Dark creatures of the Philippines

66 68
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

So I made a promise before to @AngryKoala about writing about the horror creatures/mythological creatures of my country. Since there are so many, I can only go about this by parts, honestly. I hope you enjoy because I had to call a lot of grandparents for some info on these


Manananggal

Photo from google πŸ˜‚

This kind of creature has always been used to scare pregnant women into staying inside of their houses as soon as night comes because this creature mainly feasts on the fetuses inside the belly of pregnant women. Its tongue extends really long and slips into the navel to suck the fetus out of the womb. Its body is able to separate into half wherein the lower part stays on the ground while the upper body was said to have wings like a bat's and that's how it's able to get around

As for how to kill this kind of creature, my grandmother said that you should pour salt on the lower half of the body then burn it, as well as the upper half but doing so seems hard. They also say that religious relics work like holy water and crosses.

While searching through materials though, I did find that this kind of coincided with a Malaysian creature called the penanggal and unlike in Philippine folklore, it actually has an origin story where a woman tried to beautify herself by using black magic but in turn, she has to refrain from eating meat. She failed to do so, however so her wish turned into a curse that gave her this form


Aswang

Photo from google

This creature is the equivalent of shape-shifting creature in other cultures but the difference here is that it can transform into either a grotesque and unusually shaped figure, or to a black dog that follows you around. Which I both described in a short horror write up I made before (A friend pt 2 and A friend) . Its diet mostly consists of human flesh and in some cases, some livestock. My grandmother told me that If a black dog that has this weird stare starts following you, it's better to get it lost because it might be an aswang.

To ward off or protect yourself from an aswang, we use the tail of a stingray (I have no idea why but my granma has that at her house and refuses to throw it away just for that reason), then salt, garlic, ginger and other religious relics and prayers. kind of similar with warding off a manananggal but most mythological creatures here are thought to be warded off by religion

Another addition to this is the origin story it has here. Originally, before the spanish invaded the country, there were babaylan or witches that performed miracles. When the Spaniards arrived, the babaylan tried to ward them off by scaring the Spaniards away. They were said to use black magic which allowed them to shapeshift. But a drawback was that they couldn't change back. They were only able to do so by consuming fresh meat but in the end, it was only a temporary solution. That's why they had to keep consuming live animals, and eventually, humans. Just so they can stay in their human forms. Some stories say that the children of babaylans inherited that characteristic of theirs to shapeshift, as well as the diet so the legend never faded out from history


Tiyanak

Photo from google

The last for this part would be the tiyanak, which is described in some texts as vampires in the shape of infants. Here in the Philippines, It's what happens when a child dies unchristened, whether it was from a miscarriage, stillborns or if the child died from any other reason before the date of christening. It's said that souls of demons take over the body of a child and control it to feast on humans and also livestock

As for how to defeat this creature, My grandmother says it's the same as aswangs but it's better if you do a christening ceremony to also save the soul of the baby that the demon took. I'm not sure how such a thing happens though or if the bodies ever grow older but in some texts, they say they grow, and in some, the child retains the same shape unless defeated


That's the end for this part. I'd love to read about the other mythological creatures in your countries or if there are similarities to the creatures described up there. corrections would also be greatly appreciated because each version varies way too much

25
$ 3.37
$ 3.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Sajib
$ 0.01 from @AngryKoala
+ 1
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

They are all scary😁. Specially the tiyanak.. If it was real and you encounter a cute baby and tried to cuddle it then suddenly Snap! The little creature turned into monster and now feasting your neck.. πŸ˜΅πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely why i don't like babies and why it's a bad idea to randomly pick up babies you see lost in the woods ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha.. You are just so weird... Babies are adorable. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Noo they're so loud and messy and drool so much, and i don't like cleaning up after them unlike with pets, they're always cute

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice, looking forward to the engkanto, tiktik, wakwak, maligno po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have no idea what wakwak is-

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wakwak is like tiktik po eh n with a wak wak wak sound po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh so iba lang yung sound.. weird

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, i think, tiktik po's just a birdy thing n the one giving the warning about the coming of the wakwak after it po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And again, I have to say thank you for this great story. I need to read one more time, its so interesting. Maybe, I will do it before bed time ;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's more creatures though so i still have.. 3 more parts to this? I'm still filtering out which ones are similar and which ones have different names plus the origin story. I'm happy you found it interesting but now I want to know about the mythological creatures in your country!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mythical creatures. Creepy creatures, they all are. But just a myth they are too. They were probably stories to keep children and women home at night. Or have incidence been recorded of recent?

Salt. I noticed that salt was on the list of materials or items used to either of Ade off or kill these creatures. That goes the significance and value of salt as more than just food sweetener. The holy water claimed to wade off demons and other creatures also contain salt.

BTW I have missed reading from you. It feels good to be back.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope, no recorded appearances of these but then they are still popular creatures that do a good job of scaring kids

Salt is kind of a purifying material here. Anywhere, actually. I can't find the reason why, actually even though I've looked up so many texts about it. But not all holy water contains salts, those used here are often just prayed over while a cross is submerged in it

Lol welcome back! I assume you're feeling better now?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It seems that we share the same interests, we both like quirks and mysteries. ha ha ha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What's not to love about mysteries though? They made history amusing for everyone who lived in those eras

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok, I get it. Is this creature very dangerous or there is a bright side in your opinion after researching these creatures?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They look really creepy, I have to say.. And @Angrykoala will be satisfied with your post. I am sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha you are right! I like it very much! I waited for this article and I am happy now :) @Hanzell what could I say? Great job! And great pictures 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not even halfway through with the number of creatures present in my country's folklore

$ 0.00
3 years ago

tiktik is also a type of creature who feast on fetus as they said. I never thought that such story exist regarding that manananggal wants to be pretty.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was scared 😣😣😣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Omg I'm sorry ;-; ahh but there's still so many creatures i wanted to show

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can make an article with the creatures that you need to show

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will but there's really too many mythological creatures in my country because of the rich pagan culture before

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehehe I'm reading this alone in the darkness of my room. I'm scared hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Boii why would you read stuff like this in the dark πŸ˜‚ the title was enough a warning

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i wrote the same topic before. haha. I have 2 parts of this. hehe. glad to know there are other articles like this hehe. it kinda feels like the topic is interesting. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't seen that before OnO should read it too. Maybe you have more insights on the creatures because my grandparents forget too much πŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘ but it's an interesting topic though. Folklore always is

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In our country some creatures exist in myth amidst of some Tribes.. 'Gudrobonga' and 'juju'... There is a horror program held on every Friday night at our county's Fm radio named 'Bhoot fm'..whoever experience horror activities share their experience through radio on that program ..there i heard about these two creature..i am good at story telling..i have narrated 'juju's story' on my friend circle and they literally got chilled..i am not so good at writing otherwise i'll share it here..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I had no idea horror radio stations still played. There used to be something like that here but it was changed to a romance station for reasons. But i want to read about your story too!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Geez these creatures are really scary mehnn and I like the history behind each of them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, though their history is mostly based off Christian beliefs and black magic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow,this story is amazing and nice to read

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not a story though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

OMG, those creatures are scary and ugly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes and much much uglier in movies πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

but are they real or just folktales

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not sure? Provincial people say some are true, here in the city we all solely believe them to be folktales

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ok, but you can make research on that right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did but no physical proof of their existence

$ 0.00
3 years ago

that means they are just tales

$ 0.00
3 years ago

okay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hun...the movie is gonna be horror

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope, the locally made ones don't even look scary, they just look ugly and deformed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ok, I see

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those mythological creatures are actually ugly. Anyone get a good cry of horror.

I don't have anything written about scary beings here in my country. I will try to find stories to share sometime.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True true, they're even uglier when depicted in movies because of the exaggerated effects

Ohh I'd love to read about those! Where is your country though? If you don't mind me asking?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I prefer to see beautiful things in nature. A horror movie with those images, and enlarged, what a horror! I couldn't sleep thinking about that, hehehe.

My country is Venezuela. In the Venezuelan countryside there are many stories. I never stopped to ask and write about those scary stories.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh so you're not much of a horror fan, i see. I honestly find movie adaptations of these creatures way too funny than scary, actually

Ohh I've never heard of any scary stories from there before. If you could write an article about those creatures soon omg! That would be really awesome to read

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I prefer spiders, toads and frogs and others. They scare me but little.

Yes, I will try to find the scary stories to write them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They're too cute to be scary though? Or maybe it's just how i perceive them

Thank youuu! I'd appreciate the time you'd take to write that 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think 'Tiktik' is the one lurking to pregnant women who has long tongue to stick and eat the baby the one with sound "Kik kik kik kik", not sure though now I am confused lol πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know? My granma said that manananggal and tiktik have the same diet but tiktik was a kind of combination between manananggal and aswang. But I'm still reading on what makes them different πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaaha tiktik has long tail, while I think mananangal eats the laman loob esp The heart same with aswang but anyway they are all the same carnivores πŸ˜†πŸ€¦

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Orz definitely way too many versions of each creature. Too much confusion 🀯🀯🀯🀯🀯

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha maybe you know stories have different versions, here in our neighborhood it has rumor that we have neighbor who is manangal, and every midnight it seems like he passes by in our roof top πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just based on what all my grandparents told me and on searches from the internet (mostly grandparents stories though πŸ˜‚) how would you even know who is a manananggal 😯😯😯

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My husband and inlaws told me, it was his friends grandfather. He was old yet he is still strong, but look so pale. His house is messy and has dark aura, it has a big tree, the rumors is he will hide his half body on that shady tree on top. Don't know if its real since it's rumor only, but my husband has story the old man saw him going home late, when he doesn't see him that time, he is playing invisible lol.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's kind of a weird rumor to spread around your area, actually. But then maybe you guys could go and observe if it's real or not one of these days

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I don't mind so much about other people here, as long as he doesn't harm us he can be as mananangal as he want πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My grandma also tried using these on scaring us and make us sleep early at night. πŸ˜‚βœŒοΈ Thank you for sharing that in here, and hopefully some users from other countries will learn about it. This will be an interesting article to them. Can't wait to the next part.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think you mostly know about the other creatures we have here. I need more grandmas to ask about these kinds of creatures ;-; they all tell different versions of each creature in the end

$ 0.00
3 years ago