Can Humans Survive without Lies?

44 66
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I am sure lies are not one of the things the world was built on but it has become something we can't do without as humans. It has gotten worse to the extent that people don't care about the environment or the people around them before lying, they just go on telling heavy lies without caring if it would backfire at any point in life.

There are times I wonder where every human conscience went, only a few people are reluctant to do things that would benefit them at the expense of others.

I am not a saint, I have lied to save myself from silly situations in life. I hate to do it because my conscience disturbs me a lot and I have regretted doing that in many situations when I have to cover up my lies with another lie, it ends up as a long chain tied around your neck. Seriously lying can be stressful but people now find it very easy because you have to remember everything lies you have said in the past, forgetting just one out of many could reveal the truth if your word contradicts.

Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty

I remembered some years back, I was on a bus and an evangelist was preaching to the passenger about sin. He was still shouting at the top of his voice just to win souls and make people stay away from sin. While he was preaching, a passenger's phone rang. The volume of the phone was so loud that it got everyone attention, the woman picked and after seconds of listening to the caller.

She said she was at the garage whereas, we haven't even traveled half the journey and the lie made everyone looked in her direction again and she didn't feel ashamed of what she did.

I was shocked that she was reluctant to say it due to the crowd that could be listening to her.


Anyway, that's not the case. It baffles me how people choose lies over the truth, it is funny how lies soothe the ear than the truth for many people in what the world has become today.

I wouldn't blame people who are obsessed with lying because sometimes they are involved with someone or people who can't handle the truth and these people are difficult to be with.

While I was in the sales job, I had lots of marketers and I was reporting to an expatriate at the office who made my job difficult for me. He is always mad when you try to make him realize the truth so I just switched to the lying mode.

He calls almost every hour to know how the team is doing with sales, if I gave him a low sales figure which is the correct thing, he shouts and threatens to sack the team. When he hears lies, he would be happy we are doing well, and unknown to him, he is not giving us room for growth because he doesn't know the challenges we are facing at ground level.

We kept piling the problem until one day it became unbearable and I voiced out without the fear of been sacked. I was dropped but another brand that valued my points picked me up and that taught me a lesson that there would be someone who would be ready to listen to your truth no matter how disturbing it is.

Another experience

I experienced a scene about two months now, we were in traffic for over 4hrs going to Oshodi.

There was this lady in the bus receiving calls from time to time updating someone about the traffic, at a point, she looked teary and I couldn't approach her even though she was sitting beside me. She started talking alone, did I cause the traffic, it is not my fault and she alighted at the next bus stop.

Looking at what happened, I think she has had an issue at work with saying the truth.


I thought they said the truth would set us free, why then is it complicating issues for people who are fond of it. I believe there is a reward for holding on to the truth but how long do we have to hold on before the truth resurfaces and sets us free.

I am not promoting lies but I just needed to share my thoughts about it. In my case, I love to hear the truth regardless of how it would make me feel, especially in a relationship. I have grown to be able to handle situations maturely, trust me if I say my exes are still my friend today because I detest lies so much that it would end my relationship straight away but we can still be friends if they choose to repent.

I said earlier that I am not a saint but I would only lie to save something very valuable when I say valuable I meant that something that has to do with life. I won't hesitate to say the truth as long as my life wouldn't be taken away from me.

I have also lied to save my job but didn't lie to get my job even when I was desperate, I am sure you didn't skip how I do lie to my boss to protect my job and my team.

Let me share another story of how saying the truth didn't make me get a job.

While searching for a job after I was dismissed then, I went for an interview on the island. It was an IT company that needed a warehouse manager, I told my friend to apply as well and we were both called for the interview.

Who does that? Everyone scolded me for inviting my friend who later got the job offer, I did it because it brings me joy to help my friends to get opportunities that I might not be qualified for.

During the interview, I was asked "where do I see myself in 5 years?".

I replied that I hope to have my own business in five years, I shared my plans. I didn't know why but I always feel very comfortable during interviews and I feel the truth is important.

My friend was asked the same question and she said she would be helping the company promote its brand at a bigger level, that was the lie she needed to get the job.

I didn't have a business then and she had one, she needed the job just to earn money to boost her business, and when she is set, she would leave. I didn't believe it when she told me that the lie got her the job.

Just a few months after, she quit the job to focus on her business and the company returned to the field searching for someone else.


Another thing that baffles me about lying is that we don't learn to do it, kids automatically start lying without been taught how to do it, or was I wrong saying lies were not part of the world foundation?

Religiously it's a sin but what if survival or life depends on it? This reminds me of a movie where a security agent lied about something at the court because he knew a lot of people would suffer if the culprit went to jail. The culprit wasn't really at fault because the victim had a fault in the incident that led to her death.

These are difficult things to answer and I will want you to help me out, feel free to share any shocking lie experience you have had.

Lead image.

18
$ 10.00
$ 8.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Maryjacy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Haha! Your post has reminded me of a lot of things that I did in the past to save my life from my parents. Anyways, we all lying and we do it not because we love to, but it depends on the situation that we are in, sometimes a lie can prevent us from many things like punishments and etc.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right, we have saved ourselves a lot of problems lying and the fear of my parents not finding out the truth is another big problem for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure brother, sometimes we have to lie and sometimes we do not have to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all lie and some have mastered the art of lying so much that they have no conscience and they become a perpetual liar. I've lied several times too and I love how brave you were to voice out back then. We can keep piling up the lies but if we don't seek the path of truth, it would find us out.

"You can fool all the people some of the time, you can fool some of the people all the time but you cannot fool all the people all the time."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all make lies, maybe it depends on the matter of lies we are doing, as there white lies to help us, i know its still a lie but in other way it can help us. We are not saint but aa much as possible ve true to ourself is the best we can do

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Trying not to lie doesn't work when in the world we live in today because there are times when our survival depends on it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, some people has made lying a habit in their lives that they can't do without telling a lie. The thing is that lying is mostly common with selfish people and selfish people are always defensive. Too much of self concern leads to lying because you don't want to feel hurt or guilty. Lying is inherent in the nature of man but knowing the harmful effects of it, we must learn to grow above the control of that nature in us.

On the other hand, people have suffered for being truthful, yeah, but such suffering always produce something better in the long run.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right but producing good in the long run happens in 3 out of 10 cases and some people never lived to see themselves vindicated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate lies, but I admit that there are really instances wherein we can't avoid to tell a lie. I always try to avoid it too, but it gets in the way. Like, when I woke up late, however, when our supervisor called I would often give an excuse that I got caught in a heavy traffic. Idk, maybe she's now thinking that it's just my lame excuse, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right about them been unavoidable, because the more you try to ignore the more you they keep coming at you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The funny thing is that most people refer to lies as a small sin, some will even say "a little white lie". Lying is a sin, there is nothing small or white about it

But personally, I do see lies as a necessary evil.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lolz, there is nothing like a small sin. All sin is equal before the Almighty God and we abstain as much as we can but lying is just inevitable.

It just happens quickly and you would only discover it after doing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, sometimes we lie but we only notice after a while. Some people lie without even thinking, it has become a second nature to them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lies is a part of human nature and nothing an be done to change that. Think about it, we don't teach children how to tell lies yet they suddenly develop the habit at a very young age.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's what I was thinking, it shouldn't be counted as a sin since it is in us and it grows as we grow too 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lying is wrong and should be counted as one. Saying it shouldn't be considered as a sin is like saying a person that destroys things when he's angry shouldn't be queried because it's his nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sometimes it was the situation that made us lie but not because we want too. Yes I also lie sometimes but I am not a CERTIFIED LIAR. Usually just white lies

$ 0.02
2 years ago

White lies? That looks like you are trying to defend your lies, a lie will always be a lie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many people prefer to be lied to than telling them the truth. We all have lied in one way or the other just to save our ass and move on but how long do we think lies will stay up to? Someday the truth would be revealed and we then look so stupid.

I have my own many Experiences of telling lies from my childhood to this stage. I still lied Yesterday 😅😅

Someone came to borrow money from me and the last cash on me is what I needed to use for something but I can't go through the stress of explaining why I won't be giving her the money. I just said I don't have anything on me for now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That one you did is not a serious lie, it is a general thing we all say.

If the person who be able to handle the truth, you would have just told her that you want to use what you have on you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we are too use to lying, we will find it difficult to say tye truth, but at times there will be a situation where you don't have any choice than to lie in other to save a life or something else that is critical which you know so well that if you say the truth , there will be certainly be a problem.

Thought some people can never do without lying, even if it's a minor thing, majority lie to get what they want, what if the truth is discovered , your reputation has been spoilt. Why not say the truth when it needed and stop as far as life is not involved , that's my thought.

Ughhhh, I did a mistake while trying to........ guess you'll understand....lol

$ 1.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I understand very well.

But you know lying regardless of the situation of things is still a sin??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, it's a sin, but if it the case of life..... Hemmmmm, looks like a confusing situation, but if I should call a spade a spade, I will lie 🙄🙄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lies are everywhere. People do not seem to understand that telling lie is next to wickedness. It has become a new normal and a culture that people construct their income, family, business and human relationship with. Husbands now finds pleasure in telling lie to their wives. Wives too, to their husbands and vice verse. There is need for a rebirth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right, a rebirth is needed but would it solve the issue. Even babies grow into kids and lie without their parents teaching them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, this your question na original. Everybody lie with reason or without no reason just to get what they want. Even small children also lie. I can only defend the babies that doesn't know anything.but as they grow up things change. Good stuff.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lolz, these babies who eventually lie - who taught them?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha, u know that bad things is very easy to learn. They can learn it from there friends

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all lie, it's the fact. Some lies protects, but mostly destroys.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fact is we lie to save face, to avoid hurting other people's feelings, to shirk responsibility, to hide misdeeds, to prevent and many more reasons. Going beyond irrational reason is a different story.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. In the case of politicians, they lie for selfish reasons

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Politicians precisely!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think there's a living human creature in this world who did not lie (except for the babies) Even innocents lie as well. But this can ruin trust and integrity.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, once the truth is revealed. Trust is gone and sometimes we can lose more just others trust.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The world can't do without lie am sure of that because it you tell the truth you will be overlooked but if you lie then you are the good one

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, that's heavy. It is sad to see lies dominate the world and it is the reason why things are getting more damage in the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what the world has turned to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lying is the root cause of all evil. Everything starts with a lie and it becomes difficult to come back. However, some of us do not dare to speak the truth, and some of us do not dare to hear the truth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right about the fact that not everyone is ready to hear the truth and tell the truth as well. I guess it is the lies world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think nowadays humans cant live without lies. We know that lies is bad. But sometimes we just do this for the sake of our loveones not to hurt. Lies is everywhere even us sometimes lie to ourselves.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For the sake of our loved one? But wouldn't they eventually get hurt when they know it is a lie or can you shed more light on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Sometimes we had in this situation that by telling them truth it really break them so much. So we rather tell them a lie than to see them suffer. Thats what I mean with that. This thing depends on the situation. I forgot to include it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly lie is a big sin against God but the world we live now doesn't want the truth either image your an your friend and the job was given to her meanwhile you the said the truth went home without the job

May God just continue to forgive us all sha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a big prayer, I think we should just ask for forgiveness since we all know we are sinners.

$ 0.00
2 years ago