I Have To Stop Wasting My Time

3 43
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

March 3, 2022

I did it again, I wasted so much time in the past few days. Though I was busy with some offline work in the past few weeks, there were lots of time in between that went to waste! The time that I could have spent reading some articles here at least.


 Hello wonderful readers. How did you do last February? I know many of you have already posted their monthly earning summary already. I was planning to write something similar, but I don't plan on publishing an income report. Rather, I was planning to review my goals for 2022 and my progress.

However, I ended up wasting a lot of time yesterday and a couple of hours this morning, so, I will post that maybe tonight.


 Looking Back

In the past few days, I was busy learning how to use the App Inventor by MIT (Massachusette Insitute of Technlogy), It's a web-based mobile-app development platform.

Though I was busy learning and developing a prototype app as requested by a friend, somehow, I also found some ways to waste some of my time.

My excuse was, I was taking a break. However, I don't think watching three episodes of The Walking Dead consecutively is more than just taking a break.

 Not only that, I often find myself watching too many reels on Instagram. "Also, there was a time that I installed a classic "space-invader/Galaga" type of game that plays to relax from time to time. The fifteen-minute planned play-time became thirty to sixty minutes playtime. In short, I got hooked.

 It was just 27 days ago that I posted "This is what happens when I procrastinate". That article was more about the effect and some of the lessons learned when I procrastinate.

 This time I have to deal with the source of the problem...

 ME!!!

Yes, the problem is in me ... the old me. The old me who loves to stay in my comfort zone. The old me who loves to stay in bed or lie down in a couch and wathc TV series and movies for hours!

"Reprogramming" Our Mind is Not Easy

 

How I wish, reprogramming our mind is just as easy as reprogramming a software program or an app. Unfortunately it is not. Our mind will always tend to remain in its old programming. To reprogramming our mind, we need to exert conscious and consistent effort for at least 14 consecutive days! Or at least until we can replace the old habit with a new and good habit.

 

Course of Action

I need to be more vigilant and persistent. I need to find a way to keep reminding myself to stop wasting time. Perhaps a reminder on my phone's wallpaper will help.

 

Stop Wasting Time- wallpaper

I created this using the 4D Parallax app

I also need keep myself in check. Monitor my progress. Not only in terms of defeating my old self, but also how am I doing in achieving my goals.

 

In Closing

Replacing old bad habits with new and productive ones is not easy. It requires utmost discipline and determination. For me, my biggest problem is I waste my time often. For some time, I thought I was already winning over my old self. However, any old habits are like predators waiting silently. Waiting for the right moment to pounce on their prey. And that moment comes when one is tired and stressed out.

 

Let me close this article with this motivational video.

Live a productive life

Thanks for reading

Image Credits:

Couch Potatoes: Image by Alexas_Fotos from Pixabay 

Man Watching: Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay 


Related Posts

 

5
$ 8.36
$ 8.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 1
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

This is just true. Just as what said, the change I want to see, starts from me. It all starts within us, it is our choice to change for good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True it might not be easy but it is possible.. its good that you recognize this already

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yup. Recognition of this flaw is the first step towards improvement. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago