Do women take men who do chores for granted?

30 54
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I gave up writing an article already for today because I have been sleeping all day since my phone was down until the evening when some discussion came up about relationships and I felt like bringing it to have a better understanding from the experienced people on the platform.

Let me use the opportunity to wish my Muslim brothers and sister on the platform a happy Eid-al- Fitr celebration, may the Almighty Allah grant us all our heart desires.


Mom called that she would be coming home with a few guests so had to prepare vegetables and wheat, I quickly got to work. I felt bad my phone was down because I would have loved to make a video of the meal so I can upload it on my YouTube.

The truth is that I wasn't interested in the guest, seeing mom again was the inspiration that took me out of the bed. I rushed to get some stuff and started making the meal immediately, it was tiring with the heat but I managed to avoid mom going through the stress when she comes.

They came before I finished, the guests were from her evangelism team and they admired me for cooking and sweating at the same time. Soon the discussion started and one of the men advised me not to let my wife know that I can cook when I am married because she will take me for granted.


I got interested in the discussion and made them understand the world is different from what it used to be, relationships today requires both parties to understand and support one another.

The man made it clear that he was like me when he was young and he assisted his wife with every chore, it got to a stage where she will pretend to be sick, tired, and sometimes even returned from work late just to skip doing those chores. He said he abandoned it and only tend to his kids, he said the act happened repeatedly until he threatened to marry another woman.

A woman among them contributed to the discussion, she said some women do it but not many. The man insisted that you can hardly pick 3 out of 10 and it became a discussion even while they were eaten, too bad the wheat wasn't enough and I wasn't able to eat out of it.

I sat with them and listened to the conversation, they sighted several instances. I was glued to the discussion because my phone was down, at the end they leave but the man didn't hesitate to remind me that a woman doesn't have to see all you can do else she will take advantage of you.


Power was restored when they left, I took my phone to check what was happening online and the man's words came again to my head.

His points don't change anything because I love doing it but being taken for granted is something I wouldn't appreciate no matter how much I love a person. I felt he should have told me in a way that would make marriage look like a war zone to me and he could poison the mind of other young men out there but could he be saying the truth?

I asked mom why she never joined the discussion? She said we all have different perspectives about things due to experience and it would be wrong to allow other views and experiences to ruin what hasn't even started.

She went you get there, you will understand and what's right so just be the person you are.


I ended up making Eba later in the evening for myself with the leftover soup.


Chores aren't meant for any gender and it all started with the fact that our forefathers didn't allow their wives to do other work except the house chores and it became a tradition.

I feel supporting one another should be the goal at home, when the woman is cooking; the man can help wash the dishes. These things make love grow in the family, it is romantic to me that doing chores with one's lover and respecting one another no matter the role they play is important.

Even the kids would learn from it and apply it when they grow, I would love to hear opinions about the topic as well.

Men do you think women take their husband for granted when he does the house chores? Women, please do you have to say about this?

Lead image.

13
$ 4.89
$ 4.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
+ 11
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Women will always like them because they are helping them in their task thereby limiting their works to be done

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why should women underestimate a man who shares the burden of life with himself? They should stay away from men who don't share.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It happens that all the responsibility came on the shoulder of female or sometime male. All the household chores should be shared and done with cooperation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love your insight on this, chores shouldn't be made just for just one person, there's no wrong is assisting your wife to do work. The man in your story lack communication with his wife, he could have called her and spoke with her, marrying another wife won't solve things. And I love momma's silence, people have their different experiences.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That was my thoughts about his case too, he could have just talked things out with his wife so everyone can adjust.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is one of the mistakes men make, or even people in general, communication matters in all we do, if I'm not told what I'm doing is wrong I wouldn't know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The man might be on to something with what he said, but I won't say it's a known fact that women take men who do chores for granted. Yes, there will be a few exceptions, there are women who will do so in such situations but there are also those who will appreciate the man for doing the chores. But I guess if you don't want to be taken for granted, then you shouldn't do the chores everytime, unless it's something you enjoy doing

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I like your point, every woman can't be the same. Being taken for granted can make one lose interest in things, the woman's understanding matters a lot if she has a husband who does chores a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Chores are supposed to be shared and there should be division of labor. The couple should come to an understanding about that. I know a guy who does most of the chores when he is home as the wife doesn't know much about some of it but then the wife makes up to that by gifts and other stuff. I think that's fair. It's not about taking advantage. It's about taking care of each other.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, appreciating one another efforts is a good thing to do but I don't buy the idea of sharing chores. Imagine if the guy only does it part even when the lady is not available, things would be good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most people are not keen on being domesticated but I feel with better understanding and love, they can work around it. We don't have to take advantage unnecessarily but be of help to ease each other from time to time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Being taken advantage of can be discouraging and I think talking things out should sort that out, it shouldn't be about stopping that impact you are having on the home.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, bro.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Chores are for everybody its just sometimes women are better than this and same as with men

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sometimes the woman has more time as well but that doesn't restrict the man from doing the needful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know why society makes people thought of this kind of mindset, workloads evem chores are not base on gender, but still the old generation was used to believed that household chores are for womens, but scratch that mindset men and women can do it, it's not a gender biased, what men can do, women can also.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Women can't do all that men can do and men can't do all that women can do, we have differences and must respect that. Supporting each other is enough to keep the family going.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I admit I am not good in cooking so it was always my husband. Yet I can say that I am taking him for granted. He loves cooking and he loves cooking for me😁. Though other chores it was me or he is helping me. I mean if you taking care the person you love was never a "taken for granted".

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Both man and woman shouldn't be taken for granted and it is great when you have a man that can fill the space for you always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Work is definitely not gender specific because both males and females are equal or at least that's how they should be and I don't see why any sensible woman would look down on a man who does chores.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It shouldn't be gender specific and a lot of things can be achieved if the family chooses to work together in love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mum perspective and yours is completely what I flow with, men makes it feel like chores are meant for women alone and it's so not fair... It should be divided. And yes it really does make love grow when both spouses engage in the house chores. Just flow with the good thought you have, I hope my hubby feels this way too... Lol, me that dinnor kuku like too much work πŸšΆβ€β™€οΈπŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lolz, the chores shouldn't be divided. We just need to fill in every open space when it comes to chores at home, dividing it will create boundaries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! I didn't think of that, this is brilliant, you're right George, dividing it might likely create boundaries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well your mum could be right. For me, chores at home shouldn't be stereotyped. Both male and females should learn how to keep the home. I do the cooking when my wife isn't at home and a times, I ask her to excuse me from the kitchen. There times I would have to clean the bath and all sort. It keeps the relationship, after all, she just a help meet. My take though.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The word "helpmeet" is what the world fails to understand, it is not the same as a slave. I believe only real men do these things because they know the value of a woman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ofcourse not. I myself is so happy with my husband because he was able to help me with daily chores and it's not about gender at all . It your house after all you need to help each other by doing that...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, it is our home and we both have to do the needful to make sure it is clean.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will say I agree with your mum, you just have to be your self you don't need to hide your skills or ability.

I feel chores should be splitted according to each person capability and free time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the contribution, we can just do whatever is available when we are free. It is fun helping each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago