Overwhelming Stuff On My Plate

26 78
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

August 6, 2022

Image from Unsplash by Malicki M Beser

What's upsetting to someone who has a blogging goal is when she gets sick and her mind seems to want to rest as well and doesn't want to work. It's been my daily routine to write an article each day before the day ends. But now that I am not well yet, I couldn't seem to collect my thoughts to form them into one content as they seem to be scattered elsewhere.

Each day, I can think of what topic to write about but it's only up to the heading, with no following content. Each time I would collect my thoughts, they would suddenly fade into the thin air and it would leave me hanging empty and unproductive. This is not me, I am not used to it. I don't procrastinate, I don't end a day without writing one. But, I am sick so I have to accept it.

Drafts are being taken down one by one and I worried to see an empty feed one day. A few have been used on another platform, and a few left for this platform. But despite the sickness, I couldn't keep myself from checking what's up online. How things are doing and people around.

Although sometimes my mind would scold me for not letting my eyes and hands off my phone. I guess this is another sickness to treat, being too productive becomes an addiction. What else can I do? I have no one to manage my online stuff when I'm sick, but me alone?

Albeit, I am trying to lessen my virtual interaction just to satisfy what my body is yearning for, more rest. I would push myself to put away my phone and I would close my eyes until I drifted off to sleep. But sometimes it fails as work is still waving that I need to resume.

Continuous grinding despite the sickness, that's my bitter fate abroad. Prior to being sick, I signed up for an application as a curator on another platform under a team I became close to interacting with. Unexpectedly, I got a comment the night before yesterday from one of the staff of that team saying that I was chosen as a guest curator.

Among all applicants, only 2 will be chosen each month as guest curators, and I never thought I would be chosen as I am not that active on the discord server, but I am a regular user of this front-end. I know it's a one-time opportunity that I shouldn't miss, so I grabbed it. Besides, that was what I yearned for, to experience how to become a curator even just for a month.

I'm not after the rewards but the experience and to see how curators work on that platform. To put the matter in a nutshell, I just added more stuff to my plate, another hustling to spend time with.

Should I do this or not? The options were racing in my mind and whichever reached the line first would be my decision. Thinking about curating, I know it's just reading so my mind says to take the opportunity and as Melinda said, I can do it at any time I want to. Quality over quantity, that's what matters most.

So yesterday, I started my new side hustle as a guest curator on Ecency, one of the front-ends of Hive. I thought it was just as easy as reading an article and checking its authenticity and quality, but there are other things I actually need to consider when curating, that is to check the reputation of the writer if he/she is performing well or not, or just a spaminator. Making the wrong curation will also affect my reputation, especially once I curated a post owned by a spammer or low-quality content.

Dubiously, I started with two posts that I thought were good, followed by the rest, and I have to make 10 to 15 times a day in my available time as Melinda implied. Eventually, I get hold of it while cautiously choosing the content I want to curate. At the end of the first day, I was uncertain of how many I curated as I didn't count them. That was a mistake I made because if I exceeded the given number of content I need to curate, they might think I am abusing the opportunity they delegated to me.


You might ask why I am doing this stuff even though I am sick. Again, it's just reading and voting, nothing more.

But why am I still writing like this one when I need to rest? Every time my mind is at peace and my body is unproductive, a lot of thoughts are entering my head that I need to express before they get congested. Or else, there'll be no positivity left and they might be converted into negative ones.

Others are probably sick of reading my posts, I can tell. But bear with me until I fully recovered. Still, I appreciate those who stop by to give their comments.

Thank you.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

30
$ 7.73
$ 7.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @Lixten
+ 15
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Congrats ate! Hehe. You deserve it. But take a rest if you have a lot of free time din

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know you're such a hardworking person sis pero I hope you give yourself some good rest as well if you do that you will recover easily and do things much easier and sooner. Get well soon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ate please don't overwork yourself too much. Hays pero kahit nga ako ino overwork ko rin yung self ko eh. Ewan ko baaaaa. Anyways, congrats for being a guest curator ateee.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's okay sis, sometimes we just need to relax

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats for your great success. I hope next time I also shall apply for Curation still I am earning trust because last time a tussle happened in a group. More power to you sister you deserved it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Congratulations on becoming a curator Ate Jane. Curating isn't easy and it looks like it's going to be tough to deal with during this period that you're sick. Try to take it easy Ate and don't put much stress on yourself

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

congrats dear... this is an opportunity for a new experience and I love your decision to go for it... you write really well please have some rest in the process as well

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If kaya pa naman ng katawan mo madam then push.. basta sana limit din.

anyways, mukhang di din ganon kadali mag curate aguy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi nga. Dami titingnan..need 3x check king authentic...kc account mo maapektuhan kpg mali ang curation..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aguyyy, need mo pa chech if plagiarize. Guato ko din ng ganyan sana kaso mahirap na super hirap pala haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you get well soon sis. Take good care of yourself... I think Melinda is understanding, if you feel burnt out, maybe she can give you a lil break :)

Congrats to you again on being a guest curator, although it might be time consuming and that's one of the reasons why months back, I declined one offer from another community to moderate.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

10-15 lang naman each day.. Carry lang.. Yung pagsulat ang hindi.. It takes more time. Kya random lng muna and short nasusulat

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When i saw your noise post about being chosen as a Curator i was wondering what you mean, now i know better.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love love the foot note!

I'm planning to post a story in inkwell! I hope you get better soon ate. It's okay to keep things a little bit slower sometimes

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hindi ka na talaga mapakali kapag naka establish na ng routine. Mas lalo lang magkakasakit dahil feel mo namiss mo ang isang araw

$ 0.01
1 year ago

new experience in life yan ate, congrats!.

ako rin minsan, sobrang left hanging kasi waa akog maisulat. naeendup ako sa waang publish kaya napapaother day ako

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have drafts naman..pero paubos narin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am so sorry Janey. I felt you would have been better by now and reading this gets me worried about you. Please get better. It wasn't fun when I was down around 2 weeks ago so I can relate a bit to what you are saying. I pray you get healed on time, in Jesus name. You are in my prayers, no doubt.

Curation isn't as easy as most think. I didn't quite a lot of them in the active years of Steemit with Stach. There are so many things to check as you have rightly said. Congratulations on getting the curation job. It's added responsibility but if anyone can pull it off, it's you. At least it would occupy your mind and maybe an idea can drop in your mind while reading articles to create. I know the main issue is to be in the right frame of mind to write since you are down. I hope you get better soon.

Stay strong, my dear Janeeyyyy.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I actually have a lot in my mind to write . but not the desire to write them down..maybe I just need more rest and just let my drafts save my day. I'm actually hesitant about this offer. But it was me who applied for it. And I am ashamed to reject it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Glad your drafts are helping. Yes, you need rest. Sometimes we push ourselves too much and the body sometimes place a demand on it. Please be fine, Janeeyyyy.

Since you applied for it, just try and do your best to do what you have to do. I know you will do great, Janey... You don't drop the standards, you've never dropped it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah the full effort women as I we knew. Guest for now and soon enough chosen to be a legit curator yieee. I am excited haha. But indeed rest well Ms. Jane...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not hoping. I even feel like, this will impact me negatively. I am not certain about my curation. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm so sorry about your health status. I wish you quick recovery of your health. Don't forget to take care of yourself and stay safe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Galing pwdi na curator.. Anyway pahinga din pag may time, health is wealth.. Ako nga I don't pressure myself anymore. Whatever I can do in my hustles yun lang kasi, nakaka drain din eh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Pahinga na nga. Kaso and isip, continuous at parang mapupuno kpg hndi ilabas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago