Gather here my fellow "youths"

37 102
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Topics: Humility, Pride, Goals, Plan, Future, ...

Money intoxicates even more than alcohol. Though getting an addict away from the bottles can be hard but you can advise him to abstain from visiting the bar or walking with friends that can influence him easily. However, you can't tell someone not to look for ways to earn money, you can't tell someone to stop hustling for money. No! Never.

It's common to see people say different things about how money is evil in itself, it can't bring happiness, money can be this or that, blah blah blah. One thing I know for certain is that the importance of money cannot be overemphasized.

How then do we keep our heads in check when we have some amount of money on us?. The youths in particular are the ones commonly swerved by the influence of money. It's common practice to see a young boy with a lot of money to his name, act disrespectfully to his elders and spend lavishly with no thought of tomorrow. Truly, he who pays the piper dictates the tune, that doesn't mean we should ridicule those that don't have.

MISTAKES WE MAKE

1. More is coming from where I got this

This is the mentally most youths have. We spend what we have lavishly believing that more is coming from where we got the one we have presently. A Yoruba adage says “Igba olo bi orere”. it means good times don’t last, life comes in phases. We spend all we have without the thought of what tomorrow might hold. Life is unpredictable. That sure source of income you have can be unsure tomorrow. Nobody planned or envisioned being sacked, even those who already have the feeling that they will be sacked soon, hope and pray it doesn’t come.

2.We forget that our Responsibilities are different

Living your life the way others are living theirs can be a problem. The responsibilities you have is quite different from that of others. After graduating from secondary school, I worked for some time to gather a little money to get some forms into the higher institution. At work, I met a guy who was also a fresh secondary graduate (school cert). At the end of the month, he spends over half of his salary in a day at the game house. I wanted to do the same but I know how responsibilities are different.

3.Pride

Money intoxicates I repeat. It’s easy to change from the humble and nice guy to a Proud and rude one. I’ve seen how money changes a lot of people. Just what we are earning from readcash and noisecash alone can make us turn into something else. Being Humble despite what one has in one’s account is a good trait. Humility will endear you to everyone, it will open doors of opportunities to you.

Things we can/should do

1.Cultivate the habit of saving

Learn to save out of the little you earn each day, don’t spend every single thing that comes in. Have you asked yourself this “what if readcash stops today, what will I have?”. You can have it this way, save $1 in a separate wallet each day and at the end of the month you have $30 or even more depending on the market as your salary. Though some expenses will arise at intervals which requires you to touch the major part of your holding. But with discipline, you can achieve your goal.

2.Keep your circle Close

Money brings in friends, people you haven’t heard from for a long time will want to be your friend again. Try to reduce the number of friends you have, work with like minds, people who will ask you to teach them how to fish not those who will ask for fish every day. I’m not saying you shouldn’t help your friends financially when they ask for it, it’s good to help. But the best help you can give them is to help them with the money if possible and also teach them how to get it. Remember the friends you make today are the connections your children need tomorrow.

Work with men you trust (lol), have each other's back. Betrayal might happen once in a while but friends that would stay will stay. I’ve got a lot of friends that have been there for me at various times and they know I’m down for them anytime they need me.

3.Think long term not short term

Think of the long term. Invest in different ventures, though it might not yield much now, with time it will bring in something tangible. Also when making decisions, think of the impact it will have not just today but in weeks, months, years. When dealing with others, think of the future and not just now.

4.Listen to advice

You can't have as much cloth as an elder, you can’t have an equal amount of rags says the elders. The experience the older folks have cannot be bought with money. Listen to what they have to say. Learn from their mistakes. Do not call them old and outdated, rather value every single thing that comes out of their mouth. It isn’t restricted to where you live alone. On this platform, we’ve got some older folks, doesn’t matter how big you are, they have something you don’t have -which is experience. Be humble!

Thanks for Reading!✍💚✍

Special thanks to @bmjc98 for the sponsorship renewal. I appreciate it MJ 💚

33
$ 10.66
$ 9.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @ZehraSky
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 19
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Topics: Humility, Pride, Goals, Plan, Future, ...

Comments

The first day i earned money here I think I got too intimate or intimidated then I lavished all on things that don't even matter....that's how it is, if you would give a man 1mill now, without proper planning that money will finish in a month. So I have saved and written key points from here mostly in the form of friends I keep and our responsibilities....Happy Sunday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for your contributions King

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, we cannot just imitate what are other people are doing with their money, because we have our own responsibilities to fulfill.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why the Bible stresses out on self control, because everything can be intoxicating..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another on point article! Sometimes, I see people in social media showing that they have new stuffs and makes me think that I can also but that, but at the end, I will say to myself, I have a different responsibility. I am not the same with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The most thing that affect youth when they have money is their age they believe they are still small and automatically they can still make more money after they spend that particular one they have with them

Forgetting that opportunity comes but once in life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are correct brother and the fact that money will continue to be in existence, then trust me, it will surely continue to correct people. Then I believe more in the savings habit cos I believe it can even yield success

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All what you've written are absolutely correct sir

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it is very crucial to keep one’s circle close as they will come in handy and here is how;

They can bring you back on track when money starts to intoxicate one and prevent one from drinking.

They can really help when you are broke

They can introduce one to other sources of income whenever money starts to get dry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Money is truly intoxicating. I have witnessed so many cases of your who has money and disrespect the elders because of it and in the end, they end up blaming themselves cos the source of the money stopped. Savings can actually go a long way, we shouldn't eat with our ten fingers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Money corrupts those who allow itself to be corrupted, who unfortunately are not few. I have seen entire families fight over money and it is quite disgusting. Friends betrayed their peers for a little money, even marriages lose everything because of greed. Money is not everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More is coming from where I got this

Actually this is also my mistake that I regret. Honestly I thought my earning will he consistently high but then one day, it was changed and I haven't saved any since I believe everyday, the money I am getting will still be the same amount as tomorrow.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

When i joined noisecash, i made similar mistake. I think it happens so that we can learn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh well, I get it now 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly money intoxicates and what we can do is to prepare ahead when we have the money. Invest with the money you have because no one knows what will happen tomorrow. The money you have today can make you run away from your friends and puts into you pride. So, when this happens, such person may not be able to control his money specially.

Learn how to use your money wisely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A yoruba adage says 'Eni to ba bere ona, o Le sina' which means he who asks for directions will never get lost. It's very good to ask for advice so that you won't do the mistakes of others that have gone ahead of you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Money has power indeed oo. Its surprising how your friend that you used to eat together, after he makes money he suddenly does not know you again. Wisdom is needed with money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that money gotten deceitfully cannot be spent wisely. People who suffer the rain and shine cannot spend the money they are able to gather in sweat lavishly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We just can't do anything in life without savings which is the best way to start our lives

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The problem with all those young boys with lots of money (the yahoo gang) is that they don't know the value of money. Some of them got into fraud and with in a few months, they already got some millions.

People like that end up wasting the money because they didn't work hard for it and so they don't attribute any value to it. Their mentality is "I can always get more clients and collect more money", until they end up in prison.

I know my circle of friends and they are people I can work it, I have already taught them how to fish BCH 😆. It's not bad if all of us make it tomorrow, there's nothing sweeter than when you and your circle have money, case study; Obi Cubana

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can see a clear vision of your future, and it would be great because, at a young age, you already think like an adult and knows how to filter the good from the bad. Money won't make us happy and rich, But good experiences and memories will. Being humble is what will make your money last longer, in case you have much in your acct 😅 but if you lavishly spend them without thinking about the future, they will surely disappear like bubbles in the air. So stay humble Valour 😉 and hope we can still be friends even when readcash closes.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Thanks for the vote of confidence ate. Sure, it's a forever thing not just on readcash. We're friends forever 🙏💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At that age, youth want to earn more and more money but one thing we need to adopt and that is saving. I am just 20-year-old but I am following this habit because my father always said to me to use money as much as I can but don't waste it because it's not easy to earn but we waste it easily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

👏👏👏👏 nice one you forgot to add one important one that is peculiar to us in this Country which is have rich friends 😹😹

But jokes apart young people should cultivate the habit to save because the future is no longer next year it is tomorrow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have this thing so called pride and it's as high as the mt.everest because of that I only have few friends for I look done to people below me. But now I changed for the better I'm more with my sorrounding rather than being with myself all day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

saving money is one of the best financial habits someone can adopt. But, some guys I know saving money doesn't come easy for them, they spend lavishly without thinking of saving and they also believe more will come from where they got this... Which is one of the mistakes you mentioned

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree,Money can change the person's attitudes rapidly which can leads him to certain damages. Nothing stays forever so if you have a lot of money today, it doesn't mean that it will last forever. So develop a habit to save something for rainy days and stop being proudy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I adore you HB for knowing better at such a young age. I believe your future is bright as long as you don't deviate from your guiding principles. I wish many will heed the above and do the same :)

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I won't deviate from it. Thanks a lot farm girl.🙏💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome! You're amazing indeed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just what we are earning from readcash and noisecash alone can make us turn into something else. -- it's the other truth, the money earned here can make a really young person begin to misbehave and show himself out there if he or she doesn't have the required self control and discipline.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is one thing to know how to get money, it's another thing altogether to know how to manage wealth. That's what most Nigerians youth lack; wealth management skills,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The experience the older folks have cannot be bought with money. <-- This is so true. no matter how we are the older ones experience is still much better than what we know. so learn to respect their wisdom and be humble always

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice article, this will serve our Nigerian youths well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you sir. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Money isnt the root of evil, the love of it is. You cant tell me you dont want money, but you work morning till night. We shouldnt lie to ourselves just learn to control and discipline your money management skills. That would help in the longterm!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right Oikawa. So many people do forget the "love of..." part in the bible. They only go with "money is the ..."

$ 0.00
2 years ago