The Irony about Plagiarism Checkers

16 116
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

February 5

Plagiarism has always been a big issue in most, if not all, writing platforms. Especially paying platforms like read.cash, publish0x, and among others. In fact, about six months ago, it has caused a heated argument between some members in this platform.

Also, this was the reason that some members of this writing community lost their chance to receive tips.

Hello, again dearest writers and original content creators! I emphasized that phrase because this is what this platform is for... ORIGINAL content creators.

In my article: How To Detect Plagiarized Content, I mentioned that one way to detect plagiarized content is by using a plagiarism checker or detector.

However, I have observed an irony in those plagiarism checkers.


What Is Plagiarism?

Plagiarism is an act or instance of using or closely imitating the language and thoughts of another author without authorization and the representation of that author's work as one's own, as by not crediting the original author.

https://www.dictionary.com/browse/plagiarism

One common misconception about plagiarism is, it is limited to using or copying the exact words without authorization from the original author. However, the term plagiarism is broader than just copying the exact words. Copying and using the exact words without crediting the source is just one form of plagiarism. This is called direct plagiarism.

Plagiarism.org dissected the definition of the word from the Merriam-Webster dictionary:

"According to the Merriam-Webster online dictionary, to "plagiarize" means:

  • to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own

  • to use (another's production) without crediting the source

  • to commit literary theft

  • to present as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source

In other words, plagiarism is an act of FRAUD. It involves both stealing someone else's work and lying about it afterward."

I double-emphasized the word IDEAS. Because this is what plagiarism is all about. Stealing of ideas!

The Irony in plagiarism checkers Plagiarism Checkers

After a few weeks of heated arguments about plagiarism, some writers started adding plagiarism checker/detector reports at the end of their articles. No offense intended to those who did that, that was your prerogative. However, my thought is, it is not necessary and I will share with you why.

 False Positives

There are times that I would include some information from various sources. Sometimes I copy the exact words. Did I plagiarize?  No! Why?

  • Whenever I copy the exact words, I enclose them in double quotation marks (" ") and always credit the source.

  • If I decide to rephrase the words, I will start with "According to (the source)..." In which the "the source" will have a link leading to my source.

That's how you avoid plagiarism.

However, when I run such an article through a plagiarism check, it will report that the text is plagiarized. Note that these plagiarism checkers/detectors drop all HTML tags when checking, thus, they don't know if the source is credited or not. Thus, a plagiarism detector can give a false-positive result

Plagiarism Checkers / Detectors Encourage Plagiarism

This is the biggest irony on these checkers. Take a look at this screenshot and see what I mean.

As you can see, the plagiarism checker has a tool to rephrase the content. Here is a sample of plagiarized content that I ran through the paraphrasing tool of the plagiarism checker that I used.

This paraphrasing tool replaces some words with synonyms. But there are some paraphrasing tools or article spinners that are more sophisticated than this.

There was one article that I read where I encountered the phrase "square chain" a number of times. I was wondering what it meant at first. Then, I realized it was a paraphrased or spun article. The article spinner replaced the word "block" with "square".

Why We Should NOTupport Plagiarized Articles.

First, as original content creators, we should be aware that there are people who always want to earn some quick money with little effort. Note that this platform does not run any ads. Thus it's not earning anything from our content. The fund allocated each day

that Rusty is distributing is limited. How long do you think Mr. Demesel and the other generous investors would keep funding this platform if they see a lot of stolen content?

 

Moreover, I saw some very informative content by potentially good writers. However, they always fail to credit the source of their information. In time, their work will be flagged by rusty (or another bot if there is) as plagiarized content. Thus they lost their chance to earn from this site.

In Closing.

Plagiarism checkers or detectors are great tools to detect plagiarized articles. However please don't use their article spinners or paraphrase tools to create a plagiarized article.

Here is my rule of thumb before I give tips to seemingly good content.

If the article is about facts, lists, or talks about some research, I always check if there are references. Or if the author would mention his/her reference even without a link. Then I check the other content of the author. If he writes about nuclear physics in one article, personal finance in the next, marine biology in another,  and other topics that require in-depth research and presents them like he/she did all the research (meaning no credits or references), the author is definitely a plagiarizer.

You can always write about any topic you are interested in, but never forget to credit the source and don't depend on article spinners then check them through plagiarism checkers.

Let's keep this site free from plagiarism

Thanks for Reading.

Related posts


Check out my other content at:    

14
$ 9.79
$ 9.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @SolarPhasing
+ 5
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Hehe yeah those who are quick to report plagiarism should double check the article for quotes before reporting.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The first thing I check if the article contains facts is. lists, research, etc,,, is the reference or citation of sources. Pag wala akong nakita, then check ko yun for plagiarism... pag hindi ako tinatamad. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. Ayos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember I used plagiarism checker when Inwas doing my research study. I haven't used it now. Maybe I'll try to check my article hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I just use them if I suspect an article is plagiarized before I give an upvote

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am with you about automatic plagiarism checker software. There is no doubt all sorts of plagiarism, even self-plagiarism, must be avoided in the blogging domain.

Plagiarism checking by software has become mandatory in peer-reviewed research journals. But, they have at least two anonymous reviewers to write a detailed review before finally accepting/rejecting a research paper submission. A topical editor does the final job of sending an acceptance/rejection letter. Nowadays, in high-impact factor research journals, no research papers get accepted without a second reviewing of the revised manuscript.

In the blogging arena, no proper peer-reviewing system exists. It is also not feasible to expect rigorous peer-reviewing like a full-fledged research journal.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The way i see it, Google's early SEO algorithm encouraged or caused bloggers to plagiarize. Bloggers were encouraged to rewrite existing articles and post them on their blogs.

I encountered some social blogging platforms that check the articles first before they are published. But the process takes time. I believe that read.cash, however, has a bot that checks the originality of the content. Maybe tahat's part of Rusty's algorithm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Peer-reviewed journals don't allow self-plagiarism (to republish research already published in some other journal), but the blogging arena permit or instead encourages it. A mention and a link to its originally published website are enough to pass the self-plagiarized content as "not plagiarised."

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is true. Sadly some people are not aware of the term "self-plagiarism". Professional bloggers do republish their work on different platforms, but they always cite where the article was first published.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, "self-plagiarism" is accepted in online blogging.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, this was a very interesting and useful article, I used it a lot. The articles you write about read cash and authorship rules are commendable. Thank you for sharing your information with us. Hopefully we will not see plagiarism on this beautiful site.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No doubt plagiarism checkers should not detect double-quoted clauses and sentences but I found one on google play store which does not recognise double quotation marks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe I thank my not so intelligent mind to not try a research base article lol. Because I don't need to add more links and sources of my topic to credit them😁.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Writing about self experience is the best way. I do that often.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If he writes about nuclear physics in one article, personal finance in the next, marine biology in another...

Reminds me of a few from the past. lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! There were a few of them hehehe. And lately, I encountered some newbies who are attempting to do the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago