The pen is a great weapon

24 43
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: About an object
Date:Monday, 6th of December, 2021
Day 10 prompt:About an object
Published by: Greatwolfman

I'm supposed to write about an object and I thought to myself - "what would be the perfect one to write about", there were a lot of honorable mentions like my Guitar, my bracelet, the TV remote, and others but the most unlikely, my pen.

The pen is indeed a deadly weapon when in good hands, and No, it is not what you think, I'm not referring to John Wick, I'm sure you remember the legend of the boogeyman, where he killed people in a bar with a pencil. That is not the type of deadly I'm referring to though, it's more metaphorical than literal.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsors 

The evolution from pencil to biro

The educational system makes us start with pencils (pen with lead) before advancing to using biro (pen with ink), the reason behind this is that it is easier to erase mistakes with pencils than a biro, this is necessary to improve penmanship, although it didn't work for me because my writing isn't very "legible". I once read a post that stated this fact as it applies to life, as we grow older, it becomes more and more difficult to correct the mistakes we make.

Means of expression

There are some words you can't utter when given the means to do it, not because you don't know how but because you can't transfer those thoughts to words. A lot of students go through this without even knowing, ask them to define a particular term and they won't, but give them pen and paper in the exam hall, the word will flow through their hands to the paper.

This is why teachers encourage their students to write notes or jot down because it helps the brain assimilate faster than just seeing and listening.

There are some emotions that you find very difficult to express, but when you try writing it down, it just flows like a river, the use of a pen can't be fully justified.

Exams partner

It's my job to remember what I have read and it's my pen's job to put it down, sometimes it has to work faster than usual to keep less I forget, it also has a chewy cover that I can bite on to process my thought and it wouldn't mind, very selfless that one.

It's important to also have a backup though, you never know when one might decide to go on a break when it can't keep up.

Great fighters

Oh yes, when I was younger, the only reason we bought sophisticated pens with our lunch money was to win battles, and my oh my was it fun. Now that I look back at it, I find it was one of my most cherished childhood memories.

[Image Source]

We would find a flat table, everyone will position their pen on the table in whatever position feels okay and then each player would be given turns to flick their pen to hit other opponents, the last pen on the table wins.

If you are not familiar with this game then you didn't have as much fun as I did. Of course, this meant we always had to disturb our parents all the time for money to buy pens because after taking so many hits in battle, the pen will just refuse to write.

The pen is useless without the master

Of course, as cool as the pen is, it is useless without the master- You. You need to tell it what to do (unless of course, it is to stop writing well, they decide that on their own).

Being a master comes with its own responsibility, you need to decide what to put down on a paper and also consider the thought of the people who will read it, because just as good as a pen can bring joy and happiness to someone, it can also bring pain

It holds memories and stories which can be used for good or bad

Have you ever just looked at your pen and wonder - "What stories do you have to tell"?

There was a popular movie production I grew up watching, The Wale Adenuga Production(WAP) here in Nigeria, there is a popular quote they always say at the end of any of the movies.

"We are just pencils in the hands of the creator"

This just means even though we are the ones using a pen and paper to pass along a message, we are still tools from a higher power, but it's still up to us to use this power for either good or bad.


A pen in the context doesn't have to be a physical pen but anything that you can use to express your thoughts, from painting, carving, writing, or even typing, they are all forms of expression.

We all have the ability to express our innermost thoughts and desire, so in a way, we are all writers, if you are here on read.cash, then it means you have found yours.

Lead Image Source: Unsplash free images

13
$ 3.79
$ 3.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @nomadghada
+ 8
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: About an object

Comments

I always carry a pen co'z I am student and it is neccessary to carry pen always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I carry a pen with me majority of the times. I also feel like its one of our friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The strength of a pen cannot be overly emphasized as it does a lot of wonders. Like back then in my secondary school education, we usually feared the red pen because of the kind of damage it is capable of causing especially when it's yob didn't write well in an exam hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me of a post in noise where she has a lot of collections of colorful pens understandably so for she is a student. I may have had more than two pens then and some pencils when I was a student. However, nowadays, they were replaced by phones and keyboards. I still write some things like jotting down notes and a passwords lol! Indeed, words can be powerful tools. Use it to benefit yourself and others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, when fela anikulapo kuti was alive, he sang a song regarding men in authority and said that " if gun could steal 20million naira, then pen would steal 20billion naira", which suggests the strength of what the pen can do hahahahaha...great article my dear. Just keep it up ok cos you are really one of my great mentors here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pen is indeed a great warrior. Warrior of a great battle that determines educated and non-educated lives

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really mind blowing.. thanks for this article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's hail all the Supreme masters of pen fights. Damn, I was so good at it. And that one, John Wick, the boogeyman who killed 3 people with a pencil, with a 🀐 pencil in a bar.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm hoping when John Wick 4 comes out next year they will show more of the throwback scene where that happened.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I use to love that super story series until I felt I had outgrown it, funny meπŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't mind watching it again, and Papa Ajasko and Company.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love pen, and so if one of my friend borrowed it and lost it's like I just lost a friend. My pens are important to me it has memories with me and they helped me with my writing

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am very careless with mine, it is a bad habit I know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goes to show you that you can practically write a write up on a simple thing as a pen when you are a good writer... awesome dude

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm honored, I'm blushing right now as my head is about to explode

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pen can also be said to be words, and words are powerful. Words can build something and likewise destroy it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is why writers should be respected

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pen has power. There have been cases where an investigative journalist published an article and was assassinated and lots more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly friend,,, the pen is mightier than the sword... The sword's power is limited and one directional,,, but the pen had lots of possibilities...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, so much that it can change the world

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I saw that movie of John Wick by using that pen as his weapon.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That was the kill that earned him the reputation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always bring pen whenever I will go because for me pen is like a gun and it should be always in ours.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The pen is one of the greatest weapon of all time

$ 0.00
2 years ago