Sometimes it's better to let someone go

21 50
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

A story as old as time itself, it's unhealthy to hold on to things that aren't yours. This is a case of knowing the right thing to do but being unable to go through with it.

I told myself I wouldn't write about love since it usually acts as a form of a trigger to my mental health but since I'm already feeling that way, what is the worst that could happen?

Exactly 1 year ago around this time, I was still in a toxic relationship even though at the time I hadn't realized it yet. My friends advised me to quit the toxic relationship, I knew it was the right thing to do, yet every single time I tried to end it, I found another reason to stay. It got so bad that it was obvious no amount of advice could change me from the path I had chosen for myself. I knew exactly where it was headed and I went on with it.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsors 

Hello friends, here's an article based on my experience and what life has taught me, you might find some of the things I will write upsetting so I would like to apologize in advance. You might also pick up a free lesson along the way so you won't make the same mistakes I did. I'm glad I made the mistake because I was able to learn that way but I wish I had just avoided it completely so I wouldn't be in so much hurt.

I used to be a big fan of "soulmates" and "love at first sight" kind of situations but everything changed after I met this girl. I saw the red flags but turned a blind eye to it thinking it would change with time but it never did, it only got worse.

I couldn't even focus on any serious thing for too long without this lady coming at me for one reason or the other. Little by little I started to lose my good friends and I still didn't see what was wrong with it. Love (or whatever that was) must be really blind. Even a blind man could see that it was heading to the pits.

One time, I had had enough and needed to stop, so I ended it only for me to fall back into the same old pattern a few days later. What is it about this girl that keeps bringing me back? - I thought to myself.

It was like a drug, once you are addicted to it, you find it very hard to stop and if you eventually manage to do that, the tendency to relapse is always a risk especially if the drug is within sight.

I really did try to let it all go, but my efforts bore no fruits, it's fruitless trying to advise anyone who thinks they are in love. I was self-aware of the damage I was doing to my health but I still stayed anyways. It felt like I was in a prison and I couldn't escape even though I had the keys in my hands.

Everyone has the limits they can take, I had finally gotten to mine, I had to let her go. I had to let it all go. It was finally time to let go of all the toxicity. It took a lot of courage and my mind was already made up. What is the point of being in a relationship when you are nothing but miserable?

It was one of the hardest things I had to do but every day I wake up and I'm just glad I did. At the very moment I ended it, I felt free, like a heavy load had just been released from my weary shoulders. I could smile again, the world just seemed different. I felt like myself again.

If you are in such a situation where you are no longer happy with your partner and every effort you have put into the relationship to make things better remain futile, then I suggest it's time to accept your losses and move on. It's never easy but in the end, it's completely worth the effort. Your happiness should always be a priority.

I will also suggest counseling if you are determined to make it work and you can afford it. There have been cases where counseling helped solve such issues, but there is still a risk of slipping back into old habits. We only live once, in this lifetime, live your life to the fullest be happy.

During my last moments on this Earth, I want to look back and smile, knowing fully well that I lived my best life, don't you want that too?

17
$ 3.97
$ 3.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 11
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Comments

Letting go is the best thing to do when you feel it's not working anymore because holding back only hurts you and your partner. The image of my ex happy and I sad is my cue to closure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must know our worth! We don't have to force someone to give us back what we have given to them. Especially when we know that its already a toxic kind of relationship. We have to let it go, if its hurting us, again and again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter how the situations are we should only close our eyes and let the ones or the partner who isn’t our type or alway gives us toxic we shouldn’t think twice to let them go before it’s too late.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its really necessary to let go of toxic relationships and you made the best decision there fam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such relationships are meant to end, so its better to move on time.Thats good you made the right decision.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did the right thing. Once you are in a relationship and you have tried talking the person and no efforts and everything is just toxic, its best to leave if not you keep hurting yourself the more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Counselling will be better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blind love is akin to slavery: the lover destroys, the loved one corrupts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leave those relationship that aren't healthy anymore, set your self free and live life to the fullest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems I found myself in a similar situation not long ago but when I read a book "The Untethered soul" (highly recommended!) it helped me alot. There's a difference between love and obsessive love. Perhaps the girl reminded you of a happy past moment. Letting go is the key to true happiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love is like a drug, when you take the right pill with caution, you will be a relief, but when you take it with no caution, you will be addicted and it most times lead to the wrong way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Something should be ended and let go. It's hard but it's worth it. I cut out of my life some of people that are not good for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happiness is the best medicine for the life of a person 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right... Happiness is important... Very few things are worth one's happiness...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are correct friend, We must always pay attention to ourselves. If we don't feel joyful, it's the beginning of the end, and it's best to end it and give something fresh and beautiful a chance to happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I swear is I feel I'm writing this article not reading it. Not long ago I ended thesame kind of relationship. She gave me no choice and in my heart I still want her but I don't want to be miserable again. I never thought such thing will ever happen to me. To love someone so deep but is always giving you a negative vibe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should always listen to ourselves. If we feel that we are not happy, it is the beginning of the end and it is better to end it and give the chance to something new beautiful to happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy you were able to make the right decision and end it. Not easy deciding to make such a decision

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right brother, not all friends are worthy friends and taking the all important decision in letting them go is the best we can do for ourselves

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't blame yourself. We give our hearts in all honesty but don't get the same back. Sometimes it is just best to let it go.

$ 0.00
2 years ago