The Art of writing

34 46
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Art of writing
Date:Thursday, 18th of November, 2021
Published by: Greatwolfman

Writing is a beautiful form of expression, it's a gift to the whole of mankind, we sometimes underestimate its importance but without this great invention, we could as well return to the stone ages.

Image Source : Unsplash

Imagine if the teachings of Jesus Christ or Prophet Muhammed ended with their passing on, or the great works of scientists like Marie Curie, Albert Einstein, or Issac Newton couldn't be documented, of course, it would mean there would be nothing like going to schools (which might not be such a bad thing considering ;-) )

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Do check out my amazing sponsors 

Writing dates back to 3000 BC, it began with the Sumerians, it was one of the first developed cities in Mesopotamia, a fact many people might not know anymore. Be honest, did you know of this fact? You are not alone, I didn't either, I learned it not too long ago while I was taking a walk down history

I realized that there were (still are) a lot of secrets and information we could have learned from the men of old if they could put it in writing. True, they told stories in form of folklores to pass down their knowledge but it would have been more "believable" if it was in written form, there is something so believable about something old in written form, it had to be very important for it to be written if you catch my drift.

Its possible Dragons are not just myth but existed, the men of old saw them, maybe worshiped them, told stories of their greatness, the stories were passed down for generations as the magnificent creatures slowly went into extinction and were no more and soon the truth lived only in stories, stories become legends in folklores and these legends became myth. Think about that?

To this day, discoveries are still made of what remains of the old world and this is all thanks to writing although some of the old texts are difficult to understand. Some might never be deciphered.

Image Source: Unsplash

"Begs the question, if the writings are in a particular language, why can't it be deciphered" - you might wonder.

Writing wasn't always with letters as you are familiar with, the Sumerians made use of Cuneiform, that is, Pictures carved in clay to pass information, the Egyptians made use of hieroglyphics to achieve this same task, the scribes would spend hours trying to write a simple line in the temple on their clay plates, imagine how much effort would be put in just to depict a sentence. Thanks to the evolution of writing, we now how have letters where each unit represents a sound in our respective languages.

Image Source: Quora

Today, writing has become a part of our daily lives. It's safe to say that the majority of the world's population are writers. It can take different forms, either an Article, poetry, or even music.

Writing is simply putting down your thoughts in letters that other people can read. It sounds simple but complicated at the same time. There are a lot of rules involved in the construction of tenses but I say it doesn't matter. If we go back to the initial reason Writing was invented, it was supposed to be able to pass along information, you don't need to be an expert writer to be able to share your thoughts, use the language you are comfortable with in a way you think your readers would be able to understand.

If I didn't care about who would read this article I could have just written everything using cryptography leaving the key to deciphering the code at the top, this might be fun for some of us who enjoy unraveling mysteries but for the majority, they would just skip it which would ruin the very reason for writing in the first place.

Image Source: Unsplash

I hope it's not too late to say Happy Anniversary to read.cash, the idea behind this platform is nothing short of genius. We are all writers but having a sense of purpose and motivation is enough to make us develop this skill that may have been lying dormant within us.

A friend once wrote an article about legacies, I believe writing is the best legacy one can leave. I can only imagine how curious I'd be to read an article from my great grandfather talking about his life and his time, his dreams and challenges among others. Wouldn't you be excited too? This is why I pray this platform lives on to withstand Time and even get a lot better. I believe we can change the world with Writing.

Lead image Source: Unsplash

Plagiarism check

20
$ 4.76
$ 4.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 14
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Art of writing

Comments

Writing is very good. At times when we are afraid to speak to someone directly, we make use of letters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly writing has enables us express a lot and not just that we are more drawn to it because even after writing we feel much better that we did it.. what the pen can do is a lot than just words or speech.. this topic is really made beautiful, showed some history then importance then actualization, I loved it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems I have learnt something new from you today as well, I actually thought writing started with the Egyptians but now I know it's the sumerians that started it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing is something which gives opportunity to humans to deliver the knowledge and culture to next generations. I always get amazed to see the old ways of writing to make others understand.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I find it all fascinating, I was going through some of the information that the Romans wrote in scrolls on battle tactics and formations, I can only imagine how much effort was put into it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to write very much. It relaxes me and I feel good when I write something. I have one notebook where I write everything what is on my mind. It is confusing but it relaxes me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's very healthy, I do the same too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best can forget, but the faintest pen can retain an information on paper

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, we have a lot of thanks to give the Sumerian scholars for this invention

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm.. Diaris a lot of knowledge here. Writing is indeed very powerful. The pen is mightier than the sword they say.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmm mightier? I wouldn't say... Unless of course it's given to John Wick, then it transforms into a deadly weapon...just kidding. The pen has power to pass information that would last through ages while the steel sword rusts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Exactly!🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's A whole lot that can be said about writing. As a kid I had so much passion for writing, then somehow I lost that passion. But then for the past 3 years I've been writing everyday and that passion is slowly creeping in

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The more time you spend writing and among friends who love writing the better you becomes, that is what ignites the passion

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we have many inventions that amaze man and many have kept the research and we do go back to them often but i have not seen in school or anywhere teach about the history of writing, i think is one of the greatest cos without it, other knowledge cant be passed to the next generations

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It should be taught in classes before even discussing how to write letters and others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a very interesting subject, dear friend, if language and writing were not discovered, man would never have reached where he is today, and the technology he has today...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I dare say writing is by far one of the greatest inventions of mankind

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The art of writing is such a powerful and creative skill that if properly channeled can bring a lot of good to humanity.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it can be a tool for both good and evil, depends on the holder.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When the mouth can't express the feelings, that's when writing comes in. Writing is a way of expression..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes I amaze myself when I try to write about my feelings, it's like some hidden thoughts are lurking in there that only writing can reveal. It really helps a great deal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The enough history of writing. The Sumerians, the Egyptian the whole story. Wow!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There is still more to learn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is beautiful. Writing has connected us more in this century of ours. Voices can be heard afar via just writing. The evolution of writing plus the technology advancement has reallly help alot in this aspect. Even if a word is writing in a foreign language (not so common lauguage), it's easy to get the details in an understandable language through easy transcription

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very informative piece of yours greatwolfman. I agree with the points you've written above about the importance of writing. Especially about the grammar and language used, as long as we can convey the information we want to share then we're doing great.

Happy anniversary read cash!!!!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, that is the whole essence of writing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the fact that this platform gave some of us an avenue to share our thoughts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm happy I had the opportunity to be on read.cash

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice thanks for this, at least i got some information yeahhhh!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, this is a beautiful write up, I must say I have really learnt something great today.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's good, me too, I've been on youtube trying to learn even more about the Sumerians.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The art of writing is indeed a bliss, perhaps the greatest invention by mankind. .Maybe you would be interested in my article on the genealogy of script? https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/on-the-genealogy-of-script-i-ii-92b3e103 I have always been fascinated in how it started and how it evolved into different lines and "families" of script.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I'm very much interested, I'll be checking it right away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago