Tomorrow is never promised

32 93
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

It's been a turbulent day. I tried as much as possible not to allow Lionel Messi's departure from Barcelona to affect me. I pretended as if it doesn't hurt much but when the press conference started and he wept I couldn't take it any longer. I turned to an emotional wretched man. I knew this day was coming. It was inevitable, but I wasn't expecting it to happen this soon. I can remember writing a very long open letter to him on his birthday. I talked about how he will play his last match in front of his people, little did I know that he has already played his last game. (Link)

Lionel Messi at the press conference

Image source

All through the day I was switching between noisecash and doing some assignments just to keep my mind off it. The Love I have for this man is incomparable. He made my childhood days a happy one. When it was time to type an article, nothing came to mind. I was blank and too Sad to write. My mind then went to an article written by @The.Ada Titled " We can't direct the wind but we can adjust the sails".

In the article, she talked about how her family relocated to another place and how they adapted to the changes. I must have mentioned in one of my articles that I attended up to Ten Schools before leaving secondary school.

I never owed a fee or got rusticated or expelled from any of these schools. Rather I was of good character and received so many awards for my academic performances and my conduct. The nature of my Dad's job was the major factor.

Here in Nigeria is you are an honest worker or a productive one then get ready to receive multiple transfers throughout your career. If you are the honest type, you will be transferred for no particular reason. Once those at the Top realises you're stopping their usual illegal incomes they will find a way to frustrate you by transferring you to another post. And if you are the latter(Productive worker) you will be transferred to other branches to help improve it. Though this is seen by many as a privilege, what most people fail to realise is that the Children of these employees are affected.

I built a wall around myself

If you ask me how many best friends do I have, don't be surprised if I list 20 different people to you. One of the ways I survive was not to love too deeply. I try as much as possible not to be attached to other people too much.

This turned me into Someone who doesn't believe in forever. Not necessarily the boy-girl forever thing. I believed everyone will surely leave someday or I leave. I shut my heart to true love. Being a very outspoken person, I easily get new friends everywhere we relocated to, but I was never able to forge a lasting relationship with them because of my reservations and fear.

I built a shell around me and when a friend of mine died I further add more bricks to the wall of my heart. I lived this way for a long time and never cared about how I'm being affected.

Came in contact with some friends...

I was lucky to attend a school where I met some wonderful set of people. We started as friends and then became brothers and sisters. Though currently most of them stay far away and the few that stays close only meet once in a while. The bond is still as tight as ever.

Maybe Social media played a part in it because there was no way of keeping in touch back then. But what I can say is that these friends taught me that though Tomorrow might not be assured, that shouldn't stop us from living today.

Tomorrow is never promised

Tomorrow is one of the constant things we have, and at the same time, it isn't assured for everyone. Someone might have plans for Tomorrow and not wake up to see it. Why then do we live in fear of what will be Tomorrow?.

Don't let the fear or doubt of what Tomorrow will bring cast a shadow over your today. Make the most of today, appreciate the people you have around you. Open your heart to love others and be loved. Appreciate the people you have in your life and never let your Tomorrow affect your Today.

Thanks for reading!🤗🤗🤗

Oh! Finally got to type something 😂. It's been a hectic day, I'm glad it's ended and I'm able to type yet another article.

25
$ 13.25
$ 12.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
+ 18
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

Tomorrow is uncertain, so live life thankful and worth each day. People do really come and go, but we should open our doors to them as well.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

The only thing we have for sure is today, and we have to enjoy it. Tomorrow is just a maybe!

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yes tomorrow is never promised! We never know what will happen tomorrow. I remember someone that keep on telling me, to just enjoy and live the today!

$ 0.04
2 years ago

You are lucky to have 20 friends where I only have 3 😅 Many friends but only a few are real. And it's really hard to lose someone we love and who has been so close to us.. We don't know what will happen tomorrow..that's why we have to treasure every person, everything coming into ours lives.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Leaving your bestfriends is si hard and the sad thing about it is we can't do anything. That is why, it is really important for to cherished the people around us because we have no idea what will happen the next day.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You said right!! Well I'm not a fan of football but i can felt how messi and Barcelona fans are feeling

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This means we should live everyday like it's the last for we don't know what's in our tomorrow. Let's be happy today!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

He leaves Barcelona, where he came as a child, almost as a middle-aged adult. Barcelona owes Messi a lot, and Messi owes Barcelona a lot. Each other's names were always mentioned in the same sentence. Now they are separated and everyone will go their own way.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

This is so true but it’s funny how most people don’t realize this especially this generation we live in

Anyways sorry Messi left y’all come to my house later I would buy you a bottle of bear to drown your sorrow 🎉😂😂😂😆

$ 0.03
2 years ago

On my way to get the drink😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I resonate with this article, tomorrow is never promised. I have a friend I love so dearly, we grew up together, attended the same secondary school, live together in the same room like biological brothers. We promised each other to help each other in life but a time came that we got to be separated when his mom that has abandoned him for many years came looking for him and begging for forgiveness.

The mother asked my friend to name whatever he wants to be done for him, my friend said to travel abroad. He went away from me with the promise that when he sort out things, he will come to get me. After several years of waiting, I managed to contact him on Facebook and told him about my condition in school, he promised to send me $120 but that was the last I could hear from him, he blocked me.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Blocked you!😳 Human will always be human. He must have thought life ends there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What’s a touching write up. Tomorrow is never assured. We have to make use of our today wisely. Something I know about friends is not to love too much just like you said. They come and can leave at any time. Most time unexpectedly. If you don’t leave them, they would leave someday. And to Messi. Hehehe. He shaked the world of football. Let’s we what he have for the future

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yes. Be assure to treasure everyday in our lives because we do not know what will happen tomorrow. Why is it tomorrow if we have today? Take care always HappyBoy...🙏❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for making reference to my article. It really means a lot. Yeah, it's true that tomorrow is never promised so like you said, it shouldn't stop us from living. This is a good read!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn! I totally understand where you're coming from. I, myself am not a fan of Barcelona but I know who Lionel Messi is and what he meant to Barcelona fans. It is indeed sad to see him leave.

"Tomorrow is never promised" I, for one, is greatly familiar with this concept so I deeply relate with you on this. Thanks for making reference to my article. It means a lot to me that we're both able to relate on that.

Really loved this article, thanks for writing it

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for dropping by The.Ada , your article was what i needed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand that feeling. Though one that I experience is one of my favorite Kpop groups disbanded. I remembered being emotional watching their concert through twitter livestream. It was so hard to accept.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Can I tell you the truth? I did not like Messi, but now that he has taken step of leaving Barca, I love him. Hee has tried so much in Barca to the extent of crying like a baby while he was leaving. His fans will miss him so much.

Tomorrow is never a promise as you cannot trust anybody. I may promise you but fail at the kind run. To me, until I see it, I won't put my mind.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

In a world divided by borders, football connects us all. I feel you brother.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Like one of my favourite artist,i am sure you know him BRYMO,he said nothing ever promised tomorrow and that's really true. We shouldn't expect something to be with us forever.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

It's such a mixed feeling as Messi bids farewell to Camp Nou... A feeling of joy and sadness at the same time. Joy that he is moving on, sadness that he isn't coming back to Barcelona.

No one knows tomorrow. So, we should endeavour to live well for a better tomorrow. What would people say if we are gone tomorrow?

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Exactly the question we ought to ask ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have to savor every moment of every day because we have no hold of what tomorrow will bring.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Like they said nobody holds what tomorrow will bring, so we should focus on our present to enjoy but never forget also that what we do today will be a reflection of our tomorrow.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I like this when you said, "never let your tomorrow affect your today" This is true po. We sometimes dwell to much in the past making us not being happy in the present.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yeah, it casts a shadow on the present.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You built a shell, what, wait, you're a turtle too? Just kidding! 😄

You are right, live your life today, because tomorrow may or may not come.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, a turtle 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, tomorrow is never promised. We don't really know when a person dies, some comes out as a surprise and we hate that. Make the most out of every day and appreciate everything. ❤

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I feel you. That's exactly how I feel weeks ago. I was attached to one person that when he left, I wasn't able to bear it. I collapsed and I was not the 'me' I used to before

$ 0.04
2 years ago