Why Do You Need To Be Creative With Your Title

17 105
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Have you experienced this? You wrote the best article that you have ever written. You used every available tool to make it error-free and in perfect grammar. You made it as exciting as you could. You thought, this is your masterpiece and would gather at least five hundred views in a day or two!

To your dismay, out of your two thousand subscribers, only thirty viewed your article! So you wondered why.


Hello, dear readers. One possible problem in the given scenario above is, it could be that the title of the article failed to attract the readers. In this post, I will share with you some reasons why creating an attractive title is important. An engaging title is key to attracting people to read your articles.

Created using PixTeller

Think about this. How do you choose the article that you will first read in a blogging or writing platform like this one? Do you click on the first article on the list? Is it the one that your friend wrote? Or is it because the title of the article caught your interest?

Let's do a little experiment.

Assuming a writer wrote an article about his favorite image editors. He thought of three possible titles for his article, and these are:

  1. My Five favorite free image editors

  2. On free image editors

  3. Five killer image editors you can use for free

Which of the titles above will you most likely click first?

If I would make a guess, you will choose '3'. Am I right?

Why An Attractive Title Is Important

You may have noticed it in yourself, the reason that you would open and read an article is because of the title of the blog or article. But let me elaborate further on 5 important reasons why you should take some time in creating a creative title.

1. Your title gives the first impression to your readers.

The first impression lasts. Even if a reader will not read your article the first time he/she sees it. If you have a good title, chances are the reader will easily remember it and might look for it the next time. So, an engaging, and easy to remember title could give a good impression to your readers.

2. A good title could grab the reader's attention and Interest

Image Source Unsplash

Your title should be able to grab the reader's attention and interest. This is one way to attract new readers and perhaps even convert them to new subscribers.

3. Having a descriptive title tells your readers what to expect from your post.

By giving your article a descriptive title, your readers will have an idea of the content of your post right away. This would help also in grabbing their attention.

4. It takes only a few seconds for a reader to decide whether to read your content or not.

Have you ever scanned the titles on this platform or similar platforms? How long did it take you to decide which post to open? It's most likely that the article that you will open first has the characteristics described above.

5. A well-composed title could improve your article's SEO score.

Bloggers always aim to improve their Search Engine Optimization (SEO) score. Meaning if someone searches for a certain keyword or phrase, they want their post related to that search to appear on the first page of the search engine results. Thus would attract new readers.

An Overview of an Engaging Title.

This is a brief overview of what makes a good title. I will discuss this in detail in the future.

1. Your title must be descriptive. Your readers should get an idea about your post from the title.

2. It must convey some emotions. Be it positive or negative, if you could trigger your readers' emotions by your title, they will most likely read your post.

3. A good title could trigger a reader's curiosity.

4. It should have a good length. Too few words could be a vague title. But not too long as well. A good length is about 6-9 words.

5. A title formatted in question, How-to, or lists are some of the most attractive titles

Disclaimer.

I'm not sure how improving your title could affect your earnings from this platform. One thing is for sure, a good title could attract people to open your posts. But that's just a part of the equation. There are other factors that would either make a person read everything you wrote or click the NEXT button after reading the first two paragraphs. But that's another story.

In Closing

Having an engaging or captivating title for your article is the first step to attracting readers to your post. But who knows, it might also attract Rusty to your post. In one of my future posts in the near future, I will share with you how to gauge your title and how to create an engaging title.

Thanks for reading.


References


Check out my other content at:


All content is mine unless otherwise indicated

11
$ 15.96
$ 15.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @GyraG.
+ 5
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

First of all good evening to you dear friend Have a Good Time for you .

I really appreciate you dear friend This one is best and very interesting content First Time I visit here i can say it's outsclass and I'm very happy to read this type of article

If you doing that's type of hardworking then you get a top of success I wish you have a Good Time and Best Wishes For You dear

Enjoy your day and make sure it's Really Amazing and very nice to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

umm... thanks I guess... But can you say something about the article? Instead of a generic, ambiguous? This type of comment can be treated as low quality or spam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed! A very descriptive and captivating title attracts the minds of readers and makes them more eager to read the article. Building stabilityty and familiarity with readers. Thanks so much for this article... interesting and informative.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Thanks for dropping by and the comment, and you are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this. Since I am new here, it has been a help for me. This is why I join the platform, not just for the tip but also for me to improve my article writing since it is one of my downside. And I think this platform will help me improve it. Looking for more articles like this. Very informative.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're welcome. I'm glad you found this helpful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so correct. Titles are the gateway point to your blog/article. If that is not good then as you say chances are people will skip to the next title. Sometimes I have a killer title and no article. I do like to experiment with titles and views though. Now I am thinking about titles and will create a few 😜

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, sometimes I get lazy to come up with a good title too. Sometimes, I use a headline analyzer and try different titles. I will write about that next time.., Thanks for the upvote.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right. I thought our articles matters only but I the I realized the title of our articles matters too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. The title matters a lot. It's just as important as the content itself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find it too difficult thinking about the title sir, sometimes it took me an hour before finally had a title. I do the body first before the title but it seems difficult for me to choose a title 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yeah.. nadaanan ko rin yan. Pero mag alam mo na ang principle, magiging madali na lang yan soon. Share ko sunod kung paano

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree to you sir, though I find difficulty in choosing my titles sometimes😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't worry. I will make a tutorial soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree, the title is very important and for me, it's sometimes the most difficult part when I write an article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know it's not easy. But I will share with you how to do it soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great! Looking forward to reading about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago