Foods I Crave For The Cold Season

45 86
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

October 26, 2022

October is about to end and we are fastly approaching November when we feel a real cold season. Although it sometimes fluctuates due to climate change, the cold breeze is still in the air. The nights are becoming longer than the days. Morning skies are more greyish than brighter. But I enjoy the chilly air and wind whispers, especially in the early morning. Furthermore, the weather is ideal for going for a walk outside without getting tanned. There is no need for an umbrella as well. It is more convenient for me.

As the outside temperature drops each day, so do our body temperatures. Alongside is the craving for food that can alleviate the cold and keep my body warm. This is the season when I most likely look for champorado, a Filipino chocolate porridge cooked in coconut milk and cocoa. This is when I crave more warm food, especially soups.

However, Hong Kong soups are not the same as Filipino soups. However, there are some foods that I prefer to eat during cold season. In fact, I'm craving them right now. One of these days, I'll go to a restaurant and eat something I've really missed.

Below are the foods I tried here in Hong Kong that I like eating during the cold season.

  • Hotpot

What I missed the most was hotpot, also known as shabu-shabu. This is certainly the best way to eat warm food in the winter because the ingredients are cooked right on the table in a pot of boiling soup that keeps the food warm.

The restaurant I like visiting for hot pot offers unlimited hotpot food where I could have a feast in a certain period. All varieties of hot pot food are there, from meat, dumplings, sausages, vegetables, noodles, and even desserts, and appetizers.


  • Porridge

During the cold season, I prefer porridge for breakfast, but it takes time to prepare. But if I really wanted it, I wouldn't mind the preparation time.

Here in Hong Kong, they call porridge, congee. There are a plethora of congee flavors here in Hong Kong cooked traditionally, and topped with different toppings. They are usually paired with Chinese traditional food like rice rolls, dough sticks, turnip cake, and other fried Chinese recipes.


  • Soup

Who doesn't like soup in cold weather anyway? I so missed Filipino chicken tinola. So I would sometimes cook to satisfy my cravings. There's a version I made with some ingredients usually found in Chinese recipes, and I somehow liked the taste. It's a chicken soup with goji berries, star anise, cinnamon, dried chili, and peppercorn. The aroma is just so perfect.

As a veggie lover, I also prefer the no-meat soup. There's this spinach with tofu balls soup I cooked for the Power Plant (Vegan) cooking challenge. All ingredients are natural and consist of spinach, pumpkin, mushroom, coriander, and fried tofu balls.

You guys should try this. You can find the recipe here.

One more soup I want to eat again is this duck soup with rice on the bottom. I wasn't if this is a Chinese or Thai recipe. But, because it's a limited dish in this particular restaurant, I'm not sure if I can still eat this type of soup.


  • Udon noodles

There are many different types of noodle recipes, but my favorite is udon. Udon, which originated in Japan, is a thick noodle that can be cooked with broth or simply fried. I enjoy the simple cooking style of Genki Sushi Restaurant. The broth is mild and similar to miso soup. It can also be topped with sesame seeds, red chili flakes, and other condiments from the Genki table.

This rice vermicelli recipe paired with chicken thigh barbecue is also one of my favorites. It also comes with my favorite green tea.


  • Red bean drink and dessert

I like red beans because I used to eat them when I was younger. This is known as monggo in our dialect or mung beans in English. Some people dislike the taste and smell of mung beans, but I enjoy them. Furthermore, it is high in protein and other nutrients, making it an excellent meat substitute.

There is a restaurant that serves red bean drinks and desserts. I have the option of adding milk or not. I'll just have to deal with the consequences later, lol. Actually, the recipe is quite simple. Based on the taste, I assume the red beans are only boiled with ginger and brown bar sugar. Some people also add sago, which goes well with the red beans. The rice vermicelli noodles pictured above are topped with roasted duck.


So these are some of the hot food I like eating every cold season. But pardon me if you feel hungry while looking at them 🤣.


**(Check out the new noise.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency      PeakD Torum •Twitter

25
$ 1.23
$ 0.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.06 from @Erickchristianmontajes
+ 16
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Those foods that you have decided to eat are really delicious, in these moments what I have wanted to eat for many days are sweets, hot chocolate, chocolate cake, or well, I have also wanted to eat pizza or drink beer hahaha it is coming the days where we in our country make many parrandas, so an important element in the holidays are food, sharing with family, music and spend great moments, you made me remember that hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

'Dun talaga ako sa shabu-shabu & udob noodles, Ate ey. Kapag talaga na-approved 'yung thesis proposal ko this November, will treat myself with it. I deserve such kind of foods kasi ngarag na ngarag na akoooo! 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku bagay na bagay talaga yan sis ngayong taglamig, kahit ano basta may sabaw ehheheh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its soup and lugaw supremacy for meee 💛😌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh these food made my stomach growl, lol! I love them all to be honest. And craving for most too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well this delicacies looks so enticing.... sadly we can't have that here in the common except we have to go to restaurant that are basically for the Hong Kong or the Chinese. Here in Nigeria we eat a lot of things quite different from yours...hmmm... maybe I should write about that

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nagcrave ako bigla sa hotpot, nakakamiss at yung udon masarap din yan. Tsaka yung redbean madalas ko ding e prepare yan dun sa bahay ng mga amo ko.. nakakamiss ang Hong Kong at ang winter 😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sa moumouclub unli hotpot..balikan ko yun hhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Shabu-Shabu... That is one food I would love to try too. There is one we call Pepper Soup in Nigeria and we usually take it with fish or meats. I can't wait to find the ingredients in an African store near me here and I might be taking that almost every morning to get me fired up for the day during the winter season.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Goos thing there's African store there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. I can't wait...with goat meat and cat fish 😍😍😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You eat duck 🤭. We had it here too from the yard. Nakakatakam yong mga soup, malamig dito sa atin ngayon. Nabusog na mata namin haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo naman. Meron kmi mga alaga dati sa farm

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I actually love the colder weather foods. Nothing better than assortment of different soups. You caught by attention with champorado. I actually googled it, looks pretty simple to make very few ingredients. I ask you though what's best to pair it with?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Fried fish haha..and rice cake 😁.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Baked or grilled fish?? Haha fried fish with it seems double wammy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baked maybe haha.. But we usually fry died frish .. Im referring to the salty dried fish haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All the foods are mouth watering, but noddles are my favourite in winters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eto na nmn may nakikita na nmn akong nkakagutom na article haha! Buti nlng may sopas kami dito haha!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yan mas namiss ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Masarap tingnan lahat. The best ang champorado pero noodles na hot and spicy ang mas bet ko ngayon

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi na ako masyado nkain noodles now..minsan na lng

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After reading your article especially after see the picture now I want to eat udon noodles and drink soup too :'(

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You can cook it haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't distinguish between summer and winter except for soups, but now I am living almost 4 seasons in the same day. It gets cold in the morning and at night. It is very hot in the afternoon and the rest of the time it is like spring. This offers an invitation to diseases such as flu.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha..four seasons in one day 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Saraaaap. Napalunok na naman ako ng kunti. Pero yung congee na picture parang oatmeal with banananaaa or ganyan talaga sila magluto ng congee?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Congee is porridge..pwde oats,.pwd rice gamitin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you can share from above food, then porridge and noodles are my best selection. My mouth started watering after watching these all sorts of dishes.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha..sorry..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was sad knowing all the meal you tackle in your article. I never tried any meal included in your article even once hahaha Except the chicken one hahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha.because those are HK food haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People in Hong Kong are really enjoying. All these delicacies look takeaway

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madam diko talaga maimagine sng banana sa Porridge. Like anong lasa noon 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Try mo..haha... Luto ka left over kanin, gawin mong lugaw, tapus pagyan mo crushed banana yung lakatan.. Masarap 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ehhhh, parang diko makakakain yaan..lalo di ako mahilig sa porridge lalo kapag sweet ang lahok 🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang ginataan lang naman na may saging

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uwu kunting hangin lang taglamig na kami eh, how much more diyan.. shemss... Sarap ng sabaw uwuu, someday soon matitikman ko din and mafefeel ko din ang lamig ng HK hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo naman..kaw pa.. Ipon ka lang 50k..kapunta kna dto haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What I liked the most was the fried chicken. One of these days I will do something similar to the typical food of my country. The difference is immense.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess it's grilled haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Familiar ko ang Udon noodles miss Jane. Grabe naman yung mga photos. Nakakagutom. Sarap kumain niyan lahat. 😁🤤

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe..kht ako nagcicrave 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobrang nakakagutom miss Jane. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago