Be Mindful: Read, Delete Emails... Save the Earth

16 34
Avatar for Jabs
Written by
3 years ago

I really love watching korean variety shows. They are my little source of happiness and entertainment especially today's lockdown due to the pandemic. I find companion and comfort watching variety shows and kdramas.

In watching, we can learn lots of things without going outside. There are lots of videos where we can learn and discover new things that we never know before. It also a great help to maximize our knowledge on things around us.

Since I love watching korean variety show, I learned many things, like tears having different taste based on our emotions, proper way to cut onions without crying, we can make this pandemic into opportunities, and also Shakespeare's invention. (I made an articles about everything I've mention, just click it, if you want to read.)

And today, another learnings added just by watching variety shows in which I will going to share.

Did you know that emails can also affect our environment?

If you already know, then that's great! If not, yes, you read it right. Emails can also affect our environment, especially the unread emails.

Technology is a great help to us. It helps us lessen our work, it helps us gain more knowledge, helps us in communication and in many ways. In other words, technology makes our life easy.

Communication nowadays is very easy because of the new forms of technology. Before, communication was difficult especially communication in different places or country.

I remember my teacher in elementary. She said that before, when cellphones or computer was not very common and popular, the only communication you have is the traditional way of communicating which is writing letters. If you are sending letters to you relatives from a far, you have to pay each words you write. If you write a long letter, it will cost you more money, so they only send short letter. As much as possible only the words they want to say.

For example, one of your relative die and you want to inform your other relatives about it. You can send letters, but if you don't want to pay more you can write "Aunt die." You can write it in a phrase which your relatives can easy get the message you want to deliver. You can make a sentence, but again it can cost you more.

Technology makes us life convenient espcecially when it comes to communication.

Communication is no longer impossible. By the use of different gadgets like, cellphones, computers, laptops or tablets we can easily communicate with our loved ones who are far from us or in different country. We can type longer messages and can send anytime and anywhere.

We can't imagine ourselves now without technology.

Emails is also one way of communication. Electronic mails or emails is a method of exchanging messages between two people using electronic devices. You can send emails or virtual messages anytime and anywhere.

As emails makes our communication easy, did we ever consider the impact of this in our environment?

Yes, it makes our communication easy and can also save resources because no paper and stamped are needed. Nothing to be packed and be transported. It only requires our little time and effort to send emails.

Every single email in our inboxes and in the world are restored in a server. This server consumes a massive amount of energy. The more messages we send, receive and store, the more servers are needed, which means more energy consumed and more carbon emissions.

Every spam emailed, even if we din't open it, it releases an estimated 0.3 grams of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. An email with lot of texts and an attachment can be responsible for about 50 grams of carbon dioxide.

So image, of billions of people who are sending, receiving and storing emails, how many carbon dioxide does this billions of people can create? A massive of carbon dioxide.

If you are now worried about it's effects on our environment, it is not too late to engage youself for a few minutes and do a worthwhile steps to lessen the carbon dioxide that emails can create.

Here are some eco - friendly habits you can start to lessen the emission of carbon dioxide.

  • Search and Destroy. Scan your emails once a month. You can delete some unneccesary emails and be attentive and particular with emails with bulky attachments.

  • Take out the trash. Empty your trash bins regularly. Since you already deleted it might as well clear it to you phones or computers.

  • Turn of Social Media Notifications. If you received notifications or emails from any social medias like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and etc, deactivate them unless you really need them or it is important. Most of the time it only a duplication of the notification we received.

These are some of eco - friendly habits we can practice. Although these habits can't stop the climate change, but with a careful and mindful changes, unnecessary carbon dioxide emission can be easily avoided.

After knowing the effects of emails in our environment, I always checked my emails and delete unnecessary emails. I do it everyday.

Thanks for reading!

Click LIKE, COMMENT & SUBSCRIBE

13
$ 4.17
$ 4.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @AntiSJWLeft
$ 0.01 from @esciisc
Sponsors of Jabs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jabs
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Wow, I had never heard of this before, but I guess it makes sense. This is a very interesting article and I hope more people will learn about this. I am surprised nobody ever taught me about how much pollution emails can lead to. Yet another reason to hate all of those spam emails! Tipped and liked.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. I really appreciate your comment and tips.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm guilty with this. I don't usually delete my emails. After reading your article, I am planning to delete my old emails

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's what I also did before. But after knowing I check my email everyday and delete the unimportant mails.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A lot of thanks for the info.!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank yoo too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've got so many unread emails I have to clean it first.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did not know this.. Gotta scan my emails and delete those unnecessary ones

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Start cleaning up. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have read an article on it a few days ago. There was mentioned 0.4 grams of carbon emits. And you presented every details very beautifully. Your research and writing skill is so good. Keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? I didn't know that someone already made an article about this. Anyway, thanks for the compliment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is actually a new info to me. Saan mo 'to napanood? Ang dami pa naman ng unread emails ko. Siguro sa ymail nasa 2000+ na ang unread emails ko. Sa gmail nan 500+ 😅 I should start to clean up my emails then.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Master in the House, korean variety show. Hahaha magsimula ka ng maglinis ng mga emails mo. Nakakaambag ka sa CO2.😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Isearch ko nga yan haha. I really need to. Grabe na talaga ang ambag ko 😪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As of now, meron na syang 143 episodes. 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago