Unreal Concern

10 43

I once believed that the only places where I could see the conflicts, intrigue, and mistreatment that occur in real families were in my films. However, it isn't because it is actually taking place right now.

I mentioned in a previous post that I used to love being around my relatives from my father's side better than those on my mother's side, but that was back then and it isn't the case now. Allow me to explain the two incidents that altered my perception of my relatives from my father's side.

My mother hated vices like alcohol, cigarettes, and even gambling.  Even though when he was younger, my father was rumored to be an outgoing person, he has a cigarette addiction, and he loves to gamble in cockfighting, he was able to change after meeting my mother. Love really does make us be something different, that's why even I have high standards for men because my father was a real 10 for being able to change for my mother.

I never saw my father gamble or smoke as I was growing up. He drinks alcohol but on rare occasions usually, when we have a family gathering, that is why I'm very proud of him for keeping his promise to my mom.

However, perhaps there are times when it's impossible to resist temptation. there where this rumor that going around back then that my father was betting on cockfighting, it was the cause of their fight with my mother then but it didn't turn into a big fight because they also talked about it right away. It's surprising how word of their parents' argument over cockfighting ended up with my aunts. When I spoke to my aunt once, she was ranting about how my mother seemed to care too much, pointing out that my mother was overreacting and that there was no need for her to prevent my father from betting on cockfights because it was just a form of entertainment.

Wow, how could she possibly have the audacity to criticize my mother in such a way?

The other one is when my uncle had a birthday celebration, usually, my father and I with my siblings attended the gatherings but during that time my mother also went to the party. My mother arrived late, but what was even more annoying was when I heard what my aunts and uncles were saying. "She's there already", "What a miracle that she came for this birthday party". The tone of their speech makes it seem as though they are telling me that my mother is not welcome at that birthday party, which made me furious. After my mother finished eating, I immediately invite her to leave right away.

Since that time, my viewpoints toward my father's siblings haven't changed. I'm no longer upset about them, but there are still some times that I can't help but choose to avoid getting in touch with them. I don't understand how they can make my mother feel disgusted when she has no choice but to care. The only thing that can be challenging at times is that the people with bad habits are the ones we expect to be able to trust.


You can check a few of my previous works here

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

Lead Image was from Unsplashed.com

Support and Follow me here:

https://read.cash/@GelayyLumiere

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

6
$ 0.47
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.01 from @Kacy01
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Toxic nga. Mahirap kapag ganyan ang ugali ng kapatid ng partner mo. Wala naman akong nakikitang mali sa advice ng mama mo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Bata pa po ako haha, bale mga tito and tita ko po yung may aayaw sa mother ko kaya dumidistansya na din ang loob ko sa mga tita and tito ko sa father side

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, same with some of my father's relatives. However they are worst as they literally hurt my mother physically and that's the reason why I never been close to them as they disrespect my mother.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm so sorry that your mother have to experience that, your kin from your father's side seems like needed to have proper education about respect and moral, how dare they to hurt your mom bahala na si Lord sa mga ugali nila

$ 0.00
1 year ago

there are so many like that in the world, if you think you can act it's a perfect one. They didn't even think that they made mistakes too, so I hope they don't do that sometimes

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hoping too that their attitude change someday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is very common, we are humans, we are bound to hate things that look well to others but not pleasing to our eyes. I know they're seeing themselves on the right track, especially the aunt judging your mother for not allowing him to gamble, taking it as entertainment, but to you it's not fair. To me, just love be the people you're cool with and leave others, your heart can not love everyone because we have our differences

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yupp I'm well aware of the differences that we have I just can't accept how they talk like that as if my mother wasn't welcome for any celebration that they would held

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cases keep on changing, well in my case it is similar like you . In early age I use to love both of the relatives from both sides but now I don't like relatives who are my father side because they are always make judgements ahhh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Their audacity to criticize someone's lives as if they were perfect and they were always right

$ 0.00
1 year ago