Primrose: Ch. 2

7 38
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

 This is the first chapter for this series

Primrose ch.1

    Male’s POV

Minor angels such as I were, from the time of creation, bounded to such humans. We had been tasked to protect and watch over them as their souls journeyed through the earth with as many reincarnations as they were allowed before their souls would eventually reach a point of final judgement. It was… quite burdensome, in all honesty. And quite pathetic to see how weak and fragile beings they are. Small illnesses and injuries can cause them their given lifetimes and when their souls need to be reincarnated again, it would be us who would need to guide their souls to their assigned bodies whether we agree with the case or not. I could only hope that the first soul assigned to me wouldn’t cause much trouble. Oh how I truly hoped.

This day would be the day that I was to be assigned to one soul for who knows how long. Oh the joy. Sarcasm coated that thought but it was not as if I loathed these humans, it was just that they never seemed to find peace within themselves and even around them. Chaos would likely be the closest words to describe such creatures, yes. Walking chaos.

I was soon summoned to the grand hall where all angels were blessed with their assigned souls. A minor angel was only ever allowed in these halls for two reasons. One was to be given a soul to care for when they are new or the previous soul they cared for had finally been given final judgement. The second was when a trial was to be held for when punishments were in order. The latter, I never wish to see.

Anyways, the ceremonial proceedings of blessing both angel and soul went smoothly, I only had to do as I was instructed. The soul was a sort of orb; it was warm under my touch. It felt like I was given a small taste of what it felt like to have physical contact with humans. I never knew it was this pleasing… and comfortable. It felt nice. But it didn’t last very long, seeing at how soon I arrived at my destination and how soon I had to let it go. “This being is to be to given a frail looking woman?” my gaze scanned the woman in question. She looked so thin and quite sickly to even be able to carry life but in the end, it was not in my place to question the assignment. I was simply there to guide the soul into its new home, body or whatsoever it was called and watch over it for the succeeding years as it grew. Or so I thought. It was to my dismay when the child never even reached the point where I could see its face or hear the sound of its voice. It was never born, the woman had a miscarriage and how I blamed her for being so frail and careless. I never knew we could feel the same pain these orbs could feel when they exit their given bodies, even if it was only for a brief moment. So here I was, ushering it to a new body, hopefully the bearer of the body would help this little one survive.

Much to my relief, the soul was given to a rather fortunate bearer that seemed to be able to provide for all the care they needed. The both of us felt fortunate, or rather, I was. I could rest assured that I would be able to meet this being soon. Until then, I am to lie in wait until its birth.

Months passed and the child was born! It was a healthy human girl who hopefully will not be a pain in the ass to watch over. And true to my wishes, she was good. It must be the influence of her environments. I suppose I would have to ask others whom have more experience in watching over souls than I but I do hope she continues to stay in environments such as this. It brings my mind peace watching her being this happy. I can see now why the term "bounded to the soul" is often used than assigned or anything else but I still needed to go through the archives for matters on this, just to clarify. The latter seems a better option, I haven’t much company in the past few eons to go about asking anyone.

“The guardian feels the same emotions the humans they watch over experience. The emotion is synonymous towards the term “soulmate” which is so often used by their human counterparts. This linkage is however, merely linked towards emotions, no physical sensations such as neither pain nor pleasure may be shared between both parties” I suppose that was the answer I had been looking for but the question now was to what extent? Although no form of distress has ever been experienced by the soul in question but I do believe at some point it needs to experience such things too.

With a soft sigh, I put the book back in its place and returned to the edge of the clouds where I resumed watching over this otherwise content soul who seemed to be at peace with how their lifetime was being spent.

Centuries soon pass and in those times, I would like to believe I was doing a good job with watching over the soul despite how many times there was grief but it ended rather quickly with a few minor interference here and there such as sending them pleasant dreams in replacement of nightmares they were having or having to save the soul from almost life-threatening encounters they otherwise would have faced. And in those years I grew confident that nothing could go wrong on my watch. And it felt nice that the soul i guarded had only managed to pass due to old age. I was even assigned a new angel to assist out of fear for the new angel going astray. It wasn’t like I minded and the company was certainly appreciated but the young one had a bad habit of escaping into the human realm every so often just to look around. It wasn’t allowed much unless it had to do with their humans.

After a few escape tricks into the human realm, it eventually grew troublesome for me. The little one started staying longer in the human realm; he would grow weak if he kept this up. It even came to a point that I had to come down to get him, and quite honestly, it wouldn’t be an option if I weren’t to be questioned after a few more years of the younger’s stay on land. So there I was, looking frantically for him. Lucky the little angel’s human was somehow friends with mine and lived close by, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to do this so confidently. I had already wasted a good few days on earth in search for that little angel and once I decided that it would be the last day of his search, I tried to use the memory of what the little angel’s human looked like and where they lived. Just running around and observing definitely wasn’t going to work anymore.

Once I had found the area and recognized where my human lived, I immediately made a run towards what I hoped was the right street. Too preoccupied with my thoughts to even bother looking until I bumped into a figure I had come to know so well, my human. She had grown thinner in the last few days and her hair covered her face. Was she alright? She wasn’t responsive... But remembering the mission at hand, I could only apologize, help her up to a stand, and apologize again before retrieving the little angel who had apparently gotten too involved in his human’s life. When I found them, they were in the human’s bed, clinging onto each other as if their life depended on it. I suppose he came to enjoy a human’s warmth as much as any angel did. But this was clearly a breach in instructions angels were given. But I wasn’t allowed to intervene, I could only wait for this scene of theirs to be done with before I drag him back.

“What were you even doing?!? Holding your human so close like that. Is that why you go missing?!?!” Rage fueled me as soon as we were out of earshot of the little angel’s human. I immediately guided both of us back to our usual watching spot and was about to give this little devil in angel’s clothing a lesson and a good scolding when I recalled his frail looking human he had contact with earlier. He needed to check back to her as soon as he could. Something was… off.

I barely had time to catch my breath when a sliver of fear ran down my spine. My human was afraid? But then due to the incident earlier, I hadn’t really focused on my human’s well-being. Aware of the wrongs, I was to return to earth to check up on the girl but all the fear vanished, nothing was left but a void in our connection. The young woman was dead? It was only a speculation and I had never felt this kind of emptiness from the link before. Panic ran over me and by the time I had arrived by the human’s side, all my speculations seemed to have come true. The girl died by her own hands. She jumped off a cliff. I was unaware of what had happened to the human in the few days of my absence. It was my fault. I should have interfered when I bumped into her earlier. Should have asked her what was wrong instead of just keeping the question to himself. All my fault.

I held her cold body as if hoping it would do anything to wake her up. Nothing did. She remained lifeless until her soul finally made its appearance and I was to guide her to her next body. It was all I could do for her at this point.

Here is the next chapter

Chapter 3

7
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Nice.. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woahhhhhh!

That's deep. He lost cncentration and his human consignment died. It's great how you arranged the plot so that the angels can feel and experience the emotions of the humans. It makes it feel very real and wholesome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was meant to be wholesome. My thoughts were still wholesome when i wrote it at 15 😂 i was a bit obsessed with the idea of angels back then. I still need to edit the last 2 chapters of this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, you wrote this when you were 15? Nice creativity. How many chapters does it have?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. It was a product of naivety 😂 it's just 6. The last 2 chapters didn't go that long since it would just go back to chapter 1

$ 0.00
3 years ago