Screen Time, Eyesight and Others

35 91
Avatar for Giddyboy
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Research

Eye strain is the first symptom that you're overworking your eyes. When your eyes feel dry and burning all the time, it's called eye strain. It is best to give your eyes a break if you are suffering from this illness. Long hours spent in front of the computer, desktop or laptop can cause our eyesight to be overused. And when that happens to the eyes, signs can show up such as red eyes, strained eyes, headaches and eyestrain.

Screenshot of my average screen time this week

How do you think screen time affects a person eyesight wise?

I think the truth of the matter is it does influence vision. I’m not saying this as a myth but for many researchers have shown us that it does impact it, because what happens is that from too much use of electronics and other devices, your eyes get strained, and you become very near-sighted. It impacts vision especially at a young age. Because at a young age, your eyes are still developing and getting so used to looking at too many devices causes that development to slow down.

A lot of kids today are becoming nearsighted or even far-sighted; this is because of the amount of time they spend on electronics. You don’t want your child to become nearsighted or even get lazy on the development process because they are always on their mobile phone or watching television. So, this should be monitored by parents and caregivers.

There is no doubt that technology has become part of our daily lives, and we don't realize how much time we spend in front of our screens. Screens have even made it to our bedrooms and to our faces. Phones are set up right beside the bed, and we look at them every night before sleeping. Don't tell me that you've never done that.

Too many screens and too little life. That’s the concern I hear from parents. Their kids are spending too much time on their phones, tablets and computers, and not enough time engaging with the world around them. True, screens are great at what they do: keeping us entertained, informed, even in touch with distant relatives. But it is also true that children’s growing dependency on screens doesn’t sit well with parents. It leaves them feeling worried and guilty because they know that screen time has a darker side.

The problem is the underlying message screens promote. Screens are the purveyors of an enticing but narrow vision of the world, one that reinforces an unsatisfied state of endless wanting. For example, social media encourages users to continually show off their awesome lives through perfect selfies and carefully curated feed of friends who seem to be living glamorous lives.

Kids who spend  a lot of time in front of screens are "more likely to suffer behavior difficulties," according to a recent study done by the American Pediatric Association. While this is encouraging for parents whose children spend too much time in front of the internet, it is also a warning to any company who is planning on building their online video strategy solely on the platform.

We must remember that children are very susceptible to distractions. Just take a look at how many kids stare into the electronic devices and wonder what's so intriguing about it. With that said, it is important to note that electronic devices are not the enemy. In fact, they can be very useful if utilized properly.

Overuse of computers, laptops and other technology has led to strain on our eyesight. Using the computer for long hours can cause eye fatigue, blurred vision, headaches and backaches. Hear are Some tips on protecting your eyes from the harmful effects of screen time:

  • Take frequent breaks from the computer/laptop

  • Exercise

  • Eat foods that are anti-oxidants rich

  • Try not to use the computer near sources of heat or light as this can damage your eyes.

Also, remember to protect your eyes with wraparound sunglasses if you are driving in a hot car without air conditioning. 

  • Wear contact lenses correctly

  • Do not blink when holding the device closer to your face

  • Get enough sleep at night to avoid feeling tired and irritable during the day

  • If you have strained vision, visit an optometrist and let him/her check if there’s a need for glasses or not


There is a saying that ‘The eyes are the window to the soul’. The fact is, your eyes are a very complex organ, and they can be affected by all the external factors: light, heat, dust and smoke. However, what may really hurt your eyes is staring at the computer screens, desktops or laptops for long hours at a time.

Take care of your eyesight. 

25
$ 6.25
$ 5.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
+ 16
Sponsors of Giddyboy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Giddyboy
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Research

Comments

Very useful topic for both children and adults. But though all of us know about these facts nobody is ready to go back. Technology is a big addiction than anything else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too much exposure on the radiation coming from the gadgets isn't really good for our eyes. As for me, I always make sure to have eyedrops to deal with dry eyes. Well, I have a very blurry vision and gadgets are one of my suspects ahhah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We need to serve these gadgets punishments. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The major reason why frequent exposure to screens can cause an eye strain is because of blue light which is emitted from screens. That's the reason why most modern phones and computers now come with blue light filter (or eye care or night filter), this tints your screen to yellow which is much better than blue

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. I see. Thanks. I’ll read more on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Since online classes starts my eye vision started to get blurry haha I even have my eye glasses now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am thinking of going to get glasses for my eyes too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ever since I started blogging and spending more time around the ever bright lights, I never forget to always make use of a glass when I am working. I know I'm too young and probably cute to be having eyes problems. Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It’s a good thing that you have learnt to use glasses.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can attest to that for over the years, due to long hours of spending time in front of the computer because of work, my eyesight is not that great. I do try to take breaks now and then but when you are engrossed with work especially when you are on a schedule, it's easy to forget about breaks.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can try to get screen glasses for your eyes. They cost about $4-$10

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, I'll do that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I monitored my self during this situation most time because I’m a Graphics designer and I use most of my time on computer and phone. Whenever I notice little things my eye I quickly stand up from system. Eye needs to be taking care of normally.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Recently i started experiencing pain while looking at the screen, though i'm short sighted right from time, this recent teary eye is different and i'm trying to reduce my exposure to screenlight.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, these days, with the growth of all kinds of screens, children are very interested in using them, and as you said, they can have destructive effects on their development. Especially cause problems in their vision. When I was a student and my eyes got tired, I learned and did eye exercises, which helped a lot in relieving my eye fatigue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the topic I guess should be read by kids especially. I would also like to add one more thing that if we (as adult) are having excesses screen time then we should use computer glass. I am looking to buy one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right. I am looking to buy one too. I spend lots of time using my laptop because of my projects.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always need to remind myself to take care of my eyes . blogging makes me abuse them sometimes 🙈

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think i need an appointment with the optician.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, nowadays internet is already part of our lives, and it's actually worrisome as many young age are been addicted with their mobile phone. They have forgotten to enjoy their childhood doing some interesting things that may help them grow and develop their skills.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, the internet can also help them grow too. It’s just that they abuse it by overusing it, and we adults let them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gadgets to kids is alarmingly dangerous and yet a lot of irresponsible parents do not care. In fact, some parents use their phone as the pacifier, if the kid cries they give them phone to play or when they throw tantrums which is really unhealthy. Hopefully parents will be educated on its dangers.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. There’s truth to this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Screen time has Effects on our eyesight. If it goes more then 6 hours a day , it can put worst impact on it . Agreed your suggestions that we must keep frequent gaps and intervals between the usage to keep our eyes relaxing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Geez. And here I am, averaging 14 hours per day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🙀🙀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, technology and gadgets are becoming part of our daily lives so we should learn to limit the use of these to avoid eye damage.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They should be used with moderation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You hit the nail on the head because it is precisely the ocular discomfort I am presenting with today. I have been reading and commenting all day here and on noice that I just can't take it anymore today.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Learn to take breaks Ate. Sometimes I go off from both platforms for days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I do. I was writing every other day for several weeks. I'm getting back to writing daily but it's hard on my eyes and body. Thanks for the advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right friend, many children are now addicted to gadgets, especially the so -called mobile legend. The gadget is also important especially in our communication with our relatives and friends who are far away from our place. But there should really be a limit to use

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Excessive use of anything is bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's correct now days from small to big everyone use screen either it is desktop screen or mobile phones it is really harmful for our eyes. many of youngers already having eye sight problems and many more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Even the adults aren’t exempted. My eyesight have been degrading lately. I think I spend much time on my phone and laptop

$ 0.00
2 years ago