Should I Get New Laptop Or A New Tablet?

10 43
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

February 17

 

If you have PHP50,000 or approximately $1,000, which would you buy? A new laptop or an Android tablet?

At the current prices, probably I can get a Core-i5 laptop already. Which is more than enough to make me more productive, especially on my graphic design gigs. However, can I afford most of that amount for a laptop?


 Greetings again wonderful readcash readers and BCH lovers. While I don't have PHP50,000 yet with me, I am already contemplating what to do when I have finally saved that amount. Moreover, I have been contemplating what should I buy when I get that amount. Should I get a new laptop or a new tablet?

 The answer will be determined if I determined why would I buy a new laptop or a new tablet.


Why  Do You A New Laptop or A New Tablet?

 I don't buy things simply because I wanted to have them. I always have a purpose in mind. Just like when I chose a Huawei Phone over an Oppo phone. I chose Huawei because it's main camera has a higher resolution than the Oppo phone with the same price range. Huawei Nova SE has a 64 Megapixel (MP) main camera compared to Oppo's 48 MP only.

Why? Because I love photography, and I want to earn from my photos. And what I earn from my photos is enough to cover my post-paid plan that I subscribed for to get the phone. Therefore, I use the phone to pay for itself.

The question is, why do I need a new laptop or a new tablet?

My answer is, I want to be more productive. I only have a Celeron laptop. I am also using a tablet owned by the school but the memory and storage is quite limited.

My laptop's performance increased though when I changed the hard drive to an SSD drive. I used this to create my lessons and presentations. I have also installed an old version of Photoshop for educational purposes. Of course, I use my laptop mosty to write my articles here in readcash.

However, I need a good device for creating my graphic designs. Then again, I need a graphic tablet like Wacom's Intuous II to create my designs quickly.

Main Disadvantage of a Huawei Device

The biggest disadvantage of a new Huawei device is, it has no access to Google Play Services. This means, any apps that require Google Play Services, won't run on a Huawei phone. Unfortunately, most of the applications for cryptocurrency require Google Play services including:

  • Coins.Ph

  • Bitcoin.com

  • Appics

  • Metamask,

  • etc...

Fortunately, I can run some of these smoothly on my Windows Laptop through the Android Emulator, BlueStack. But there are a number of applications related to graphics that I can use on an Android device.

Therefore, I need an Android device.

Based on Experience

I once used a 10-inch tablet that I bought from Lazada. It costs only about PHP3,000 (about $60). I had no problem with it until my son dropped it. Nevertheless, I was able to use it for more than a year. In fact, I have used to earn online as well.

As for my graphic design needs, I am using Medibang Paint most of the time. Plus other Android apps that I can't find an equibalent in Windows.

My Choice.

At the moment I don't PHP50,000 in my savings. However, if I have, that amount will go to my investments and emergency funds. What I will do is, earn about PHP3000 online within this month. An amount that I can easily earn from read.cash alone.

Then I will take a risk and buy a low-priced 10-tablet (with good ratings and review). Then I will use the tablet to earn more online, so I can save the amount I need to buy a new laptop.

With a Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, I can use the tablet just like a laptop. It's much lighter and requires less power.

In Closing

The philosophy I have adopted lately is, whenever I buy a new device, it will not just be for show. I make sure that I can use that device to make me more productive. Simply put, the main reason that I will buy a new device is, so I can use it to earn more money.

Hopefully, by March, I will have a new tablet by then.

Live an abundant life.

Thanks for reading


*all photos are mine

11
$ 4.25
$ 4.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Usagi
$ 0.03 from @MizLhaine
+ 1
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

I can really relate to how you weigh your choices of buying things. We bought a laptop 2 years ago but sold it because our school provided us a laptop. When my son started schooling, they have online classes and I thought that I would just let him use of laptop but, I realized that there are times that I really need the laptop for work. So we thought of buying a tablet for class purposes. I look in Lazada and shopee for options on buying tablet. But you know, we've been so blessed because my hubby was able to get a Samsung tablet for free during the raffle in their office. We are saved of another expense. I agree, we should buy things not just according to our liking but according to our needs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I would have gone for the laptop

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sir, actually ganyan din ako last 2 yrs. Naka tablet lang ako tapos wireless keyboard and mouse. Actually madami ka na din magagawa sa tablet. Kaso there are times na u will need a laptop. That's how I started to invest sa isang secondhand. Now its working really fine naman. If hindi ka naman gamer, a second hand i5 laptop kaya na yang below 20k sir eh. And then invest more na lang sa phone dahil magaganda nga ang mga specs nila ngayon .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still have my laptop. So far all the apps that I need works well, so I don't need to buy one. Bilhan ko lang to ng Wacom ok na for my graphics designs. Wala pang one year ang phone ko. Naka schedule na ang next upgrade ko.. mga 16 months pa from now. Need ko lang talaga yung device na magamit ko for Medibang Paint and writing while on the go.

Siguro yung laptop, bibilhin ko six months from now. or when I can afford twice it's price. hehe

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh I see.... So bet mo sir ung on the go, well go ka na sa mismo tablet sir. Aun pwedeng pwede

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yup. and working pa naman ang laptop ko. So no need to buy a new one. At baka PC pa nga bibilihin in 6 months instead of laptop. Pwede ko pang mapagamit sa mga trolls namin dito. hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha what do you mean by that sir? trolls po? heheeh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol! Yung dalawa kong makukulit na anak. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah are quite the same in buying things like that just like buying my phone that I currently using. There is a lot choices that is really popular that time I choose a realme phone my phone is already 3-4 years and it's still functioning well. But for me if I was going to buy between a laptop or tablet I will go for the laptop because I am going to college in the few months and laptop is really helpful in college.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it really depends on your needs. For me, I would definitely buy laptop. I can use it blog and also my course require us to have a laptop for simulation and design apps

$ 0.00
2 years ago