Flash fiction challenge: Rejection

44 59
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

I never could have imagined myself being like this as a child, but as I grew older I came to trash the idea that love only existed between male and female. Never had I been so wrong in my life. Around the age of 15, I first found attraction with a girl. She was everything I never was and everything I wanted to be. Perhaps it was just jealousy, my mind whispered to myself, perhaps I just wanted to be popular as well but it didn't seem the case because popularity would require me giving up some aspects of my hobbies. I never wanted that.

Oftentimes I stole glances of her as breaks were given in between class. Some times I would look up my friends in the same class as an excuse to see her more. And eventually I came to ask her to be my model for my sketches. She never replied and I passed it on as a joke, but she did know my reputation in arts and she very well respected that. She found out we took the same route home so eventually we fell into the pace of walking home together. The closing distance surprised me more so than anything that's ever happened in that year and I was always ledt wondering if I should be grateful for it.

My attraction for her grew as the days passed by. I saw and embedded into memory much more than she would ever hope for and much more than she would ever know. I was positive then, I was falling for her.

It took me months, maybe an entire year before I ever gave thought to telling her this. Even I was in shock. I needed much more time for this and oftentimes I would climb up on the roof to ask the moon and the aloof clouds for guidance. It never did help but something about the clouds in the night sky always managed to give me peace.

I got from pixabay :")

On the day I resolved myself to admit things that needed to be said, she just looked at me in horror and she was shocked that all that time spent together, such a thing was my motive all along. I was misunderstood and was frowned upon. I consulted to the evening sky once more that night and hoped it would help me this time. It gave me nothing but silence. If silence was the answer, maybe I should stay silent. I nodded to myself and stood on the window ledge. I jumped. And as I fell, I was greeted with the same evening sky that had conforted me in all those times. I'm glad to have seen such a beautiful clouds illuminated by the moon before everything went black.

21
$ 0.35
$ 0.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

You are very creative in narrating your story. I like how you even ended it. Good job!

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

Now you guess if it's fiction or non fiction based 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It could be a fiction based on your life experience.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

Could just be scenarios I've also put in my head as I saw someone pass by

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a good piece by the way. Great job!

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

Such a beautiful piece.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Thank you, mommy 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is this fictional? If no, then allow me to say... I have never faced rejection so don't know what it feels like to be rejected by someone on whom you have nurtured much affection.

"I never could have imagined myself being like this as a child, but as I grew older I came to trash the idea..."

With age, experience and acquired knowledge comes wisdom. As you grew, you knew better.

A good read I must say.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was a mix. I just never came to attempt anything, i just watched. I knew rejection far later on in my life and by the same gender as well. It's much worse to be rejected by the same gender as it gives you a bad image where I'm from. But thank you for the praise ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can only imagine... Your creativity is writing is one to be envied. So the praise was worth it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate that a lot, really but i rarely write outside the scope of art and science. This one is an exception 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good exceptions are welcomed with opened arms.

I hope to read more "exception" from you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I had a few old ones, the ones that I thought of pulling out from my journals and decided to post here when I first started out

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why didn't you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Because there was a lack of diversity here. Needed to see more science and more art 😂 but seriously, i published a few of what i thought were good ones here so you're free to have a look at them if you want to

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay. I will. Pulling out and posting at least one from your journal, bi-weekly or monthly, won't be bad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll give it a thought then

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay. If possible, let me in on your decision

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Only if you tell me your thoughts on the older posts i made before

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay. I will try. I would appreciate it if you can sent the links to the previous posts. You have posted lots of article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A very good writing. Is it for real or just a fiction? 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a mix and a bunch of "what ifs" 😂 though you guess which parts were real

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess your attraction for that girl is the real one. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess so 😂 she was basically one of the idols in my batch though she said only i knew certain sides to her because of a difference in perspective

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's nothing wrong with having attraction to someone at young age. I remember way back in high school when I had my 1st crush to a guy.. lol..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Crushes are never something to be ashamed about. It's only bad if ut gets public and that your crowd doesn't accept a difference in gender orientation

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's humiliating

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed it is

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Though it's hard but we need to turn every rejections into positive. We all experienced rejections from different people but only few of us have mastered in handling rejection.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This was my positive though. I could write about it in different ways and still manage to get the same emotions across. I think that suffices

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have attached attached the invoice for your reference in order for the last three days but I have not received the refund from my bank account or the credit cards for my next contests

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really don't get where you're going with these

$ 0.00
3 years ago

success not always come in way so make rejection as a motivation towards what you aim for.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know if we're on the same page with the idea of rejection here, mam. But i guess so

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In your story the girl your fancied just shocked and frown on what you have said. I think that was you mean in your title rejection. The shock and frown means your aim was rejected, there was no success when at last you have gained composure to speak what inside your heart. If am I wrong in my interpretation then just forget it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is awfully sad for her, I love the narrative.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. To be rejected by the same gender is sadder

Thank you ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago