I hate Banks

27 99
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Topics: My day, Banks

Today couldn’t have started on a worse note than what I faced in the morning. Every single day, the banks here keep on living to the bad reputation they created for themselves. I can remember when I was younger, way back in primary school. We were told, putting your money in the bank is of great advantage. It increases everyday-they say. But it’s the exact opposite that is happening in the present day.

Every night a minimum of 20naira is deducted from my account for the past 2 months, without being sent an alert for these transactions. It was unknown to me, by the time I realised this, I complained and I was told it’s called stamp duties and some are charges for card maintenance. A card I paid for and I’m in possession of. Yet, they are the ones collecting the money for its maintenance, albeit from my money.

The final straw that broke the camels back was when my account got frozen last week. Initially, I thought it was a network issue but on getting to the bank a few days back, I was told I can’t make any withdrawal from my account because of an amount beyond the set limit of the account entered. This wouldn’t be the first time such amount of money will be coming in. While I was still working with my boss, I do receive huge amounts of money allocated as salary for the workers but I never had issues. I went back home in annoyance, with the plan to go back in a few days to rectify it. I went there on Friday and I met a long queue, patiently I waited for my turn but when it was time to attend to me I was told I need to fill some document in a certain office. I couldn’t face the stress of queuing again, so I went back home.

Early this morning, I took my bath and went straight down to the bank. As usual, the queue was long, even as early as 8 am. I went in and also met another queue inside. I took the form, filled it and joined the long queue. I was ready to satisfy them with patience. Finally, it got to my turn but I was told the Nepa receipt (The electricity bill receipt I brought for verification) isn’t valid. I showed them all evidence. My National ID, School Id and all but it all fell on deaf ears.

I left the bank agitated and frustrated. I have a lecture in school tomorrow. I have no money with me. I need to get some things to take to school but my bank is here loin this to me. Funny thing is, someone, sent the money he is owing me into this same account yesterday and it went through. Obviously, sending in money into a “frozen” account is allowed, only withdrawal isn't allowed. I had to call my brother to lend me some cash.

Screenshot from my noisecash page

The anger I have towards banks intensified as I was walking home and it killed the zeal to do anything all day. I spent most of my time on Telegram, Instagram and WhatsApp. Doing next to nothing. I have even more than what was sent into my bank account in my wallet, yet I haven’t been asked to upgrade my account, neither has my account been suspended.

I didn't have the Zeal to publish any article and visited noise just once in a while, but...

The day ended on a good note

You must have heard of Tropical.Finance the upcoming dex on SmartBCH. They had a lie AMA and so many notable names in the SmartBCH community joined and we all were given the chance to state our fears and also ask questions, which was answered to everyone’s satisfaction. To appreciate those that joined the AMA, a $300 worth NFT giveaway was promised to the 3 users with the best questions. I wasn’t aware of this instruction initially, I only asked the question I had in mind. Luckily I was chosen amongst the 3 participants. Therefore I got a $100 worth NFT to be launched later on Tropical finance. Let me close my diary here. I have a long journey ahead tomorrow.

Sample of the NFT

Thanks for Reading!🤦‍♂️💚😊

29
$ 13.63
$ 12.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
+ 19
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Topics: My day, Banks

Comments

I don't like entering bank at all, I try to avoid going to the bank, they have frustrated me so many times. The only business I have with the bank is ATM. The rest I do online make nobody stress me

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I dey tell you😂.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate it too sometimes.. Hahaha i have experienced that since we have a bank haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it was a frustrating experience for you, I also want to say that I do not like banks because they keep on referring us to here and there this was my mentality before but it changed when I personally visited banks and I found that they are good and sometimes they just get frustrated too but anyway my personal experience till now was awesome even I WNET TO THE BANK WITH A MISSING DOCUMENT AND THEY SAID TO COME BACK TOMORROW AND I ASKED IF I COULD GET THESE DOCUMENTS ON MAIL AND U HAVE A PRINTER U CAN PRINT IT OUT AND THEY AGREED MY ALL WORK WENT ON SMOOTHLY. HE WAS A GOOD PERSON

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂 sorry boss. What pained me the most in your article is comparing your wallet to the bank account.. hahaha. The diff is clear

And that’s just the issue with centralized financial system and why our country would never embrace the decentralized financial system

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This your article came on a very good time, I am also facing issues with my bank that is getting me pissed off. Someone sent me money since last week and it has entered my account, and the person's bank told him that the problem is from my end. I have contacted the customer care of my bank and they keep telling me they will look into it and get back to me after 48 hours, it has been over a week now o and still nothing, on top ordinary 2k o 🤦

$ 0.02
2 years ago

How nice that you ended up on a good note, I congratulate you on winning🎊You probably have a credit card, not a social. For a credit card even if you have no money in your account! you will pay the bank in debt!!!!! Many people do not know about this Take this information into account!!! Situation: you have 0 in your account and you do not plan to use it further and put off this card for half a year. So you decided to use it, and there is a huge debt!!!!Of where, you ask? And the bank will tell you: because you have zero on the account, and we charge interest for using our credit card, we charge a monthly fee for our services, and you have nothing to pay, so each month the interest is growing in the amount that you owe for each month. One more thing: Any !!!! bank has the right to charge you for using their credit card without your knowledge. Only social cards don't charge anything.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

When I was reading your article I was seriously worried, because my Big sister account was freezed a several years ago, she passed through alot of stressed to retrieve her bank account, anyway am happy to hear that the @Happyboy is happy because , " the day ended on a good note " . Have a nice day sir @Happyboy 😍😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah that's why I don't like banks now, sometimes they had problem when it comes to transactions, so low and made us angry

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's so funny how they restrict withdrawal on a frozen account and allows deposit, if that's a smart business move, they're totally loosing their value. I don't just know but I don't like going to bank for transactions the way people trip for bank. Even if I have issues, I love going the virtual way unless otherwise.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bank eh they can frustrate someone's life to the late drop of blood Imagine my own I wanted to pay for my shop rent and I changed BCH then money enter only for me to transfer they are asking me my date of birth I smiled and went into the bank straight imagine the are asking me to remove my scarf to see if am the one But when the money enter no wahala o

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Banks sometimes do get one angry, it's so sad that they didn't even allow your nepa bill so sorry about that,well it all ended well for you since you won the $100 AMA challenge.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's just the kind of nonsense you from every Nigerian bank. It's just their very rubbish ways of dealing with people jare. When you want to pay in, no one will tell you from the bank not do that even when it is against their banking ethics but go back and then say you want to withdraw the same money you just paid in, they start giving you protocols to follow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sad to hear what you faced in the bank,it must be frustrating. But I am glad you won $100 in AMA.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same with you ,I hate banks as sometimes they're so slow in terms of transaction.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh boy, how frustrating this is.. I would be so annoyed.. you are very patient, I would have left screaming at the employees and possibly filing a case on the stupid bank.. Banks are so annoying indeed.. I hope you change the account, I mean, cancel this bank ad open in a new one.. and congrats on the NFT :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes there are problems with the bank. It feels really annoying then. Sometimes the processing is too late. I have to do my money's interest and face many problem. it's really frustrating mate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My dear brother and friend, I think you are right hating banks especially those in Nigeria cos they will make you look stupid while coming to claim your own money you put in your own account and the long queues just as you experienced is as a result of a very very poor customer care representation, how frustrating!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bank is frustrating especially how it works adding the small interest you got from your investment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dealing with bank and more particularly the staffs of the bank blows up my mind everytime. I understand that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What a day, Happy Boy. Banks are really frustrating. It is only convenient if we deposit money but hard when we withdraw. Good thing that there was a silver lining on your day yesterday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That sounds really great happy boy. It is a good thing the day ended well for you. Banks surely have alot of problems. There was a time they deducted 8k from my account and till date I have not heard of them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those can't be predicted and relied on upon why would they be removing money for card maintenance when it is with I wonder the bank it would be😃😃😃😭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hate it too. The queue is always long.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Congratulations brother on this amazing win… this is a great news and a compensation for all the stuffs that occurred this week… more wins for you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Banks sometimes shouldn’t be relied on if it’s not network issues it will be bank issue and a lot of stress. I hope you’ve settled all with UBA I know because they are the bank that charge for stamp duties. I don’t know about the Dex. Goodnight bro

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Congratulations on winning the NFT. Hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago