Ask A Traveler

36 91
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

September 28, 2022

Long ago, I always wished to travel to beautiful tourist destinations, yet I couldn't afford to do it, especially in my home country. The expenses are freaking costly when traveling to faraway places, and the transportation isn't that convenient in some parts. We have a lot of beautiful places in our country too, and I hope I can visit them someday, just like what I am doing abroad.

I stumbled upon this post by @Momentswithmatti about questions to ask a traveler and I opted to make mine. I found this site and I wasn't sure if she got her questions here, but there are 100 questions to ask a traveler. You can click here. Among all the questions, I chose these first for this article


Questions To Ask A Traveler

  • What's your favorite place so far?

While reviewing my travel stories, it seemed that I traveled more abroad than in my home country. Among all the places I visited, the Shing Mun Reservoir is my favorite. There is no doubt that it is one of the most beautiful paradises in Hong Kong.

The Enchanting Shing Mun Reservoir

I was totally stunned upon seeing the tranquil lake and loved seeing the vibrant colors of flowers, butterflies, lakes, trees, and other plants in this reservoir. There are other things to do here as well, not just to visit the lakes. There's a stream here that I want to visit the next time I come to this place again. Other hills can also be hiked from this reservoir.


  • If you could swim with dolphins or go shark diving, which would you pick?

When I encountered sharks at Ocean Park, they were freaking scary to look at. So why would I go shark diving? I'm not risky enough to feed myself to it, lol.

What I want is to swim and play with cute dolphins and learn how to dance in the water with them, lol. They are too smart to learn such stuff that's the main thing I like about them.


  • What place is top of your bucket list?

This is quite tough as I have a lot to put on top, haha. I want to go to Japan, Korea, Santorini, Paris, and other European places. But maybe I will place Amsterdam at the top of my bucket list.

Image from Unsplash by Thais Cordeiro

The Netherlands is actually what I want to explore and Amsterdam is the capital of it. After watching the recent HiveFest held in Amsterdam, my wish to visit this place has been evoked, and I'm hoping to see this place a few years from now. (Cross-fingers)


  • What can't you travel without?

I guess anyone can't travel without money. I mean, how to? Sentido common. But if there's one thing I can't travel without apart from money, that's the camera.

Image from Unsplash by Patrick

Just imagine your journey without a camera. How can you take photos of those beautiful places? Those photos are our souvenirs, aside from the beautiful memories painted in our minds. But they will fade as we grow old and become forgetful, so it's better to have a backup.

Btw, my buddy is planning to buy one, while mine was postponed as I want to buy a laptop first. We'll have better photos next time 😊.


  • Do you prefer solo travel or with someone else?

I've been a solo traveler for many years, and I wouldn't mind doing it again and again. But nothing can be happier than traveling with someone with whom you can share stories and laughter.

Besides, there wouldn't be a great photographer if we will travel solo, haha.


  • Who is the person at home that you miss the most?

It's none other than my mother. Among all of the family members, she's the closest to me. She never gets mad at me. She never let me feel that I am a burden to her, or herself to me.

She's not getting any younger anymore and her health is deteriorating over time. I'm just praying to God to give her good health and long life so we can still do more things together once I get back home.


  • What has been the most interesting item of food you've tasted?

When I think of Hong Kong food, I always think about fancy traditional Chinese food. So far, I have already tasted a lot. Some are truly delicious, while some are not to my taste.

One time, we visited a famous buffet restaurant, and my boss ordered a bowl of hot rice for me because she knew I love rice. The next thing the waiter served were bottles of oil and soy sauce. I was confused, yet familiar with it. The set of hot rice with oil and soy sauce reminded me of childhood memories, something unforgettable.

Here in Hong Kong, it is a famous rice recipe. It is eaten by mixing pork oil and soy sauce into the rice. You can click here to know how it is done here in HK.

Meanwhile, in the Philippines, we consider this food for the poor. Because usually, people are doing this when they have no viands and they only have rice on their plate. When I was young, our money wasn't enough to buy a viand for lunchtime. What my brothers and I were doing was bringing plastic containing oil and soy sauce to school along with our lunch boxes full of rice. And that solved our lunch.

You can actually try it. I am sure you will like it. It is best to be eaten when the rice is hot.


  • What food from your home country do you miss the most?

I recently made Filipino puto as I've been craving it. I even posted it on Foodies Bee Hive. You can check my food blog here if you want to know how to make Filipino puto or rice cakes.

Filipino Puto With A Twist

Apart from that, I also missed eating pinakbet when @ARTicLEE mentioned it in his post. So just the other day, I gathered the ingredients and cooked pinakbet. I've actually cooked it twice already. One for my food blog, and this one is just a simple one for my lunch the other day.

Pinakbet is a popular Filipino vegetable dish consisting of different kinds of vegetables. Originally they are pumpkin, eggplant, bitter melon, okra, and string beans. I didn't put string beans and eggplant here though. It's tasty if you add some ingredients like shrimp paste or chicken /pork cubes.


  • Which country has the friendliest people?

Well, I didn't travel around the world yet, so I can't tell which country has the friendliest people. But for me, the Philippines is one of them. We are naturally friendly, hospitable, and accommodating to others, especially visitors and tourists. That's one of the reasons why many foreigners love Filipino hospitality and are visiting our country.


  • Who is the most interesting person you've met so far?

I've met a lot of interesting people virtually. But in the real world, I guess it's my travel buddy Rachelle.

I met her in Manila while attending Hong Kong language training. When I first saw her, I immediately felt comfortable talking and socializing with her. I can't remember how we exchanged contacts. I guess it was me who asked for her number and FB account. We were hesitant toward each other at the beginning, but eventually, become close because of traveling.

We are both breadwinners and share the same interests. We also have plans for our future, bigger plans for ourselves and our families. And hopefully, our plans will come true with God's guidance. I just pray for better health for both of us, so we can pursue our goals and plans together.


That's all for now. If you are a traveler and curious about the questions, you can visit the link above and share your answers with us too.

Thanks for stopping by.


**(Check out the new nois.app here and let's be connected.Β noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

β€’read.cashΒ β€’noise.cashΒ β€’HIVEΒ β€’EcencyΒ Β  β€’PeakDΒ β€’TorumΒ β€’Twitter

Β 

20
$ 2.06
$ 1.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 11
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

naka draft na yong saken. can't wait to publish it. natuwa ako sa pagsagot ng mga tanong. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe..that's nice. Traveler ka rin kasi hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sis gusto ko makakita ng shark, just to see it in person, parang mas excited pa ako kaysa sa dolphins. Gusto ko lang guro takutin sarili ko hahha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madam, gawa ako ng article of my own nito ha? Hehe. Gusto ko rin mag swim with the dolphins. Na share ko yan sa noise before. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako na tingin sa HK ay "walang tulak-kabigin" kasi lahat naman ng shini-share mo, Ate is magaganda. As in! ✨

Anyways, tara na sa Europe, Ateee! Bet ko din sa Amsterdam ey~ then here's Switzerland, Norway, Italy, Greece and Poland. Uhoooo! When kaya makakapag-ikot sa buong Europe? Hihi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Someday..for noe..grind muna hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grind nang bongga, Ate. Hoho

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dolphins are indeed cuteee wanna swim with them too. Wish I could visit Paris and then Japan 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Traveling is a good habit. Everyone wants to travel. Three things are extremely essential to travel. First of all, there must be a strong will. Second, time and third is money. I have been trying for a long time to give tours outside the country, I can't find enough money and time for which my mission is not being completed.

Every photo is very enchanting, every photo view is amazing!πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was really enjoyable journey and clicks also. The Click of dolphins is surprised by me in a pool. I've dreamed to touch dolphins but unfortunately I've no opportunity. Journey is incomplete without interesting friend. One must be friend in a journey that make this lifeway crazy 😍, beautiful and enjoyable. Journey has no taste if we not eat our favorite food in the journey. You're lucky you found your favorite food BOWL OF HOT RICES.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I would like to explore Shing Mun Reservoir too. I've always loved serene environments with captivating views as this one. You have wonderful eyes for great things Janey.

I wish your mum good health. She's still beautiful... I know she misses you too...who wouldn't miss you anyway?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😊 thanks uncle

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also wanted to visit Japan and Korea, but I think I don't have any chance anymore since I can't travel without moneyπŸ˜†. Anyway your too lucky that you had a great relationship with your mom. I am closer to my father but he passed away already. My mom is fine but she has a favouritism.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mabait si mama..yung tipong hndi nang aaway haha..si papa kc lage galit dati 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha i think too that without money i can't travel :^) i never visit to other countries but i visit to other cities of my country.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hala enchanting nga yung shi mun. .. pano na nga shi mun river ba?

Pag mag hongkong ako balikan ko tlga mga gala mo! Haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a reservoir.. Pero dami pwd puntahan mula sa loob..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sarap ng food :) D talaga dapat mawala yan pag nagtravel somewhere.

Parang gusto ko mag swim with the sharks lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha..for a change

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Truth haha! Although cute ng dolphins :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yung adobo rice hahah nakaka miss na gawin favorite ko yan dati hahaha saka sana all nalng marunong gumawa ng puto 😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can answer this din sana if oy I travel, lol. Pero madam gusto ko talaga matikman yang puto with a twist mo. Kakaakit sa eyes ang kulay huehue

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Gawa ka madam. Madali lang naman hehe kudkud ka niyog jan, lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I mean... what's the essence of traveling without a camera?πŸ˜… How else would you literally "capture" the Moments? For the dolphin part, I have always dreamed of diving with them in my mermaid costume, how I love those animals!!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Even without a costume. I want to experience hugging it hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lahat na places na pinuntahan mo miss Jane. Super amazing lahat. Napaka ganda. True. Yung Santorini tyaka Paris sobrang maamazed talaga miss Jane.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nkapunta na kyo dun? Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so interesting. I think Dolphins are harmless and they are friendly too. I watched a short skit on Netflix where the dolphins came out of the water to hug a lady. It was so cute moment with her.

To me, I will definitely choose Dolphins instead of Shark. Why would I even go for shark? πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha. Seeing it inside the aquarium was scary. How much more if I see it in real life 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sweet πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, marunong ka pala gumawa ng puto ate, sarap kaya niyan ☺️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Steam lang nmn yan hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relate ako sa rice with oil and soy sauce favorite ko yan dati. Pag wala kaming ulam the best ulam na yang combo na yan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kya nga..d ko akalain mahal yan dto haha. Sa buffet restaurant pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago