Not everyone likes Orange(s)

17 61
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Yesterday, mum got some oranges from the market and from the look alone it was apparent that it’s juicy. Before my ever-hungry pounce on it, I took two. One for myself and the other for my cousin. I gave it to her with the expectation of getting a “Thank you” from her but she returned it saying she doesn’t like orange.

I was speechless for a long time because this will be the first time I will hear such, so I went on google and typed the first thing that came to my mind “Do some people hate oranges”. To my surprise, my cousin isn’t the only one with a dislike for oranges. I then remember how @PrincessBusayo brought out a lesson from the rat disturbing her room, so I decided to bring out a lesson from what I just learned too.

You can’t be loved by everyone

When it comes to love, hate and all things in between, I've never really seen the need to try and convince people that my way is right. You can't please everyone and I've come to a point where I know that what I like and what makes me happy doesn't have to have universal approval to be valid. No matter how nice you are there will always be people that don't like you, instead of wasting time trying to win them to your corner, just celebrate those that love and cherish you.

No matter how ripe and fresh an orange is, some people don't like orange juice. The same situation applies to you. You may be the sweetest, nicest, kindest person on the planet but there will always be people that don't like you and it's okay, trust me. 

I know that no one cares as much about you as you do, but more importantly… no one is you. If someone doesn't like you or doesn't agree with something you did or said, let it wash off you like water on a duck's back, because life goes on without an apology from anyone most times.

Even Jesus had Judas, even Gandhi had Hitler, and even Oprah had her haters. So get that frown upside down, love yourself not just because you're beautiful but because you're one of a kind.

Don’t let a mistake define you

Still on the hatred for orange, I thought of things that might cause the hatred and I asked my cousin but she said she can’t even say why. Maybe she had a terrible experience involving an orange when younger. Maybe she ate the flesh which is bitter or it’s just natural hate.

I know that at some point in our lives we all make mistakes, I know we all have things to work on and I know that most people are going to put you down no matter how hard you try. It's sad but true, most people are only focused on taking advantage of others and not lifting others. It's no wonder our society is struggling more than ever before and it's no wonder the youth is so lost in the world we live in. Instead of doing all they can to help themselves and their peers succeed, most of our peers just feed off of negativity, hate and envy. I once asked myself why people like this exist.

I guess instead of getting angry about it, I just realized that "They aren't worth my time", by saying that I'm not saying that they shouldn't be cared for or helped but if they are not willing to change or even though they tend to do bad things, they should be left alone despite their bad behaviour because ultimately what they give off doesn't deserve any attention or even energy spent on giving them attention.

If you aren't happy with your situation and the way you are, do something about it. Self-love doesn't mean you have to love yourself and only have good things to say about yourself but it means that you have to focus on the good you can change and leave those you can't change. Surround yourself with positive people, find like-minds that can help with your growth and don't worry about those who only see the bad in you.

Conclusion

It's okay to be different and stand out from the crowd. I encourage you not to conform just to make people like you, but to fulfil your purpose. You may be that orange who is different from the rest of the oranges in the tree, but always remember that you are fresh and juicy.

Everything comes with a price and every action has a reaction. You can't please everyone so it's okay to be different and stand out. Don't be afraid of criticism, sometimes even your favourite oranges may look sour to others. Embrace your uniqueness and love yourself because only you can change yourself!

Whatever you do, do it with purpose and don't forget that when the world gives you lemons, you may want to make orange juice but you can also give them back and make them cry.

Thanks for Reading! 🍊💚 👅

23
$ 3.88
$ 3.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 16
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

Don't he like interesting oranges? I agree with your article. No matter how perfect we are. There will be people who will envy us and who will not love us. but there is no rule that everyone will love and appreciate us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am surprised that you got shocked that some people don't like oranges, it's perfectly normal for people not to like some certain fruits, like me now I detest pawpaw with passion 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even while it could seem personal when someone doesn't like you, most of the time it is about them and not you at all. We must realize that not everyone will like us, no matter how painful that is.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should

  • Learn how to embrace who you are and never let negative comments affect you.
    • Be confident in yourself and follow your talents.
    • If there is something you really want to do but you feel like it isn't good enough for someone else, don't let that stop you – put yourself first.
$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is absolutely true, everyone will not like you even when you appear as the nicest person on planet.

Tinubu appears to be the best candidate to the west(Especially lagosians), they'll go on and on to say beautiful things about him but nah! other people don't want him.

Jesus Christ came as a Messiah, healing people and giving them reasons to live life, but with that, People still hated him and killed him also.

Like this eh, I'm not living my life to Please anyone, it's just myself, God and family (to an extent).

I came to find out that there are people that don't like fried ripe plantain 💔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are correct honestly, no matter what you do you must have people who hate and dislike you. Even a child that they just gave birth have enemies talk much of adults

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life in this world is natural when we are loved and hated, but all of these things we have to face because of the sweetness of sugar, there are still people who don't want to eat it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

what you have just explain is just telling us how life is

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We shouldn't be sad because someone doesn't love us, it is normal. Not everyone will love, enjoy and be happy with what you do, and also, not everybody will hate you for what you do. We just can't please everyone and if we are trying to force ourselves to please people, it might hurt us in the end. Thanks for the mention 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Different people have different choices brother. We can't be same in opinion of taste and color. Even I am allergic to use orange juice. I loved only mangos and Banana😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like how you dig deeper and correlated this incident with some real life things but honestly, I was wondering this whole time who even search for such questions like "who do not like oranges/mango/tomatoetc etc."

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are all humans but we are also different with each other the same goes with fruits with different kinds and variants. It's perfectly fine to be different. We will find someone who will like us for what we are , same goes with fruits that we like. I don't like orange much either , i prefer banana or apple. lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i love oranges, and especially the small ones. there are a lot of oranges in the phil. maybe she doesn't like and we all have things we don't like either.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can't please everyone and we can't be liked by everyone cos that's how life has been. Some people will just hate us naturally without doing anything, yes it is like that but what we have to do is to move on and don't let that distract your focus. They don't deserve us and we don't deserve them too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's just true, I remember the case of a man that moved into his new house in another environment, he decided to give water for free, he did it for like a month and the co-landlords and landladies in the area approached him that he's doing too much and it's making people not to buy water from them, they attacked him spiritually, he has to stop to avoid story that touches.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That leads to some hatred Which are unworthy. If you ask some people that, why do you hate this person, their response will be , I just hate them It's in nature. You hate Orange juice, but trust me when I see that, I don't take it with levity hand

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I usually stand on my ground as long as I know I am right. I don't care what people think of me, or if they judge me co'z at the end, what matters the most is that I never betrayed myself

$ 0.00
1 year ago