I Almost Sold All My BCH In Great Panic

9 53
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

February 26

Looks like we had a scare when the price dipped two days ago. This was when Russia started her attack on Ukraine. I admit that sudden price dip gave me a scare that I almost sold all my BCH in my coins.ph wallet. I'm glad I did not.

 However, that event gave me a push to go ahead with my plan on how to avoid panic in cases like that one.


 Hello again BCH lovers. I realized that I missed another day here. I have not uploaded an article yesterday. Or did I merely forget to change the date of my last article? Anyway, I know I missed a day this week.

 In any case, you are probably happy now that the prices started to go up again in the last two days. Right after it dropped to $260.01. That was quite a scare, huh? With the ongoing war, there are a lot of FUDs flying around that the cryptocurrency prices will drop as soon as Russia invades Ukraine.

Why would Russia invade Ukraine anyway? What's going on in Puttin's mind?


 I Almost Sold All My BCH

When I heard about the news that Russia started invading Ukraine, I checked the price quickly, The price dropped below $290. I almost panicked. I thought of selling everything. I had at least 0.6 BCH in my Coins.Ph wallet. Then I thought of the strategy that I had been playing in my mind.

Never sell everything at once. Sell gradually.

 I have had this thought in my mind for a few weeks now. However, the other side of me kept hoping that the prices might go up soon. So I waited. I shouldn't have.

I Need to Pay My Monthly Amortization

 I already have almost four months of arrears on the monthly amortization of the small piece of property that I bought. I was planning to pay for it using what I have saved from my two months of earning from read.cash.

 Besides, I have already decided that whatever I earned from read.cash will be used to cover my expenses. While my earnings from noise.cash will serve as my savings.

 Greed and Fear Creeping In.

 However, greed is always trying to creep in. I mean, I have been hoping and waiting for the price to go above $320. Instead, it dropped to as low as $260.

 That's when the fear kicked in. I almost panicked. I feared that the price might drop further. However, I thought, what if the price would bounce back? I had no clue what could happen next.

 I decided to sell PHP2,000 (around $40) worth of BCH. That's equivalent to 0.14673611 at that time.

 If the price drops further, I know I will suffer more losses. However, if the price bounces back as it did, the loss is acceptable.

 My Strategy.

 I have been thinking of this strategy for quite some time. I think this is what @scottcbusiness meant by "Dollar Cost Averaging". I did a little research on this phrase and it Wikipedia says:

"Dollar cost averaging (DCA) is an investment strategy that aims to reduce the impact of volatility on large purchases of financial assets such as equities, by breaking a given sum of money into smaller portions that are invested in a pre-determined schedule. " ... Wikipedia

 The idea is, to sell and buy gradually. Since I am regularly earning here in read.cash, my plan is to sell at least once a week. That will be at least $40 a week.  So when the price goes down the following week, I have secured some profit already. When the price goes up, I keep on earning anyway.

 Use Only What Is Needed.

I'm not using my earnings to buy anything for luxury. As I have mentioned, I am planning to use my earnings to pay my monthly amortization. I am also paying my phone bills from my earnings here.

 If I have some savings, and the price drops, I am using it to buy some BCH again.

In Closing

Dollar Cost Averaging is indeed a great strategy to cushion the impact of the volatile prices of cryptocurrency. It will also help protect you from the FUDS and greed. I have just started practicing it though. Thus, I am still in the process of formulating my own formula for applying this.

 Disclaimer.

This is not financial advice. The content of this article is merely based on my understanding and experience. I am sharing this information for educational purposes only. It is best to do your own research on this matter.

 Thanks for reading.


 
Previous posts


 

9
$ 4.19
$ 4.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @MoonTrader
$ 0.01 from @CryptoEd0
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Selling is okay sir, we made choices because that is what matters too. Siguro wrong timing lang ang pag benta ba at ngayon mukang nakakarecover na kasi ang market ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's the thing. With Dollar-Cost Averaging, timing doesn't matter anymore. kasi hindi mo naman ibebenta lahat in one transaction. Pag me tumaas, benta ng paunti unti. para pag tumass, meron ka pang naiwan. pag bumagsak, meron kang pambili...

Besides, meron akong pangalawang wallet na hindi ko ginagalaw. Yung sa coinsph ko, pang expenses talaga yun heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dolalr cost averaging pala tawag din jan sa ginagawa ko sir...

naalala ko ung binenta ko ung bch ko last week, pero nasa php ko lang at balak kko kasi ipang bili ng mga small assets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

truly the prices are unpredictable because there are factors affecting it like war, oil surges, etc. We just hope that the prices will pump again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually don't panic anymore when prices are going sideways. I always believe it will recover eventually. I know it's not the greatest strategy, but I'm still trying to come up with an investment strategy that allows me to accumulate BCH little by little

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would say most wrong decision you've made.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While investing, especially in periods when this type of market is active, we need to make purchases and sales in a way that will not cause a loss by panicking. DCA is always the most logical way to reduce losses, congratulations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too bad you need some money to cover your expenses as it would be better to hold on to your BCh until the market improves a bit again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know. That's why I have two wallets. One for my expenses and one for my savings. No matter what happens, I am not selling what's in my other wallet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago