David still kills Goliath

10 47
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

I have a friend who always believes he doesn't deserve what he has. He says he is only lucky to be what he is and kept saying every other person is better than him. I can understand the reason why he was saying such, the pressure from home and when things that you don't expect are happening suddenly, you tend to undermine the little effort you put into that project. It feels like a dream, then you go into denial and if you are not careful low self-esteem.

We were to go to a competition and we ended up in the same group (My friend and I). While I try to encourage the other members, he discourages them. Though that isn't his intention but by constantly stating his fears he was doing that. His focus was on our shortcomings, what the other groups have that we don’t. The fact that he was my friend made me tolerate the constant complaints negatively but I knew it was a matter of time before I ran out of patience. Out of over 30 groups competing, we'd be 27-29 on paper. The odds were against us but I pretended not to care. If I start fidgeting or develop cold feet before the tournament starts, then we are doomed.

After the first round, the ranking came out and we were second on the log alongside another team( one of the pre-tournament favourites). The first was not an underdog per se but was not expected to be top of the log after the first round. I was happy and saw that as enough motivation to change my friend’s mind and give him the push he needed but to my surprise, the fear in him intensified. He kept on saying things like -

"What if we lose the second place?"

"We are second just because this stage was easy, we will go down in the next"

"It’s luck, not our effort"

At this stage, I've had enough. I spoke to our lecturer and I decided to remove him from the group. I knew it will cause a strain in our relationship but as the group leader, the greater good of the group is paramount. He pleaded and I succumbed.

The next stage was tough but we managed to maintain the second position, and in the process reduce the point gap between ourselves and the first on the log. With joy and happiness, I went to the other group members, but lo and behold my friend was crying and telling them we will be embarrassed in the next stage. That was the last straw that broke my camel's back. I spoke some harsh words in annoyance and kicked him out of the group. Do I regret what I said? YES. Do I regret kicking him out? NO.

We went on to win the competition but my relationship with him was never the same again and I painfully watch his decline ever since. Partially blaming myself and sometimes accepting that his downfall was his doing and not in any way my fault.

The End!.

When it comes to business, life, academics or whatever, underestimating your opponent or counterpart can be one of the quickest ways to lose a battle or challenge. That's why it's so important to be aware of what you're up against and to never take your competition lightly. At the same time, having doubts about your ability and calling your victory "just luck" can be brutal.

The only way to win is to give your all, and never back down, in case you lose, you will have a guilt-free conscience. You will know you gave your all and not just a bit.

As a member of a group, it's important to remember that you always have something to offer. No matter how big or small the competition may seem, there's always room for a little bit of input from you.

When you go into a battle, make sure you respect your opponent. Remember, David still kills Goliath today. And if you're going up against someone who you are higher than in rank, it's going to be a tricky fight. You need to be careful and strategic if you want to come out on top. Do not underestimate your opponent.

With so much stacked against us, it's tempting to give up before we've even started. But that's not we should do, champions don't quit. Go into each battle with respect to your opponent, knowing that you have a chance to win.

And that's the message I want to send out to all my readers. No matter how big or strong your opponent seems, always go in with the knowledge that you have a chance to win. Because, as history has shown us, the underdog always has a chance.

Thanks for Reading! ✍ 💚👍

19
$ 4.16
$ 3.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Xakia
+ 12
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

In every competition, all is tested and tried and that is when your strength is measured.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow....I've heard of cold feet and fear during competitions but your friend's own is just out of this world. I really hope that he gets to change in life else he'd have a hard time.

Anyways, congrats for another win in the bags.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would definitely say you did the right thing kicking your friend out because he is a pessimist and can spread to others if not carefully watched over. Such a person already concluded failure and having such individual in a group will really affect the others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a kind of Feelings of inferiority, to me, I think he should stop and rather be thinking positive about his life,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suppose the guy is a pessimist, or he doesn't believe in himself. These can be due to deep rooted psychological issues that he doesn't even know he has.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should learn never to underestimate anyone. And add self- believe in whatever we do.

USA was disgraced in Vietnam despite Vietnam being the underdog. Russia was sent out of Afghanistan despite it's superiority.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Underestimating yourself that you can't do it won't literally help you win but we need to fill ourselves with positive words and don't call our victory mere luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very knowledgeable. And words of wisdom.

That life for us. Why underestimate your opponent when you never can say what such person has in store.

It's best to give it our all and them be happy with ourselves even if we couldn't accomplish our goals

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well said brother

$ 0.00
2 years ago