Sobriety

16 84
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

What a day yesterday was. I almost went out of my mind looking for the solution to my phone when it suddenly went out of service. Yes, that was what I thought when in between a chat my messages stop delivering neither was I receiving any. I thought it was my SIM, so I went ahead to subscribe on another, only to receive a call from a friend about this same issue. Maybe it’s “the beginning of the Apocalypse” as @Temimay suggested in his article.

I can’t help feeling sober, just one of these times when you feel something is wrong but you can’t just point your finger at what it is. I feel tired. Not the physical tiredness, it’s something I can’t explain with words. I feel like I’m going about with a huge weight on my shoulder but the need to move on makes me press on. Maybe what ate Jane said will help me do justice to it. I’m tired, but this is my purpose in life - that’s the title she gave it. I realise what has been the driving force behind my unrelenting strive for success was the need to make my loved one’s happy.

My mind then wonder to ate @Ruffa ‘s article “A Dream Is a wish your heart makes” as she said she sees how other people are living their lives, graduating from school, leaving home in search of greener pasture, working and earning. That’s almost everyone’s dream but what do you do when you are unemployed and things don’t look like it’s changing anytime soon. It’s when we come to realise that there are various routes to a single destination that’s when we will find joy. It doesn’t necessarily need to be the way we planned it. We don’t need to be envious of other’s life. We will be surprised if we listen to them talk about their struggles. Some even wish to be like you.

My wondering mind then started thinking of the future. What does life have in store for me? Society has its expectation, though I’m not moved by what they say, but my parents are there. They are the typical African parents who believe there’s a time range for everything. Someday they will ask that question. “When are you planning to settle down”. I know it’s still far but I can’t help wondering “ will I be a good husband? Or a good father to my kids?”. Being a good father is different from being a good husband. Do I have it in me to be a good one?

Love dwindles sometimes as @Giddyboy said in his article “ Marriage, love and my opinion”. will I marry the one I love or love the one I marry? I asked myself. Beauty fades with time and age or circumstance. @George_Dee talked about “A Beautiful scar” . will I be able to see the beauty in such a scar? . Won't i aldo look for excuses to push her away? Will i complain that she's fat or noisy?. They say It’s easy to criticize people when we are not in their shoes. I hope I don’t turn out to be an irresponsible father or husband. Hope situations and circumstances won’t change me.

“Life happens” are the first words @King_Gozie used in his Tackling the toughest Questions . so I’m going to ignore my questions for now and let life take its course. When we get to each bridge we’d cross it. I won't let the thought of what tomorrow will be disturb my today.

Thanks for reading! 😔💚😔

Sorry for the tags guys. If you will to join the trend/challenge feel free to join.

This is an entry for the challenge by @McJulez to “connect each title to make a story”. also in respect to the challenge passed on by ate Jane.

Special thanks to @PVMihalache for the sponsorship. It's an honour to have your badge on my page. Thanks a lot.

23
$ 11.80
$ 11.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 12
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

This is a nice article prompt and I am sure I will be having a hard time choosing articles for all of you here are awesome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have read ate jane's article about this one too, but until now I still couldn't construct a whole idea lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you watch a movie, usually a comedy movie, where the parents begin to tell the son that until when he will be home. He is over 30 years old and still lives with his parents. We cannot let these situations happen, we must move towards our future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Commendable boss. Nice shot. I hope I can do this one day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You connected these articles well. I might have a go at the challenge tomorrow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is right. Let tomorrow worry for itself. We have to focus on the now, at the moment because we live here and we are not sure if we will still live for tomorrow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What I really love about this article of yours is how you expressed your feelings of the kind of man you want to be for yourself and for your kids even without leaving any stone unturned. Just be patient and always do the needful, God will surely see you through

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the challenge already....thank you for mention I'm so happy to feature here. You linked it up perfectly using recent articles...from 'yesterdays huddles' to 'Life happens'....a bitter sweet ending.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also wondered what the store has for me. I am confused about my future these days. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehh, nice one . I'll try this one also. Although I think I'll have a hard time constructing it that's for sure. But there's no harm in trying hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My article like this on is still a work in progress. 😄 Love this!

By the way, mom also experienced the same in FB and messenger. I don't know, because I was not using it by the time it malfunctioned.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward to it 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was tagged by Julez I think. I still haven't composed my thoughts about the topic hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Looking forward to reading yours too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, this trend is really creative and I love reading them.❤👌 how do you join them together?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's no criteria. Just write and tag McJulez

$ 0.00
2 years ago