She Has A Home, But She Chose To Be Homeless

41 84
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

September 24, 2022

While other homeless people are aiming to have homes, others prefer to be homeless for some reason. They probably want to escape from the toxic life they have, or simply just want to be alone in a different place like no one else knows them but themselves. Even though, that means, they have to be so poor while sorting boxes and sleeping on dangerous streets.

Do you still remember the old homeless woman I chose as my Christmas beneficiary last December?

She's just one of the street-sleeper in Kowloon City where I currently live. Despite being old and having a hunchback, she is still pushing a cart, collecting and sorting boxes every day to make ends meet.

I thought she was homeless. Yes, she is because she prefers to sleep in a small tent in the street.

That's the reason why I chose her as my beneficiary and was given some gifts last Christmas. And every time I see her on the street, I would give her some amount just so she could buy some food because I always see her eating cup noodles only.

However, I learned something unbelievable and I couldn't understand why she chose to be homeless.


My boss and I were walking in the street in Kowloon City after eating lunch when we came across her sleeping on her cart outside a supermarket. I was looking pitifully at her, and my boss probably noticed it. She then started saying stories about the old woman.

The first story I learned was shocking. Just recently, she was robbed by heartless men while sleeping on a flight of staircases in Kowloon City Plaza or KCP Mall. Her tent is just beside this mall but she opted to sleep on the staircase. It was before 3 am when it happened and those robbers took advantage of her weakness.

It was unbelievable to hear a homeless woman being robbed by unsympathetic men. I mean, who the hell will do that? She's weak and homeless. I searched about it online, and indeed it's true. You can read the whole story here, just click the photo below.

Click here

First, I was shocked that she was robbed knowing that she barely earn money from collecting cardboxes. But the amount of the robbed money with a phone was shocking.

How did she manage to save that amount or buy a phone?

My boss said the money was given by her son, probably the phone too. And those robbers saw the scene, so they planned to steal the money from her.

I was like, "What? She has a son?"

I was totally shocked and confused.

But why did he allow his mother to live in the street? I couldn't believe it. I will never do it to my mother! I asked for some clarification from my boss because I thought I misheard it. For what reason why she chose to live in the street, we are clueless.

The police then caught the robbers the next day, and after this incident, the old woman received heartfelt donations from the public.


I was curious about her real life story so I searched for more information online. I saw this one containing some information about why she chose to live in the street.

You can click here if you want to read it.

Based on her story in the article, she left her home 20 years ago due to a bad relationship with family members. She has three children but her son, who gave her the money, is only working in a construction company and isn't financially stable.

She refused to return home or live in an elderly home because as she said,

"Living on the streets is freer and more comfortable, elderly homes are too noisy."

Would you dare to live in the streets than be in an elderly home when you grow old?

If HK isn't safe, how much more in our country? I better stay in a noisy elderly home than risk my life in the street.


**(Check out the new nois.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency   PeakD Torum •Twitter

25
$ 6.74
$ 6.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 18
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Kai!! Heartless criminals, still have the nerve to still from her taking advantage of her situation. I believe they will serve more than their jail terms.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For some people this is a choice. It’s like a rebelion of sorts. I once read a book by Paulo Coehlo about a group of homeless in France who chose to live a homeless life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A mother choosing to be in the streets than home seems to say a lot. That means she find peace of mind and freedom there. Siguro mas toxic sa bahay nila kaya mas gusto nya sa lansangan na lang. Sad naman...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I read this from my other, so and my account wasn't logged in there, I almost forgot. Back to my last comment on noise, I think, she just want to be and if anyone advice her on the dangerous the street is for elderly person like her, will she agree to go back home? besides she has been on the street for long

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had an old school friend who decided to live on the streets and felt "freer" too. There isn't much you can do to change them only support them as best you can. Most of these things are caused by people suffering some sort of trauma or mental health issues. But when you consider the so-called "society" we live in, it is no wonder there are cases of this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hoi! Puryagaba! Grabe mga taong yan ung matanda pa sa kalye ninakawan. So, heartless! It's a pity na ayaw nga sa elderly home totoo nmn na maingay, hehe! Pero at least dun safe sya kc meron nmn pala syang anak na bumibisita sa kanya.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kya nga. May mga doctor pa dun magbabantay kung magkasakit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's very weird that she chose to live in the street instead of an elderly home, I guess she really value her freedom but to go to such extent is very risky and not wise. Couldn't she have stayed with her son instead of the streets?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

For some reason, she doesn't like

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As I was searching recently about the current issues in the Philippines for our group report, I found out that the increase of homeless children in the city is one of it. I hope that they will be able to find a true home that would let them feel they have one so that they won't leave if ever their reasons are similar with her. And for this homeless valuable homeless woman as well, I hope her family would let her feel the same way.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Mukhang inaalala nmn sya ng anak nya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kawawa naman homeless na nga ninakawan pa grabe mga mapagsamantalang tao ngayon ate. Pero sana pumayag na si nanay na mag stay sa home for the aged, mas safe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mukhang hndi na..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow... She's risking a lot on the streets and pushing the cart. It's not a good sight to see older people go through this. It's disheartening to say the least and I'm sure the children must have tried to talk her into the care home but she would have declined. For those robbing this elderly woman....they have no soul!!!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Karma will hit them badly. But they are now in jail

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They will suffer more than jail terms sef

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think I would resort to living on the street when there is a home for me. Besides, living on the street is roo risky and dangerous for an old woman like that. Just see what happened to her....thank God the robber was arrested and Justice done to her but I feel for the woman because she could have just stayed at home than on the street

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well, many poor people here prefer to live in the street that to live in housing that is worst than a slum place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ate kawawa naman tong homeless na to wala na nga matirhan mapagti tripan pang nakawan. Hindi ba uso jan tecung parang mga home for the aged para sa mga ganitong homeless?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yun na nga, ayaw nya tumira dun....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nkakagigil mga taong capable magtrabaho pro d magawa at gawan png pagnkawan ang matandang uugod ugod na e nagsusumikap magkapera.,.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True madam..madami din jan sa pinas..mas nanaisin mamalimos or magnakaw kesa magtrabaho

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's her preference. She's not afraid of dying.. you know when people chase death or invite danger they won't have it.. just look at her, she's still living more than 20 years in the street.. tsaka gusto nya rin ata may ibat ibang nakikita araw araw kesa sa elderly home.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ayaw nya lang ata mabored sa loob lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think she will be lonelier if she decides to live in the elderly homes. I mean, its much better nga than to live there tas maghapong naka upo tapos napaka tahimik, at least with thr busy street she won't feel lonely.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dangerous for her though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The same story with the old woman I had encountered in Discovery Bay. She's also old with her back like that and she is also collecting boxes, every day. Sometimes she asks help to push her cart and so I sometimes help her. I really felt so pity for her so sometimes I also give her money. However I heard from her neighbours that she isn't actually homeless. Her children's has a good life and yet she is living in the street alone because she also don't like to live with her children's because of the toxic environment.

Actually some people who are homeless in HK are not actually poor and homeless, they just choose to live outside by their own because of some reasons that we really can't blame and questions their choices. They are already old and all they want peace and a happy living but sometimes they can't find it inside their home so they prepare to become homeless.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

True..yan dn sabi ni madam..and I've seen a lot of photos sa kalagayan nla dun sa housing, sobra mas malala pa sa skwater jan sa pinas..kaya ang iba, sa labas na lang tumitira

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung parents ng amo kong babae nasa home for the aged na din, pero nasa America. Mas maganda daw kasi yung Home of gold doon kesa jan sa HK sabi ni among babae. Doon daw kasi pwede daw magluto at mag welcome Ng visitors anytime of the day, kasi yung place nila parang nasa loob lang sila ng private subdivision. Sa bawat pasyente may isang buong bahay. Lucky them kasi naging citizen sila doon by the help of their daughter kaya maganda kalagayan nila, unlike sa mama ni sir na nanjan sa HK. Inilagay nila sa home for the aged kasi laging nag aaway mga amo ko, napakatoxic ng bahay kahit nga ako sumurender. Kaya embis na makapagpahinga ung matanda sa loob ng bahay, ayun nagkasakit nalang dahil sa nerbyos kasi kung mag away ang dalawa nagbabasag ng gamit. Kaya hindi din talaga natin masisisi yung ibang matanda jan, kung bakit mas pinipili nila na sa lansangan sila. Mas masarap daw kasi sa tenga yung ingay ng tambutso kesa sa bunganga ng mga anak😅.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣 kaloka yan.. Dto rin kastress kpg nag aaway2 sla..lalo na kung matutulog na hayst

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HK$16,000 and a phone ??? She had lots of money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uwaaa :( I have a soft spot for elders. I do not have grandparents anymore, and it breaks my heart seeing the situation of grandma. There are heartless people talaga that will do bad things to homeless peeps, and it is freaking disgusting. :(

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Masahol pa sa kriminal..mtanda na nga at homeless, nanakawan pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dito din may mga ganyan na matatanda. Mayayaman talaga sila. Professionals mga anak. May sariling bahay. Pero siguro sa katandaan na un lang ang parang alam nila na gawin. Meron dito tumatakas talaga sa bahay nila para lang mamalimos.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hala grabe naman.. Yung malimos tlga ang d ko laya gawin lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jaja... Agkeddel da ngy nu awan iyawat mu, nasakit py ibagada nu maminsan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I admire how brave she is by choosing a life alone on the streets. Everyone wants a freer life but not everyone can be as brave as her. I hope those robbers will be punsih ~Manju

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The old woman was so independently minded. She is happy living on her own, free to do what she wants to do with her life no one interfering or rules to follow, or no one to please but herself alone. She likes not to be bothered or bother anyone, I guess.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ayg grabe ang storya nya ate. Hmm. Siguro nga mas feel na mas malaya at mas tahimik sa kalsada kaysa sa elderly homes. Hmm, parang di ko kaya makita ang nanay ko na ganyan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me too.. Kakaawa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow...what a brave old woman

I dey wouldn't let mother live in the streets. I would force her home and probably lock her in. She's precious to me

$ 0.01
1 year ago