Low acid coffee for me

21 78
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

I’m pretty sure some of the people here already know how much I love coffee 😅 so much that I’ve written about it before (you can check here: Getting to know your coffee), and nothing is gonna stop me from writing about it again!!!! 

The thing is, my coffee is actually limited to iced coffee and cold steeped coffee. Why? Well, simply because it’s less acidic compared to hot brewed coffee. Normally, hot brewed coffee would have a pH of 4.5-5 and that’s already pretty acidic. But what about the fact that you take it every day? That’s already enough to upset your body’s pH balance and the next thing you know, you have acid reflux, and eventually, you might develop acidosis if you combine it with a highly acidic diet.

Source

My sisters are already experiencing acid reflux and to lessen the stomach irritation we’ve been talking about starting a mini cold brew station at home. Sadly McCafe is the only commercialized coffee place that offers cold brew but that’s simply because they rarely serve hot coffee when their market target is people in the teens to young adulthood. Those who have a preference for cold drinks compared to hot ones since it’s easier to consume while on the go. There’s very little adaptation towards low acid coffee tbh. 

Anyways, back to the main topic (I may have made a pretty far segway 😅😅😅). 

What makes coffee acidic? 

Besides the fact that coffee is naturally acidic since it has a number of antioxidants in its composition. Organic acids in your cup include Here are the nine main coffee acids: chlorogenic, quinic, citric, acetic, lactic, malic, phosphoric, linoleic, and palmitic. These are the “good,” acids that you taste with every cup and they’re mostly essentially needed for the diet. Each one of them contribute a certain taste to every cup but the difference in the kind of bean you use and the kind of beans you use

Ways to reduce coffee acidity:

Calcium and eggshells

This part might sound weird because what do calcium and eggshells have to do with this? Well, Calcium binds to some of the oxygen present in coffee. And since eggshells are basically made of calcium, they’re sometimes added to the roasting or brewing process. It sounds weird, yes. But if you are a fan of brewing but the acidity is becoming overbearing, maybe you should look into this method. It’s not such a bad method since the aroma is retained and I know that that luscious coffee smell is what some of us live for. Calcium is also found in milk. That’s why it’s one of the most common coffee additives out there. 

Low-land grown beans

Yes, geography can play a part in this but then sometimes it isn’t because of the actual geography, but more on the soil pH and nutrient constituent in that soil. It would be hard to elaborate this to most people but just think that if the ground is acidic, the plant will absorb that and the acidity affects the fruit, as simple as that. (it’s kinda why Starbucks and highland’s coffee really comes off as highly acidic to me since their beans are grown in mountains)

Cold brewing/steeping

This is actually the main point of this article XD 

Anyways, cold brewing/steeping is basically natural extraction through a solvent. It doesn’t require heating so that eliminates the release of some acids that come from heating. On a comparison between hot brew and cold steep, cold steep is honestly 67-70% less acidic. Yes, it still has a pretty acidic pH of 4.85-5.13 but compared to hot brewed coffee, that difference still has a lot of impact on the human body. Besides, there are earlier mentioned ways to lessen that acidity. 

I also want to point out that this does affect the taste of your coffee. It will have a sweeter taste and it won’t be that aromatic but then some actually prefer this. 


On a side note, the brewing process actually has a lot of debates since yes, hot brew liberates acids but destroys a few other organic acidic components of coffee (That’s why some say over roasting lessens acidity too) whilst cold brewing retains those acids and caffeine so the acidity shouldn’t vary that much since caffeine is also acidic in nature. Idk there are supremacists but I just want to enjoy good coffee that’s fit for my palette so no hate here, just coffee.

 

 

 

 


17
$ 10.01
$ 8.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ewyr
$ 0.10 from @FrieLincs
+ 12
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago

Comments

This was actually a really good read. I'm not really a coffee person - maybe just every now and then. I drink more tea and hot chocolate anyway. But I never actually knew that coffee was that acidic., I only knew caffeine was a carcinogen

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think caffeine being a carcinogen varies on roasting since you know how charcoal from grilled meat are said to be carcinogenic in some studies so it may be that it's only carcinogenic if it's over roasted? But from my side of research, because of the antioxidants in coffee, it's actually an anticarcinogenic agent 🤣🤣🤣🤣 but all of those research are on conclusive. The only sure thing is that those antioxidants + prolonged roasting makes coffee pretty acidic

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh okay. That makes sense

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is my first time to hear that coffe is acidic pH 4.5-5 is pretty acidic 😳

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is 😅 that's why I'd suggest you take foods that balance out your body pH, like lemon water. So you don't get any health complications

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can say na chemist nga ang author nito,hhehheeh. Ako din eh medyo nagka acid reflux na din pero di tlga maiwasan na di magkape eh..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm finding alternatives for my sisters Kasi na acidic and this was my proposal. Madali Lang Naman mag cold steep kaso do sya ideal na hot, Yun Lang talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love coffee before. Pro nagstop na ko since nag papalpitate akp jan. Nao mganda coffee sa pinas na low acid? 😅

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Di na sa acidity Yung palpitations eh, sa Caffeine tolerance mo na and if merong may arrhythmia sa family history nyo so I think it's better you try to increase your caffeine tolerance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. I love how you wrote an article about coffee. I remember that you once told me what kind of coffee is healthier and I considered it, thanks to you! 💯 But now, hindi na ako gaano nagkakape, minsan nalang

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Because coffee is love 🤣🤣🤣🤣 And now I'm elaborating more on how to make the coffee less acidic cuz kawawa Naman Yung mga may acid reflux

Okie na din na nagbabawas Ka sa coffee tho, it's not so good to be coffee dependent

$ 0.00
2 years ago

DUDE! YOU'RE TAKING THIS SERIOUSLY HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAAHHAAHAHHAHAHAHA

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ssssshhh I don't need this kind of negativity from you, bro 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well your right if you write about it again cus taking good coffee makes one more relaxed before work.....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that this article would be helpful to lots of people who take coffee daily but in my case, it is something different.

I rarely take it and all my life, probably 4-5 times because it is not something we love to take here generally but I picked points that will be helpful if I eventually find myself in a place flooded with coffee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Andaming chemical terms hehe. But but...I love my 5 cups of coffee huhu

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Omg how do you manage 5 cups??? I go zoom already with just 1 cup 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Caffeine runs into my veins, sis haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also love coffee. But neither my son nor I have reflux problems. We drink coffee 2 to 3 times a day with milk and I drink coffee without milk twice more.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's a lot of coffee OnO your tolerance to caffeine must be high because I'd be going crazy with just a cup. It's good to know that you don't have reflux problems though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It just depends on how strong you are used to drinking coffee. In Venezuela we have very good coffee. And we usually drink it very diluted. It tastes good, not too acidic, aromatic and tasty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago