for not knowing how to open a PC; seriously I grew up not even knowing about internet, that's why I never really have any chances to think about that, I thought I could just destroy computers.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lol.. High School lang dn ako natuto mag open ng pc 😂.. Grabe yun..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We need to explore the world in different ways. I'm glad you are doing that through travelling and who knows, you might become that business woman quicker than you imagined. I missed my chance of being a professional footballer but I didn't let that deter me from exploring the world with my other talents. Thanks for this, Janey.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You can share yours too uncle . 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gladly...very soon...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First dream ko talaga dti maging Business man din Haha, kasi nagign Man lang ako HAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha.. Mag business ka nlng 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

soon Mam, mag tatayo ako ng gym haha ako na din model lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka sis, mas better na di talaga natin ilimit yung sarili natin. Try new things kasi dun natin mas makilala yung sarili natin, malay natin mabago yung gusto natin sa buhay.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Bat naman kinalimutan mo friend.. Pero push lang friend kung saan ka happy doon ka magstay.. Hehe.. Ang ganda kaya magdebug ng code na ikaw din lang gumawa ng bug.. Haha..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol..sakit sa ulo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko talagang mag bartender noon kaya lang ang gastos ng HRM!!! Nagchange ako to Psychology kasi gusto kong maging Psychiatrist di ko naman natapos. Nung nakatapos na kapatid ko sabi nya ako naman pagtatapusin nya pero sabi ko okay na ako. Pero nagregret ako sana tinuloy ko pa rin. Iba pa rin yung may Diploma.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Tama...yung tipong maipagmamalaki natin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Limot na nga ba, Ate? Kasi as far as I see, gusto mong ituloy pero di mo lang siguro magawa pa kasi you're dealing with a heavy responsibilities. But anyways, malay mo the perfect timing is just about to come. Hehe! 🖖🏻

I-push lang natin nang i-push 'yang mga dreams natin, Ate. Sooner or later, we'll make it all happen. One at a time~

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Let's claim it haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many dreams come to our many in life, it is just that we need to know how to arrange them based on their weight. A lot of those dreams have to be fulfilled

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nothing is too late. I always believe that whenever there is life, there is hope. Your dreams are still achievable. You may create some time for it if you truly wish to learn it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope so

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can still achieve those dreams since your still young, madami ka pang magagawa lalo na at single ka pa, wala ka pang malaking responsibilidad aside from helping your family. Kaya go and pursue all your dreams and let us read all your travel blogs.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wala ba? Sila nga pinaka malaking responsibilidad ko kya hndi ko mgawa ibang gusto ko ,😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iba yung laki at bigat ng responsibility pag sariling pamilya mo na yung pag uusapan madam, that's why I mention single 😂. Kaya naniniwala ako na makakamit mo pa din mga dreams mo sa buhay kasi single ka pa😂, kahit pa may malaking responsibility ka sa fam mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nope madam...it's the same weight.haha..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate dun sa nakakabasa ng abt programming. Bsit grad ako pero yong mga naaral ko limot ko na. If oy di nasira yonf lappy ko malamang nabalikan ko pa yong mga inaral namin huehue. Actually same as u I also want to learn it again just as a hobby nalang. Sana makaya pa.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Pwede naman.bili ka laptop. Afford mo naman... Pag aaralan ko ulit yan someday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Soon pa madam, lapag mag buy ako maunti matitura sakin. Siguro kapag magamda na lagay ng marketuu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay nmn profit mo sa trading. Yun ipunin mo

$ 0.00
1 year ago