My First Time Chinese Therapy Experience

99 136
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Health, Life, Blog, Experiences, Writing, ...

November 17, 2020

It has been a week since I experienced terrible pain in my left arm. If you will check my profile, you will notice that I had only posted three articles last week. Usually, it's one article per day. And this is the reason why I can't make articles consistently. I am using my right hand only when tapping my phone, so it takes a longer time to finish one article.

I have no idea why it suddenly happens. The pain starts with numbness in my left hand to a severe burning sensation that give a significant impact on my work and difficulty in sleeping. I thought it will only last for hours. I had managed to sleep that night after massaging my left shoulder and arm. But the next day, the pain was still there although the burning sensation was already gone.

I was like a person with hemiplegia that only the right part of my body was working. Every time I bend my arm for tapping my phone or doing anything, there was a tingling feeling like pins and needles pricking my arm. I am not a person who likes taking medicines like pain reliever, so I just massaged my left arm every night before going to sleep using virgin coconut oil.

Days had passed, but the pain was still there. I feel worried about it since I know about some overseas workers who become paralyzed due to overfatigue. Since I cannot go out to see a doctor, I searched the symptoms on the internet and I have found this. I'm not sure if this is my real condition, but the symptoms are the same.

Erythromelalgia can start at any age. It is a rare condition that causes episodes of burning pain and redness in the feet, and sometimes the hands, arms, legs, ears, and face. People with erythromelalgia typically have episodes of pain lasting from a few minutes to several days.

That was exactly what I felt during that day. There was redness on my left hand and a tingling and burning sensation that lasted for a couple of hours

I have posted my condition on a Filipino Facebook group here, then many give their advice. One Filipina said that she's experiencing the same thing, and she wants to have acupuncture. I asked her about the price and location of the clinic.

So last Sunday, I decided to go to that acupuncture clinic. I was hesitant at first because I was afraid of the needles, it might be so painful. But the Filipina who recommended me the clinic said it's not hurting at all.

My turn comes, the practitioner told me to remove my clothes and lay down on a small bed. I was nervous when I saw the needles on the side table since it was my first time and I wasn't comfortable lying in a prone position.

The first thing they did was they placed two electromagnetic therapeutic apparatus over my back. It releases heat that was said to relax my muscles and it lasted for 30 minutes.

Electromagnetic therapeutic apparatus improves blood circulation, which relieves muscular pain, sore muscles, arthritis, bursitis, backache, tennis, elbow, and joint pains. It is also suitable for the assistant treatment of soft tissue loss, lumbar muscle strain, sciatica, periarthritis of shoulder, rheumatoid arthritis, children diarrhea, and other diseases adjuvant therapy.

After 30 minutes, they placed another apparatus which was bigger than the other two. It was set for 30 minutes as well. The feeling was actually good although it was hot, it seems like the tension in my muscles was relieved.

After that session, her comes the acupuncture. I took a deep breath and tried to relax. But it was actually useless, I can't breathe well wearing that annoying mask on my face. But still, I tried to calm my muscles and nerves while the practitioner was inserting the very tiny needles through my skin one by one at different strategic points of my back, shoulders, and arms. There was a tingling sensation but the pain was bearable.

I wasn't able to take photos of the following sessions because I was hesitant to move.

Photo credit: myomediclinic.com

Acupuncture is a key element of traditional Chinese medicine and is most typically used to treat pain. Nowadays, it is being used for overall wellness, including stress management. Traditional Chinese medicine says that acupuncture is a method to balance the flow of energy or life force — known as chi or qi (chee) — and is believed to flow through pathways or meridians in our body. Acupuncture practitioners believe that our energy flow will re-balance by inserting tiny needles into specific points of our body.

I tried to move my right arm to fix my pillow and mask but it was a bit painful. I can feel the needles every time it touches my scapula. So I decided to stay still like a paralyzed patient lying on a hospital bed. Three hours, it was too long. I tried to sleep but I can't. The face mask was really annoying and lying in a prone position made it worst. I don't want the time to run fast because I don't want to go back home yet, but at that moment, I want the session to end so I can breathe well and flex my muscles.

Finally, after three hours, the practitioner started to pull the tiny needles. It only took a few seconds as she did it too quickly and it was painless. I was relieved after she completely removed all the needles. But I can't get up yet. Another therapy was performed. The next method was called "Ventosa." But before that, the lady did a quick massage on my back with a towel soaked in alcohol.

Photo credit: healthybutsmart.com

Ventosa also called Cupping Therapy originated in China, which involves placing hot cups on the skin to create suction. The suction may promote healing with blood flow.

The practitioner didn't use hot cups, instead, it was the same as the one in the photo ☝. They were placed on my skin and used a suction. It draws my skin and muscle upward into the cup. The therapy only took a few minutes. And after that quick cupping, my skin turned red as the blood vessels respond to the change in pressure.

The last part was a hard massage. The practitioner used a towel in massaging. I wasn't sure if that was the real method or because of the pandemic situation. Maybe she doesn't want to have contact with the customers that's why she used a towel. The massage was really painful, especially when touching the painful part of my back, shoulder, and arm. There were times that I want to scream but I was ashamed to do so. And so I just cursed the pain in my mind. They said that cursing can help decrease the sensation of pain. 😅

It was a long yet worthy Chinese therapy. I paid 200 HKD ($25.79 USD) for the whole sessions. I felt more comfortable after the therapy. Although there is still a pain in my left arm even until now, the Filipina said it will be gone after a few days. I really hope so, because this is annoying and I cannot work well. I can't even tap my phone well by just using my right hand.

If this pain won't stop after this week, I guess I need to see a doctor. Work is important, but health matters as well!

Written by: @Jane

32
$ 4.41
$ 4.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @esciisc
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
+ 6
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Health, Life, Blog, Experiences, Writing, ...

Comments

Nawala rin ung parang red na big spot?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo mga more than a week 😅 matagal tlga mawala mga pasa ko at madali dn magkapasa 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the detail in your articles, I also covered Acupuncture based on research only

Here https://www.publish0x.com/block-out-the-noise/the-traders-wellness-acupuncture-sessions-xolvqdj?a=jnegJAxZdw

It's so much better to read about it from your point of experience and actually know that the research did come pretty close. Except for the pain part, they don't want to put that in the sources 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It might be painless for some, but it was my first time and every time i move, i can feel the needles and there was a bit pain

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's been 4 days, I'm hoping you are better healed now?

Sending positive energy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Still have a little pain especially when i am using my left arm too much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I definitely need therapy 😩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a lot of treatments and now I'm sure i don't want to get a Chinese style treatment ;;-;; looks so painful and my body doesn't like pain ;;-,;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

3 in 1 package 😅 the massage was painful..until now, i still have bruises on my left arm... I easily get bruises and take long to heal it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, no thank uou for that kind of massage 😂😂😂 I'll definitely end ip dying, both from fear of needles and from bruising if it's that hard a massage ;;-;; i can't handle any form of massages, i just get sick the day after

$ 0.00
3 years ago

After that therapy i felt better, but the next day,my arm was hurting 🤣🤣 as if I wasted my $200.. The pain is still there until now.. 😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You really should have gone and went to see a doctor instead if the pain didn't even disappear ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah am planning that.. But this time, i will let my employer to cover the feed.. This should be part of my heslth insurance..seeing a doctor is so expensive here, you need at least $500.. That is equivalent to 3,000+ in our money

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh a doctor's appointment there costs basically the same here now 😂😂😂 the fees are so much higher now when you go for a hospital visit because the patient has to pay for the ppe that medical staff will use

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously? Pati ppe may bayad? Kaloka..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah seriously ;;-;; included sya sa miscellaneous fees and stuff

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabe.. Cguro pagbalik ko jan dami na dn changes..kht nung uwi ko last year..yung mga binibili ko dati nagtaas na ng presyo.. Mas namumurahan pa ko sa ibang price dto kesa sa pinas 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tbh ang daming mas mura sa hongkong than pinas tbh ;;-;; you live so close to the manufacturers na eh. Ahh mura ma lang ata dito veggies then the rest, idk now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo yung mga branded clothes, shoes and phones . mas mura cguro dto..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think yung mahal sa china is the unique brands? But i guess phones are cheaper, there's apple factory there already 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow this is so impressive rising about medical situation great as it will keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow this is so impressive I really like anything that has to do with medical then I met yours now I understand much about acupuncture thanks a lot join your best keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for dropping by 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kamusta na madam ang kamay? Magaling na ga? Ay ingata ang kamay at baka hindi kana maka ano pa nyan, pasmado ka pag ganyan ata. Nagbabasa kaba ng kamay pag halimbawa pagod kamay mo kaka ano, tapos bigla kang huhugas ng kamay? Pagsa kay mader yan, may pang hilot sya jan yung, pinagsama samang alcohol, oil tapos ung mahalang nalimot ko na iba pang ingredients ee haha. Un lang ginagamit nya ay gumagaling naman sya. Ingat ingat din kasi, wag masyado pagudin ang kamay kakaano tapos babasain. Pag maghuhugas ka alcohol nalang or warm water?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Every night ako naliligo..sabi nga ni mama wag maligo kc pagod ang katawan kaso need eh nasa chinese family ako.. Feel ko dahil yun nagplantsa ako nung day na yun..tapus nagluto. then basa kamay hugas plato 😢

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yan na yan nga malamang. Kamusta naman na today? Pwd nang sumabak ulit sa kamayan? 🤭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kamayan tlga 🤣🤣 medyo okay nmn na 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahahaha, syempre maganda nga kamayin 😂. So effective nga, 😎

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like it but as it seems like it will be painful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everything seems to be shining to see a transparent thing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh my! Those needles looks really painful but if it does gives a lot of relief, why not. But, I suggest you visit a PT clinic, maybe it's just Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. It is very common with overuse or repetitive use of the hand..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang mahal ng PT dto 😭😭 til now may sakit padn..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will read this later, I'm kind of busy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good job bro...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They have a good touch

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awww, I'm sorry about that. My mother is also having arthritic pains too, and she tried these homeopathic remedies (Acupuncture) and it got worse, terribly worse. I feel really bad for her, but I guess home remedies can't solve everything. She has to go to a Physiotherapist now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really like your Chinese Therapy Experience article.healty life is very important for us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Healthy is actually more important than money.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope the pain goes away so you wouldn't have yourself get checked by a doctor. I remember a movie entitled Final Destination, there was a scene where a girl went to an acupuncture clinic and everything got worse until she died. That was scary though. I apologize to bother you this. It was just a silly movie 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My mother was even worried when i told her about it.. She thought that it might cause complications. You know how our mother thinks. That was also the reason why I didn't force myself to move to fix my pillow... I can feel the pain and the needles might be dislodged or hit some veins or nerves in my body.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah right, or worse needles will enter through your bloodstream. 🙈😆 I was just overthinking. Heje

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is nothing like care, health is wealth, we must take care of ourselves, thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for advice too 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to try also the acupuncture hehe. I already tried the ventosa twice but in a traditional way hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I thought it was the traditional way, that is what I want to try.. But when I get there. I saw the staff using the modern way... But I guess the traditional one is painful right? Just imagining the heated cups place on your skin. I feel like the skin will be burn 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yung ventosa na baso at apoy talaga. Yun yung natry ko hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yun ang gusto ko itry. Hndi b napapaso ang balat?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi naman hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I have a lot of pain in my back and waist, if I sit and work for a short time, my back and back hurt, will such therapy work?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe.. Just give it a try ... I like that clinic coz they only not perform acupuncture but as well as ventosa and massage. All in one package n quite cheaper compare to others

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Chinese therapy is interesting. I saw that kind of therapy in lots of movie. Therapy with niddle, pin haha. More painful then pain in body part😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So far the acupuncture isn't that painful. But the massage was really painful lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Whatever, I don’t have any experience 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you're doing great now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, health is wealth po n it's or good po to take a bath first bgo po mgpmassage n hope the pain u feel po will be gone soon, acupuncture po is good, don't like the needles too as i had a memorable n painful experience with it po when i was a child, if i need to do some blood test, told my mom to cover me n the one doing it to be careful at dahan-dahan lng but they didn't do that po, lol, my pgkasadista po cguro cla, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mas masakit pa injection kesa jan..very tiny kc ang needles kya hndi mo mafefeel ang pain..mdyo may sakit kpg tumama sa buto or sa ugat.. Pro mganda dw acupuncture sa katawan kya triny ko..mdyo my sakit pa left arm ko. Sna mawala na to 😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, yang acupuncture po ay traditional n proven na po ng mga chinese n mwawala din po yan n opo, ung injection po tlga eh masakit, lol, lalo na po kng paulit-ulit po ung pg injection po sau tulad po ng nranasan q po dati nung bta pa po aq dhil nkgat po aq ng tuta nmin sa mukha n naiwan pa po ung isang pangil nya sa pisngi q po, naalala q po na ginapos n itinali po nla aq sa hospital bed nun pra mainjectionan po sa tiyan ng 12times po, lol, humihinto lng po cla kpag namula ung balat po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nacurious dn ako ano feeling ng magpa acupuncture kya triny ko 😁😁

Hala grabe nmn 12 injections, 1 pa nga lng msakit na.. Si kuya nmin nkagat db ng aso na my rabies nung bata pa kmi. Kya nagka trauma ako nun sa aso na malalaki . kc hinabol kmi nun ng aso..si kuya yung nakagat .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, 12 po dati n sa tyan po aq ininjection nun, sa san lazaro po un, dati kya un, kda iinjectionan po aq, ksma q po nanay q dhil nininerbyos po tlga aq pero pgtpos po nun, gusto q po mkita ung dugo q po dhil ang ganda po tngnan ng kulay po, lol, mkintab na parang red orange po, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What? Takot kya ako sa dugo 🤣 kung madami na..pro kpg kunti lng okay lng..buti nkayanan mo yung 12 injections

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, lol, mganda po kc ung kulay n opo, 3 years plng po aq nun, kpg namula po ung balat, hininto po mna ung pg injection n kpag okay o bmlik na po kulay ng balat q, ituloy po nla ulit ung injection n nktali po aq nun n gpos-gpos pa po, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Naiimagine ko lng.. Ilang taon ka nun? 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

3 years old po aq nun n mdyo mlikot, curious n pasaway po, lol, kya un, nkgat ng tuta sa my pisngi po, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ganun tlga tyo kog sa toddler stage. Taas ng curiousity level natn..kya kht ano hinahawakan, iniexplore.. Kya ayun..dami disgrasya 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a fear of the needle, no matter how big or small, so I don't think I would apply this type of therapy on myself. I hope you feel better. I am new here, I hope you will support me when I publish my first article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for reading. And welcome here . if your article is goodn then i will supprt it 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Masakit po ba yung acupunture? Kay daming needles. Sana okay ka na po.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hndi nmn. Msakit kpg tatama sa buto 😅 or sa ugat..carry lng nmn sya..mas masakit nga yung massage eh. Til no my bruises pa ako. Madali kc ako magkapasa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Omg does the accupuncture hurts, I heard it's traditional Chinese remedy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope its not... Only if the needle touches the nerves or bones.. But the pain is bearable..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Means it can be handle even by the child?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That really looks painful tho, but I hope you'll get better soon. Maybe you are working too much, or you'sre washing your hand after you just work, It's bad coz your hand will become shaky.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're a filipino right? Coz only filipinos think like that.. Ye my mother thought about it too..coz here, i always take a bath at night even if i'm tired. That is the practice of the Chinese people here..and because of this virus, we really need to.. And i guess this is also due to wrong posture while sleeping.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You shouldn't really do that we should always listen to our oldies, thymey know whats best for us. If you really can't take of not taking about every night then just use a towel, and clean your body with it, and use warm water.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

After that therapy.. I didn't take a bath coz my mother told me not to. So i just did sponge bath.. I am working with chinese people, i think you know that they believe in fung sui... And they really take a bath at night not in the morning... We have a heater namn. Maybe i got this injury sa work or wrong sleeping posture

$ 0.00
3 years ago

অনেক ভালো লেখা, পড়ে অনেক ভালো লাগলো ধন্যবাদ আপনাকে,,,,♥️❤️❤️💖💗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I literally laughed at this part: 'There were times that I want to scream but I was ashamed to do so. And so I just cursed the pain in my mind.' because if it was me, I would surely scream just like the time I had a medical check up, when the doctor checked on my ears, it was tingling that I was laughing so hard while he's checking on me 🤣

Anyways, you should take better care of yourself, working hard is good but when you get sick, the money you earn for working hard may not even be enough to cover for the medical expenses. So take good care of yourself all the time.

Get well soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was really painful especially when she's using her elbow to massage my back.. Lol.

Thanks for the advice... I know health is important, that's why sometimes I don't really have that feeling to be active here..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sure it is. That's why I really don't like going for a massage (or hilot) when I'm sick 😳

Yeah, that's good then. Readcash will just be here and can wait for you (sana nga may poreber dito hahaha) so don't exhaust yourself too much, sige ka, sasabihan ka niyan ni Ruffa na wala ka pa namang jowa na mag aalaga sayo 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha😂 Baliw talaga yang is Ruffa tawang tawa ako sa dami ng nalalaman 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

para siyang clown ng readcash eh hahhaha ooops 🤭✌🏻

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sa bahay si lola nmin naghihilot..mas okay nmn yun kc hndi hard..

😂🤣🤣 natatawa tlga ako jan ky ruffaa eh. Nbsa mo latest article nta yung tagalog? 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Si lola ko din naman naghihilot yun kaso madali kasi talaga akong makiliti at masaktan kaya kahit gaano pa ka mild ang hilot nasasaktan pa din 😅

Hindi pa. 9 pm kasi nakatulog na ko kagabi at di na nakapag chrck ng notifs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kpg daw nakikiliti ka sa hilot. Hndi daw yun effective sabi ng instructor nmn dati..

Basahin mo sasaya umaga mo 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang gaan kasi ng kamay ng lola ko kaya nakakakiliti sa simula😅

Oo nabasa ko na ngayon palang tawang tawa nga ako 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Need ko ata Vit C 🤣🤣 bka mawala sakit2 sa katawan ko. Mag apoy pa. Bka marelax muscles ko. 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Omg! It looks so painful!!! And those needles, 😱😱😱 I had ventosa and I didn't like it especially the marks. How are you feeling now? Any better? Look after yourself more, ang mahal ng session pero mas mahal kung di ka gagaling kaya take care of yourself. Get well soon. Very soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Until now my marks padn. Madali pa naman ako magkapasa... At matagal mawala.
My pain padn sa left arm ko.. Nagagamit ko sya pro sumasakit kpg matagal na.. Bka nga magpacheckup na ako thid week.. Thanks sa concern

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Iderecho mo ng check up para maresetahan ka at baka may ibang alam si Doctor. Pero kung asa pinas ako sa mnghihilot o derecho ako sa albularyo. Ang galing nila sa ganyan!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hirap lng mkahanap ng doctor dto d ko kabisado mga hospital at for sure sobrang mahal ng fee plus medicines na sa knla mismo bibilhin.. May mga whole body massage dto..much better pa dun

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dun lang talaga. Naalala ko sumakit ngipin ko. Alam mo bang kulang kulang 10k ang pabunot ng ngipin dito. Kaya ngayon kapag sumasakit ngipin ko hindi na ako nagsasalita kasi grabe sayang ang mahal mahal. Mas naiyak ako sa binayad kesa sa sakit ng ngipin. Kung madaan sa massage dyan okay lang pero pag tumagal na kailangan mo ng ipatingin sa doctor.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🤣🤣 nTawa ako sa as naiyak sa bayad kesa sa sakit 🤣🤣

Kya yun dn iniisip ko. Ang ipambabayad. Nung nagkaubo nga ako $500 binayad.. Plus meds pa.. Buti shoulder ni boss. Pro ito sakin tlga.. Mahal na nga ang $200 eh ... Mura lng kung check na ganun uvo, sipon .pro sa mga specialist about dto sa condition ko. Mas mahal.. Hirap pa hagilapin..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was amazing to see you get rid of the pain through Chinese therapy. My cousin takes cupping therapy and it was very useful. I have read about it before. but I think acupuncture therapy. It seems to be a very difficult task and you have to pay tribute to the courage with which you relieved your pain. Thanks for sharing Dear,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I reall took some courage to do that... Because it was my first time and seeing the needles makes me want to back out ..but for the sake of my health, I was able to endure the pain..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Often we are ready for any difficult treatment to reduce the severity of the pain. But it is a testament to your courage. Get well soon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Did several doctors diagnose this illness with you? There are many diseases who have exactly the same symptoms. I noticed each country seem to have certain illnesses being popular.

I hope the therapy helps you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never been to any doctor, it's expensive to see a docto here in Hong Kong 😥 that's why i tried acupuncture as may said it is effective .. I don't want to self diagnose as well as you've said, there are many illnesses with those symptoms.. So far, my left hand is a bit better now compare last week. But still have pain

$ 0.00
3 years ago