Why i am Single

59 111
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Singles, Abuse, Murder, Love, ...

When people ask why I choose to remain single despite all advances from different men, I'd tell them it's by choice and it's a decision I'm glad I made. My siblings are now married and their kids do come over on visitation every summer. Each time they come I'd take care of them like they are mine but it's easy to do that because I know it's just for a short time and not for long. The term "forever" scares me but "temporary" gives me immense pleasure.

It didn't just happen suddenly, this is a decision I took from a tender age. Right before I even know what marriage was. I just know I don't want to have anything related to staying with someone and reproducing. I grew up with this resolve so the constant plea to get married from my mother fell on deaf ears. Even at the extended family meetings, my distant cousins will come with their adorable babies and I will be thrown a pitiful look by them. I see it all but I'd pretend as if I don't. Who cares?

This is all his fault. I watched him abuse and brutalize my mum. I'd ask my siblings to lock themselves up while I run to the neighbours' house for help. With force, they'd come in and save my Mother from the man she married. Mum calls him my father but I choose not to be associated with that man, so he remains the "man mum married". Call him MMM (3M) for short. After several years of calling the neighbours to help rescue mum from the hands of the monster-( make that "4Ms"), they got tired. I'd ring their doorbell but no one will come out to help. I ran back and held on to 4M's leg pleading for help but he won't listen and kicked me away like a weightless paper.

The incident that changed my life forever and that of my siblings happened on the 31st of October over 15 years ago. He came back home drunk as usual and started venting his anger on mum the usual way. I couldn't take it and walked up to him and pushed him. A flying kick hit my head from nowhere and I saw myself flying across the room. The few seconds I spent in the air was filled with thoughts of how life will be for my siblings after my death. Who will keep them safe from 4M whenever he is in the mood to punch his favourite bag-mum. I don't want those young ones to see him brutalizing their mother.

I fell hitting my head against the newel post of the stairs. The last thing I heard was mum shouting my name. I was engrossed in total darkness and I struggled to come out of it. I woke up suddenly and heard muffled tears from close by. I touched my head and felt some liquid oozing from it. I checked my palm and saw a red liquid. My head aches but the tears coming not so far away gave me more migraine than the pain from the broken head. I looked around searching for the source of the noise only to see the monster on mum naked and sweating. I ran to the dining and took what my little hands could hold and with anger went to where he was tormenting mum. Without a second thought, I stabbed him. Not once, not twice. I stabbed him in countless places. Only when I felt a hand pulling me away did I stop.

It was as if I was taken over by a monster. I charged towards the door, and into the cold night I went. I wandered around the town in pain and regret. Hours after leaving I head back home ready to face the consequences of my actions. I'm a murderer!. I got home to see a crowd in front of our house, an ambulance leaving and mum being led to the police van in handcuffs. I ran to her ready to tell the police I was the murderer but she shut me up with a stare and a smile and said-

"Vanessa take care of your siblings"

She was sentenced to 10 years in prison. The lawyer said she's lucky to receive just 10. The evidence of constant abuse and testimony of neighbours was of help. I became the parent to my siblings till mum served her jail term. Every time I visit her I couldn't keep eye contact but she'll look at me reassuringly and tell me I did the right thing. That didn't help reduce the feeling of guilt and regret in my heart.

The thought of marriage makes we cringe. Not that I don't enjoy the company of a man, now and then, but it's always a one night stand, the Persistent one get a full wash from me and they'd never come back. My only source of happiness is my siblings who weren't affected by the incident that happened years back. How would they be affected when mum did her best to protect me?

Thanks for Reading! 🧒💚👩‍🦳

Since the readcash timeline is filled with dark stories which aren't my strength, I decided to write a Sad story.

The Singles meet up I attended yesterday further gave me a reason to write this. The speaker said marriage is ordained by God but God never say it is compulsory. One can choose to be single for different reasons and learn to enjoy his singleness. The story is all fiction and not related to anyone. And doesn't mean that's the only reason people choose to remain single.

Special thanks to @PVMihalache for the sponsorship renewal. Thanks a lot 🙏.

34
$ 12.74
$ 11.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 17
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Singles, Abuse, Murder, Love, ...

Comments

Indeed, being single means you dont have any intimate attachment from someone. Being single means you have the freedom. No one controls what you do except to your parents. What an intense story coming from you @HappyBoy! Can you give me some of your brain cells? Hahaha 💖💖💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gud this was only a story. So sad ending with lot of adventures. It was like watching a movie

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I thought it was your story, haha. I was confused if you are a man or woman at the end and I was about to ask how old are you hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And I thought it would be your story from the title, turned out it was not haha. Nice story though.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yo tengo mi pareja pero no vivimos juntos nos reunimos una o dos veces por semana a cocinar y cada uno a su casa asi evitamos problemas por cierto acabo de escribir mi primer articulo por si le quieres dar un vistazo https://read.cash/@emanuel78_/caracoles-en-su-tinta-0414e6f3

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Voy a ver el artículo ahora mismo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma decision is completely yours. Today I also read something similar from Jane. The moment of getting married must be something special and unique. After that there is no going back. You have to be very convinced and in love with the person with whom you intend to share your life and create a family.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, i also went through ate Jane's article hours back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If your partner is like this then I must say it's better to stay single. I am in a relationship and I will not say single is the better option but I must say if you are in a relationship and you have a strong mutual understanding with your partner then you are the lucky one. By the way, besides this, you have crossed the 400 subscribers milestone. Keep it up, mate.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks a lot. I didn't noticed on time until infinity informed me. Thanks for being one of the 400.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first, I was wondering why a guy would refer him to as someone who didn't need a husband. Thank God I read to the end.

The decisions we make as an adult are mostly influenced by the things we experienced when we were younger. I don't blame the young girl because she could have lost her life too, it is just pain that her dad's death happened with her hands.

She gave her mom freedom, marriage is really not compulsory but the majority of Nigerian see it as mandatory.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nigeria my country! Wetake marriage as an achievement every child must attain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didnt notice the "fiction" tag and thought it was real, and was terrifed for a moment there!!!!

About being single, I am not dating yet, but its ok I am not pressured to do so yet. I do worry for 2 reasons though. First, I am really shy and have some social anxiety. And 2nd, I am one of the tuny % of girls who dont want children, and it makes me scared that maybe i wont be able to find a husband because of this when I grow up.

I try not to think about it too much, but i really hate the pressure that society puts on you saying that you are "supposed to" get married and have kids. My aunt didnt get married or have kids and I see how some of my famiy looks down on her and its just wrong!!

I people were not so judgemental. :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right, the society has placed a stigma on people who choose not to marry. I'm sure you will find someone who loves you and also have same view about child birth as you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, even in this discussion me suggesting that people dont have to have children seemed to upset people, as my comment got hidden due to a low score, that is a good example of how bad things are and how emotional people are and the pressures that they put on people for no reason. :(

But thank you for such a nice reply...you are right, i will try not to worry, in time i am sure i can find someone with the same views, i just have to be patient. :) Really well written post btw!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was shocked when i saw it in low score. Hope it isn't everywhere but just here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And apparently I made someone so angry, that i see they even went to my profile and downvoted every single article of mine too. :((( WOW. Crazy how emotional people get and the hatred that people have for people who have differernt opinions than them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, hopefully it is not too widespread these emotional reactions to people having different ideas. Thank you for your concern though happyBoy, i am looking forward to your new posts!! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a touching story. I was thinking it was you from the title, I wanted to cast you about that babe I saw you with 😅😅😅. Vanessa tried sha, for saving her mom and protecting his siblings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

When I read the first paragraph I was like Is this Gideon. But at the end I discovered it was all fictional. There is nothing bad when you're single though but there is happiness in being with who you love. I'm getting married soon though

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like girls not guys😂....what! 🤯 please invite me to your wedding. I love Wedding jollof😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its really nice thinking of writing this because a lot of people just run into relationships or marriage sef, not knowing that it's all bed of roses... It's a good enlightenment tho

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Choose someone as your life partner so you won't be single anymore I'm surprised to see the reasons why you are single.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's fiction, that isn't my story. I'm a boy. The username says it all 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought I was reading true life story until I came back home to Readcash to realize it's all fiction😅😅 The mother paid a huge sacrifice. Well, I think If she could give love a chance, she might find the best man opposite her father and ofcourse with prayers too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! She needs to forgive herself first and find a way to love again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought I was reading true life story until I came back home to Readcash to realize it's all fiction😅😅 The mother paid a huge sacrifice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being single might be the wisest decision someone would ever have to make. Less worry and hassle free. You only have yourself to feed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Forever scares me too, the fact that you're expected to stay married disregarding any other thing you might be facing scares me. I just hope we find someone that'll love us enough to make our fears invalid.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope so too. I do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This happen in real life, how many wife suffer from their abusive husband. And the child who will witness it will be the one who will be traumatized this is juat saddening 😞

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I was emotional while reading this story. A love of a daughter to a mother and the love of a mother to a daughter is admirable. I think I would do the same if it happens to my mother and family as well. My father become a monster before, but not to that point. At least, he has changed for good.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mother's are priceless. They would do anything to protect their children. I'm glad dad changed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel sorry reading this. It broke my heart. I hope one day you will find the love that you deserve and I know you will be a good husband and father. Remain single but do not close your heart to the possibility of getting married. Right things come in the right time ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

An extremely dismal story without a doubt. In reality something very comparable occurred in my place some time prior. Most genuine perspectives possibly seem when the two couples at long last get hitched. Some turned out to be so harmful to the point that they wound up killing their other half. its better to remain single until the perfect opportunity will come.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly! Better to wait ,than rush into a toxic relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You tried in this fictional story, and the truth is that there are people who have actually experience something similar to this story in real life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What a story! I still believe there are great guys out there who aren’t monsters . Everyone is given a chance to be happy Nd also to be loved.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awee why u make the happyboy turns to sadboy hehe anyway. Everything happens for a reason why some people thinks that the relationship is something can make others having a trauma to love again.. All I can say ,heal yourself first and find the love to yourself again.❣️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right Kleah, one has to heal first and them try to love again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right. Lets find happiness to ourselves first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a sad story, dear friend, really everyone has their own choice, some feel better by being single, some by marriage, and it all comes down to different personalities and perspectives of people...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What a very sad story I think 10 years was too much I mean the man was an abuser na. Anyways I too don’t think I would be getting married and I am not the only one 44% of this young generation are scared of marriage nobody knows why. In my case my parent had an awesome marriage I can’t even lie but I guess my decision is as to what I see married people do these days is just scary. But sha e sure me you go marry sha okor adugbo baba for the girls

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm married already😂....I'm joking (in case any one crushing is reading this)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Werey 😹😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very sad story indeed. Actually something quite similar happened in my place some time ago. The ending part actually .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! I hope things are fine with the Victim now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not scared of getting married, what I'm scared of is the person that I end up with. Most real attitudes only appear when the two couples finally get married. Some became so abusive to the point that they ended up killing their other half.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

100% right. The choice of partner will determine the longevity and peace of a union.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so hard to be in a relationship how much more in marriage. Geezz

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Boss, I thought you'd write about yourself. Please write about yourself we'll like to know why you're still single😂🤲

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm a married man sir 😂 I'm currently in a relationship with ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😄😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I choose to be single because for now I must first priorities my studies. Most of all, I am contented and Happy on what I have right now. That's only for me My Friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, there's time for everything. Right now it's Education.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a perspective in life that I want to have a partner and that partner will be my first and last, I am praying that to God. Because in God will give you right time and right place to the right person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He will surely answer your prayers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so many lessons to take from this story . The most important is that it is very unwise to stay in an abusive relationship as it will never end well

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Better to live before one's breath leaves

$ 0.00
2 years ago