Playing with ink

49 70
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

I got to draw again! I'm not really done with it yet since I only give myself 2 hours to draw these days because I've been quite busy ;-; I've been itching to draw since yesterday. And today I just couldn't help myself. I decided to post this sooner then sleep before a certain someone catches me still awake ;-;

So here goes!

For this random sketch, I decided to make a fanart of alastor from hazbin hotel. I loved the pilot episode but it's sad that the animation was never continued

While my mom was cleaning up, she found my old bottle of calligraphy ink on the shelves so I thought to play with it for a bit. It was surprising to see that it didn't dry up too

Working with ink is actually just a series of adding it drop by drop. Way different from watercolor where you can easily mix the water to paint ratio but same concept on application, lightest shade first

I was... in a rush to maximize the 2 hours I gave myself to draw.. so I couldn't take photos bit by bit. And I don't think I can provide much guides here because, in the end, it's based on my imagination (like what @heartbeat1515 wanted to see somehow) since it's a fan art. (Ignore my bears, they watch over me while I thesis :"D)

Then I penned alastor in. I am way too sleepy to fix my proportions so I just went with whatever. I'm not really done with the shading but my pen ran out of ink so I'll need to get a new red one tomorrow ;-;

I found a gel pen in my pencil case, actually and I used that to give alastor's shadow (inner demon tbh) an ominous glow/aura that would match the darkening ink layers but since my 2 hours are up. I will continue this tomorrow and upload the finished piece in the fanart corner community :")

33
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Nice work

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 😊😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome 🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woooooow! That's cool! I wish I could also do that kind of art. I'm not that good at using inks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't used ink since highschool 😂 wish i could've finished this in my 2 hours drawing time though :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! You haven't used ink since hs but you can still make something cool like that. Your hands sure can remember how. Ink sure is very difficult to control

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not really hard? It's just like with water color, only, it dries faster and the color is way too solid so it's almost impossible to blend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cool! I know using ink is a bit harder than other medium, right? You need to be very cautious in applying as well as the control in volume of the ink because one wrong move will ruin the drawing. Good for you, you were able to use it neatly 😊😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very ;-; that's why i only add ink in drop by drop, same with how I play with gel pens since i didn't have colored inks anymore. Those were the ones that dried up ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woah. You're talented! It's not like what I see on a daily basis but they're goooood! Keep on drawing and doing what you love!❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^ but i still need to finish it. There's not enough red to make it look evil

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice art as always I can't wait to see it tomorrow when it is completed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @Princesstj ^-^ I'll make sure to finish it first thing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you are an artist too? Great! That looks pretty cool if you ask me. I love it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww thank you! I've been dying to draw for a while now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's very clear why. You have the talent and it looks really amazing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would rather call it a developed skill now since it was gained through practice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think hard work alone is enough to be that good. You need a talent to work on and hard work to evolve. Well at least that's my opinion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not really? I know a lot of artists from my old artist groups who sucked when they first joined but they got better when they learned the technicalities of each medium and the basics

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't argue about arts because i really suck with that. So i will just go with your point haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never too late to learn it though ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish...There is really none to learn from really. I don't know people who are good with art around me to learn from.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well i could always teach you through articles?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? I'm fine with that but do you think it can work? That's going to be hard i guess haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice one..I admire people who has so much talent in arts..be waiting for the finish product

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm guessing this is n anime... It looks interesting, I should watch this! you have hands of an artist. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well not an anime, it's just a youtube series that never continued but it's good. Not child friendly at all but still good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh... I see... so it's not done yet? i mean it hasn't ended yet?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, they only aired a pilot episode then nothing after

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh that's sad if the series is good. I'm having second thoughts now on watching it hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Would still recommend it even if it's just one episode. Kinda hope they'd continue it if it got more views

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hmmmm You have a point... okay I'm convinced again haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, there's so many talented here in read cash.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the praise ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You all are fulfilling @heartbeat1515 her wishes? 😄 This must be her lucky day.

Fast or not it looks good. Here some donuts for your good mood. 🍩🍩🍩🍩🍩🍩🍩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She made me laugh out loud. Thank you @hanzell and I do not need a lot of drawing tips for the community as long as there is one. You already gave me the important one. If you gave me ink for the drawing will use it like watercolour, can you imagine how my drawing would look like? 😅😅 that is the main reason emphasize on giving tips in the community.

See your imagination is not bad. Maybe I can expect a drawing of me next? 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oof why laugh? :"" I tried using ink like watercolors when i first tried it out. It was so messy so i stopped using it for a while. I only tried it again when i met people who knew how to use it and based off there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I laughed because I am happy that you took the challenge to draw from your imagination only. You did not use picture for guidelines, and your drawing still looks amazing as always.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wanted to draw that bad :"" my manuscript was using up too much brain cells so i escaped and did a quick draw 😂 it's needed in my life

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 escaping to read.cash is what I always do to when work uses too much of my mental and physical energy. What is a manuscript? You have been working on that for a while.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely escaping here. My brain needs chill and cool people like yourselves. My final thesis manuscript. I still have so much to revise but it's due on the 31st. After that I'll be freeeee

$ 0.00
3 years ago

31st this month? Next week? Good luck. Do your best as it is in your drawing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, it's so close yet I'm not wven halfway there yet ;-; so i need all that luck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You don't need luck actually. You just need a little bit of passion. Try thinking about it this way, "Of I finish this quick, I will have my freedom sooner".

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She wanted me to draw from imagination so there's no harm in opening up to that idea

Yayy i get donuts again 😊😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago