"Shopee:The Downside of free shipping voucher for small business owners"

42 475
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
2 years ago
Sponsors of GarrethGrey07
empty
empty
empty
Blog#170:04 March 04,2022

Who among us don't want a free shipping voucher when shopping online? I guess everyone loves it and definitely would want to use it to save money. But little did we know that some small business owners are the one who's suffering?

____________________

Hey there my lovely family here in read.cash, how are you? I hope you guys had a very productive day today. Yayyyy thanks God it's Friday 😁!

Anyway please always stay safe and healthy.

Just one day ago, from my previous article, I have mentioned that I have some items in my shopee cart(online shop) that I really wanted to buy for our house. Before the midnight sale came, I collected lots of vouchers from Shopee so I can use them to have more discount. I have collected 10% discount coupon, cash back, free shipping from selected store and this voucher called free shipping site wide.

From my understanding, site wide means, you can use that voucher to any shop inside shoppe, as long as you reach the minimum spend which is 55 pesos ($1+usd) then your good to use that voucher upon checking out your items.

So that night I stayed up until midnight, so I won't miss the biggest discount that they'd offer for their buyer's. That night's sale is actually special, as they have given lots of discount to all buyers, but you have to be hurry on checking out as some item's are just limited.

Screenshot from my shopee app
Screenshot from my shopee app

After I successfully check out all my items in my cart, I was very excited to receive them soon. With the use of the vouchers that I got before the midnight sale, I got a chance to bought an extra item for my son's feeding bottle. I was really satisfied with my purchases. Although I haven't received them, I'm already satisfied πŸ˜….

But yesterday while I am scrolling at my Facebook account I have come across to this post of one of my Facebook friends that suddenly made me feel guilty πŸ˜….

Screenshot from Facebook

She is a shoppe seller and I guess she is just a small business owner so she was very affected with that free shipping voucher during midnight sale.

According to her, ones the buyer use a voucher for the shipping, the fee for the ordered item was deducted from her own saved funds. So she was asking her buyers to do not use a voucher so she still have fund's for her other expenses in shopee, such as packaging tapes, bubble wrap and etc.

I don't know the rules and regulations of shopee one's you open your store to their app, so I really don't know about this. Honestly all I thought that those discounts and vouchers are literally come from the developer of shopee. I mean from the people behind of shopee app πŸ˜….

Anyway using a voucher might be beneficial to us( buyer's) but what if you heard a scenario like this? Will you still use a voucher?

For me, I think it was okay if I am going to use a voucher, but I might just use it in a big online stores not in a small online store owners so they won't be affected and their business will continue to grow.

As we all know, we can also find some popular store (brands) inside Shopee, and I think it won't affect too much to them if we gonna use a voucher. But anyway this is just my own opinion 😊. How about you, what do you think?

Anyway luckily this time all my items came from Shopee Mall, those store are quite popular so I think they won't be affected with my free shipping voucher πŸ˜….

Anyway this is all for today guy's and thank you for reading.

Lead image source edited using Canva app

23
$ 4.66
$ 4.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @MichaelBCH
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 18
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
2 years ago

Comments

Though Voucher has discounts but it could affect small shop sellers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Does shopee have an affiliate connection? Well a friend of mine sent me a link and I was funded with 20$. I'm still wondering if it's real

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that is not the fault of the buyers if the shipping voucher is deducted to the seller. That's the risk the sellers have to take. I understand the predicament but if they don't agree with the conditions of Shopee, they have a choice not to utilize Shopee and find other means to sell their products. I hope your friend will not lose customers because of that because buyers would rather choose a different store to buy where they can use the voucher.

I think it's the same with food delivery services.

Anyway, I don't use Shopee that much and when I do, there are no vouchers available. Still, I would use vouchers that are applicable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed, you have a very good point. Hopefully she won't lose any costumer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why are the sellers paying for vouchers they did no create. If shopee is giving out vouchers, then the sellers shouldn't pay for it, shopee itself should cover that cost

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am really not sure about this even though I don't shop online most time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwttsss...ganun pala yun..hala, ako pa naman eh mahilig din mag avail ng mga free shipping vouchers..nakakaguilty somehow..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I my country only the rich shop online ooh, because the shipping fee is just way high for the person working to feed his family. And most at times the shipping fee is just higher than the item you will be buying and we don't get voucher here for shopping online you just make your payment online on what to want to buy and put in an address that they can find you and you will be contacted when the product arrives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anyway I am not used to this . I don't used vouchers i don't like buying online because they will not be delivered when I need it the most

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Advantage talaga kapag may free voucher, nakakatipid talaga, tapos naka mura pah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon ko lang nalaman na sa seller pa la ung voucher noh akala ko sa company ng shoppee talaga. Hindi pala. Kawawa naman sila kunti lng profit nila eh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis, now I can understand kung bakit yung ibang seller dun ang mahal magpresyo, binabawi pala nila pag gumagamit ng vouchers ang buyer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my first time to know this. I thought it's came from the application sis. I was really shocked so there's disadvantage too if you sell your products or items at shoppee. It's okay if it is a big online store already but how about the small one. I think I will use the voucher those big online store only sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly sis, it's okay to use vouchers to big stores but not to small business owners 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis it's already a big help to them but I was shocked talaga sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot nga ate yung ganyan hehe. Nakakaguilty rin minsan kaya kapag may ganyan akong opportunity, nagoorder ako ng almost bulto hehe. I mean, hindi lang isa bibillhin ko. For instance, bumili ako ng gamit sa school. Most likely, maramihan na ako bumili sa kanila tapos nakashopeepay hahahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maganda yun pag bulto, hindi masyadong malulugi ang seller 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a very big disadvantage to small the shop sellers because they'd be at deduction end and not the company. And also, the people patronizing voucher don't know all these and they'll keep patronizing because of the discount, which will be affecting the small shop sellers

The company Supposed to bear the loss or reduction

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly we( buyers) don't know about this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laki ng savings mo sis

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜… oo sis, nagtiis lang sa puyatπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sulit naman ah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can't avoid ourself for neglecting to use vouchers. Halos lahat nag aabang sa vochure para maka discount.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truth pero may downside siya sa mga small seller's in shopee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. So what's the use of the voucher in the first place? It should be for the benefit of the buyer not at the expense of the seller. It's like robbing Peter to pay Paul.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜… I know but would you still be happy using those vouchers if some small business owners are affected with those vouchers? We can use vouchers to big shop's, but not to small business owners, that's what I wanted to let my readers understand about the downside of vouchers 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not sure with this sis, I gonna ask my officemate on Monday since she has a shop at shoppee.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am not even aware of it sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also thought of this once as well as for those 100 pesos off every sale. The free shipping is really good for us buyer because we can save a lot but it also have effects especially for those small business owners like that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truth, that's sad for them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Garreth, what you said was very interesting to me. I thought the shipping cost would be paid by Shoppe itself in such cases. I agree with you. If they are small businesses, it is better not to use free shipping coupons, but if they are large businesses, it is not a problem to use these chips.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, it won't affect too much to them πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True yan ate, may shop din ako before and minsan may kaltas nga siya at di buong bumabalik sa seller wallet yung price na nilagay ko talaga. But that was last 2020 pa, ewan ko lang now if mas tumaas pa yung kaltas.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pero kahit papano may kita pa din naman kayo sis noh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's quite wrong. It's unfair to have the small sellers bear the cost of free shipping as it will really eat into their revenues while the app takes the credit

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hopefully the app would also consider them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ow, sometimes I used the voucher to lessen the shipping fee especially when it reach to almost $3 .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too sis, not just sometimes but always 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you are very fond of shopping hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not that much my friend, only if i need πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i also thought that fre shipping vouchers was shouldered by the app itself, I don't know that the seller is the one who will suffer from it. Form now on I'll use those vouchers to those sellers who had lots of sold items and I'll neglect the voucher to those small business sellers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too,πŸ˜… I suddenly feel sad for those small seller's in shopee πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago