Breakfast at Night.

31 80
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Hey, it's been long I've wanted to have this conversation with you. We haven't been so lucky to have a heart to heart talk. I keep on pushing it and hoping someday you'll bring up the topic but you didn't. Better I put it all into writing, that way I can talk about anything without being interrupted or getting drowned in your alluring eyes. I can't remember when exactly I fell for you but I know the love I have for you is incomparable. I love you to the extent that it hurts.

It was hard asking you the question that has always been on my mind but when I finally did I felt relieved. The fear of rejection and possible strain on our relationship made me bottle my feelings for you for years. I watched you go out with other guys and I pretended not to care while I weep in my closet, hitting myself for not being "Man enough" to talk to you. Maybe it's in the way I was brought up. I no longer care when my friends call me Nerd, Coward, weakling and other names. I know they aren't lying because truly, that's what I am.

I didn't know why you are so different, talking to ladies has never been my problem but with you things were different. Anytime I look into your deep blue eye I lose all confidence and all words I've practised fly out of my head. I hated myself for being a slave to your beauty and your carefree attitude. But I'd be lying if I say I don't enjoy being enchanted by you.

Okay, back to the day I popped the question. I was relieved that I've finally spoken my mind but sad because I know things would never be as they used to be. I saw the fire ignite in your eye but I didn't know whether to be happy or sad. You smiled and asked since when have I been in love with you but I replied that it's been long. You asked for time to think about it. You said 48 hours should be enough. That was the longest 48 hours of my life. I started having doubts and I feared the worse. I can remember writing a long message to you. The longest I have ever written. Telling you it was a momentary loss of concentration. You shouldn't take my words as a serious one, it's all joke. After pressing the send button I knew it's a big mistake. I'm back into the tiny hole of despair I thought I'd left. You said we are still friends and nothing can destroy our friendship.

We continued our friendship and things were back to how they used to be until the day you challenge me and asked why I didn't wait for a reply before backing out. Over a year that it happened and from nowhere you asked me that question. I stuttered trying to give an excuse but words didn't come out. You smiled and started another conversation to cover my blushes. I know you were trying to save me from further embarrassment. So thoughtful of you!. We continued our friendship but I knew it was more than that. We became inseparable, your voice became my medication. Without hearing it a day, I'm at risk of visiting the doctor. A certain night I took up the courage to ask- "What are we?", and you sounded hurt and shocked. You ask me to do the right thing and that was how our journey began.

At some point, we both started having doubts. You were afraid it won't last, you will end up hurting me while I was afraid that I'm not good enough for you. You're just so perfect in everything, you're intelligent, smart, beautiful and cheerful. You never let any situation or problem break you. Instead, you march on with determination to succeed more than before.

The situation might have separated us, and our chats reduced to “hi”, I still love and cherish you. I’d want no other person to walk the journey of life with you than me. I want to go Grey with you. Walk down the beach with a stick in hand, watching the young lovers while we reminisce. I know we will have times that doubts and fear will come in like we are experiencing now. We will have one misunderstanding or the other but my love for you will never go dim. Love you.

The End!

 

So valour, that was the write up I drafted and planned on sending to her the next morning. I wanted to send it in the mid-night but I was served breakfast at night. I checked her status and there it was-  a video of a guy kissing her. She captioned it with so many love emojis. I couldn’t sleep that night. I had a problem breathing. I wept like a baby and it was as if my world has tumbled. Today I womanize and do so many things I wasn’t doing before due to that breakfast.

Guess the most painful part Valour. I try to hate her but I can’t, the last time I saw her, I felt exactly the same way I felt the first time I saw her. She has moved on with so many other guys but my heart hasn’t moved away from her. She’s my greatest weakness. I kept my letter to her secret for years and anytime I read it, it reminds me of the most painful breakfast ever.

Thanks for Reading! 💔💚😭

The term "breakfast" is commonly used here in Nigeria to replace the word "heartbreak". Once someone says he/she has been served breakfast,
it means someone jilted them.

I thought I won’t be able to publish an article today, and my “An article a day streak will be broken” but while complaining about it, a friend offered to give me a write up he wrote many years ago to his ex. And asked me to publish. All earnings from the article will go to him (Subtracting the amount spent on tipping comments and the mandatory percentage that goes to the site). Thanks for the help and I hope someday you will give writing on readcash a chance.

11:56pm | 18-11-21

 

28
$ 12.75
$ 10.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 23
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

This is sad. Your friend should definitely start writing here. I'd look forward to more of his letters then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know, why it's breakfast. Thanks for the new information you have shared. You are really good in making titles. A round of applause for you! That's so kind of you to help your friend. Keep it up and keep safe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's the last thing i do after typing an article😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Breakfast is for everyone my brother. The best way to skip it is to stay off it's trial. But can one actually stay without relationship? A big No! Unless you're lucky enough to get married to FIRST LOVE . Your friend this event happened to really felt it🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your friend's words are very tender and reflect how in love he was with that girl. A bit sad the end of the story. It often happens to many of us that we rehearse words and draw a speech and that person appears who makes us stutter, say what is not, or simply say nothing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovi, Lovi...the write-up is cool...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch ouch ouch!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn, nothing hurts more than seeing the person you love smooching someone else and even uploaded it on social media!

Well, the guy had himself to blame for nothing holding on to her, he belittled himself by thinking he isn't good enough for her, and that was when he lost her

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the first time I have heard of this slang. I was quite happy to learn something new today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo!! May we not collect breakfast ohh🤲🤲

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When i got this notification I thought you had a breakfast at night as in the first meal. But bro! You just hand me a another meaning of breakfast. Your a great writer! When there is love there is always pain yeah its like they are twins.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks😂.. It's a popular slang here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, the journey of love is not easy it takes only the strong, wise and determine to work it through

$ 0.00
2 years ago

By the way, I know enough people who don't give up on an exhausted relationship just because they haven't found someone better yet. But until we are free of previous relationships, there is no room for new love!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo, the guy is at fault though, when she already ask her out and waiting for a reply, why did he back out? He f**ked up sha but make he move on ooo, cos girls plenty outside there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They stated dating each other after she asked that question. But the girl still decded to serve him breakfast

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mad ooo, girls sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a great composition. You are meant for the top. Your choice of words is unique. You made writing simpler. Great of you. Keep it up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know the feeling, sometimes they are so people you just can't hate. No matter what they did in past. The heart meltdown when you see them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww, why this is so sad 🥺 I hope it's not your story eh? But someone is talking to Valour, so maybe a friend?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It isn't mine ate😂. It's a friends story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A that's a sad story coming from a happy guy. I felt the pain. I had that before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do blame guys who keep long to tell a lady how they feel and when they want to or finally do thy will be served with disappointment then what else do they expect? that the girl will be waiting for them or what, they are to be blamed for every one of their actions cos women are like ripe mangoes that attract many eyes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love? Pain? Nah! They are twins. I hope the guy will heal soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned another usage of the term breakfast. Just wow! And is this true to life bro?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is this fiction or real? Seems like Valour knows a lot about love. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww.... damn! I was really rooting for the guy. Anyway, love is love is love. I think it's better to have loved and lost than not to have loved at all regardless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guy this is so beautiful I could feel every emotion in this article like 🥲… abeg this is wonderful .. love can hurt so bad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love it. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I saw breakfast at night, I thought you were just eating your 1st meal this night not knowing is about heartbreak of a friend. Na everybody go chop am, na him turn with time he will be healed

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes o, life na turn by turn

$ 0.00
2 years ago