Going Back to Software or Application Development

7 53
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

March 12

 I don't think I can and will totally put this part of me aside. I haven't done it for quite some time. However, a couple of weeks ago, I was contacted by a former colleague to train his students in creating a mobile app for a contest. Now, my interest in programming or app development has returned.


 Hello again, readers. I may not have mentioned before that I have some knowledge of programming. However, I have not used my programming skills to create a fully working application for others. I did try. However, most of the medium-scale businesses here don't have enough budget for programmers. Big corporations on the other hand would go for established software developers.

So far have made use of my knowledge for educational purposes only. On the other hand, I love to explore new platforms. In fact, I learned Visual Basic, PHP, and another programming on my own. Mostly basic though. I don't get enough motivation to develop my skills further.


AppInventor by MIT

A couple of weeks ago, I was asked to help train some students in mobile app development. At the time, they were attending a seminar workshop for mobile app development using AppInventor by MIT. (read: I had to learn How to Create Android App instantly!)

 

AppInventor is a cloud-based development tool created by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Thus a developer can learn and create a mobile application using the browser only. Frankly speaking, it was the first time I encountered the tool. Then again, I love to explore new tools like this one,

For the record, and modesty aside, the students that I helped won the competition on their level. They will be competing for the regional level soon. Unfortunately, AppInventor is not accessible at this time, so I switched to a similar tool called Kodular.

Going Back To Basics

I may have jumped to using some intermediate tools during the training. This time, I went back to learning the basics. With tools like the AppInventor and Kodular, one can develop an application with no coding at all. Of course, one may need to understand how programming works

Here is a short introduction video about kodular

 Why Do I Want To Learn How To Develop Mobile Apps?

I have several reasons.

  • Educational - As some of you already know, I teach part-time for a private school here in our city. I plan to share what I have learned to our students. Perhaps, create a learning package on how to develop a mobile app.

  • YouTube Tutorial Channel - I long wanted to create my very own YouTube Channel. However, I could not decide on what topic to focus on.

  • Tutorial Website - Again, one of my dreams is to have my own website. However, I know that gathering viewer is not an easy task. Let alone, making money through ads. I think with a tutorial website, I can capture the attention of those who want to learn how to develop mobile apps.

  • Earn through Patreon and similar sites. This may be in the future. Maybe I could get sponsors from Patreon and maybe Kickstarter and other similar sites. I forgot the name of that site where you can grant access to certain content to paying members only. It's similar to Patreon but the payment is in BCH.

  • Develop my own mobile applications. Why not? A lot of people are earning a lot from mobile apps. Remember Flappy Bird?

 In Closing

There are currently over 6 billion users of mobile phones. Imagine if an app can reach even a fraction of 1% of that number per day. Even if you could get a centavo from each user per day, that would still be more than I can ever imagine.

Now, time to make some plans.

Live an abundant life!

Thanks for reading!


 Previous posts


 

 

 

5
$ 4.55
$ 4.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @MizLhaine
+ 2
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

I guess congrats are in order :) It would be great indeed to tap into that 6 billion :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just a fraction of 1% will do. That is still a lot. :D. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! programmer ka din pala Sir. I have not done mobile apps. But we have subjects about mobile apps taught by a faculty with experience in mobile applications.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yup. But I haven't done any programming for a long time. I think I will play around with Kodular and AppInventor... and soon I will buy my own Arduino set.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not familiar with app inventor but i am willing to understand. I am really intrested to make a mobile app. Hope I can make it someday

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's not difficult to learn. I might post some tutorials soon... probably on my own web...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ill expect that , i am waiting for your own website, i am very eager to learn this progmming. I have watched tutorials on youtube bit still its difficult to sink in

$ 0.00
2 years ago