"My son and his biggest fear - phonophobia"

17 58
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
1 year ago
Sponsors of GarrethGrey07
empty
empty
empty

Last night I sleep late as my son can't sleep too,so while watching him keep rolling in our bed I decided to write the prompt. It was already 11 p.m and his still awake. He keeps on trying to figure out a best spot in our bed for him to sleep, until he found the spot and eventually fall asleep.

Our bed is actually a King size, but if you have a toddler don't expect that your king size bed would still be enough for three persons😂. However you should simply expect that you'll gonna have a free kick and free slap one's in each night when you're sleeping with your toddler. Lol. Expect that sometimes there's a little feet in your face when you wake up in the morning and expect that you can't have any freedom to roll in your bed as the master was there to always take his throne.

Sometimes his Papa ( my partner) won't sleep with us as he felt that our bed was already too small for us 😁. He also sometimes have a panicked attack as he suddenly got a kick on his face from our son while it was sleeping. Our sons feet are still small but it's already heavy and one's it hits you, you'll surely be surprised. So for him to be free from unwanted kick he do the adjustment and just sleep in the other bed.

Our little boss(son) always occupy the whole bed and he would definitely cry if he felt that he bump into someone. He don't even like that there's a lot of pillow around him as it stops him from rolling, and he don't even want to be covered by blanket.

Sometimes I worry for him a lot, specially if the weather was cold as you can really felt the coldness on his skin and if you put him some blanket he would definitely cry. Luckily he was fine with pajamas and long sleeve and so I just let him wear PJ's at night so he won't get cold.

Honestly when he was still an infant he don't like that I put him his newborn hat and even mittens. He was already strict at his day's old days 😆 and even until now.

His biggest fear

When my son reach one year old, he started to have this kind of fear. Fear of loud noises/sounds. It's all begun during the New year's Eve last December 31,2021. I have already shared it here with my article entitled Mother: Every Child's safe zone where I mentioned how much my son cries for the loud noise and how much he wanted to remain at my side no matter how much his papa and mommyla tried to comfort him.

I thought that if he grows a little bit older he would not be afraid with loud sounds anymore, but I was wrong. When we transferred here to our own house and he hears the loud noise from raindrops under our rooftop, he got panicked and cried.

When we were still living at the apartment he never gets scared with raindrops. Well I would understand, as we stayed at the ground floor in the apartment. The raindrops are not really visible to hear since there's a second floor. So now that our house has no second floor he can literally hears the sounds of raindrops and that makes him scared.

So last night, since my son can't sleep properly at around 1:20 a.m were still both awake. I let him go back to sleep and after five minutes I felt that he falls back to sleep again but then I suddenly heard a little raindrops and when I look outside from our window I saw that it's already drizzling. I hurriedly went outside to get our clothes as I didn't bring them inside before I go to bed last night. Unfortunately the rain suddenly poured heavily and that makes my son awake because of its loud noise.

Source:Unsplash.com

I can't imagine how big the rain drops was, as the noise was too loud. When he felt that I am not around he cried so hard. Since I only leaves the door open he saw me outside and he followed me.

I got angry as outside is already raining and yet my son followed me outside. I got annoyed to my partner as well as our sons cry was literally loud and clear and yet he's still sleeping🤦. How restless sleeper he was that he couldn't even hear our sons crying😤. Our neighbors are sleeping and with his cry we're gonna disturb them and so I immediately woke him up as I still need to bring our clothes inside. I can't let them wet as I don't want them to smell stinky.

Source: Unsplash.com

My partner tried to calm down our son as he keeps on crying out loud. He really wants to follow me, but my partner he can't stop our son from crying. No one can really makes him stop, but me🤦. And since I am already in panicked I can't manage to get the hangers properly. My mind's want's to go to my son, while my body wants to finish getting all our clothes.

Eventually I finally finish getting all our clothes, and so I hurriedly went to my son who's still crying. I immediately carry him as he already sounds like begging while calling me Mama! I really felt so guilty as when I took him from his Papa he immediately hug me so tight, specially that the rain continue to poured heavily.

I honestly felt so sorry for my son. Loud noises can really makes him scared. However I always tried to comfort him, I told him that those noise won't hurt him, I tried to let him feel safe and so eventually he falls sleep while he was in my arm. He also gets tired from crying and so even it's still raining he still fall asleep.

According to Wikipedia this kind of fear can be called Phonophobia, a fear for loud sounds/noise and this kind of phobia's was actually rare. Mostly the person who have this kind of fear was children and so my son has it. Hopefully if he gets older he won't be scared with loud sounds anymore. I don't want him to have this kind of fear.

Does your child have phobia's too?

Anyway this is all for today and thank you for reading.

Lead image was edited using Canva app.

22
$ 2.32
$ 1.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 13
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
1 year ago

Comments

Yung anak ko din sis. Mg 2 years pa siya next month. Nagsimula yung takot niya sa malakas na ulan nung hinagupit kami ng bagyong Odette. Kaya pag nakakarinig siya ng malakas na ulan nagpapanicked siya at ng hahanap siya ng comfort at minsan tinatakpan niya yung tenga niya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't have a baby yet but in my sister's case when she was toddler she is afraid of the wind

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope your baby will overcome this phobia while he is growing up. It must be really terrifying to your son every time that he hears something loud.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kawawa naman c baby sis, may ganyan talaga na baby matatakutin kahit sa mga maliliit lang nah bagay or mahina lang na kalabog,matatakot nah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seems like it's a serious issue. Fear of sound!? I don't wanna hurt you.. But i wanna confessed a lil bit words with you. One of my close friend died.. He had sound / noise problems. I mean he also freaked out by kinky sounds. You should encourage your son or treat this phobia. I'm serious 🙃

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah dear thank you..i know my son can also conquer his fears.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always love babies and their attitudes, so cute...I really hope your son gets better soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry for your son, I guess he has developed a phobia for loud noise/sound known as Ligyrophobia. It is common in children and may stop over time. Hope he's doing fine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I learnt a new one today. I didn't know it also rained there yesterday, the rain was really heavy and massive. I hope you were later able to get some sleep. I do hope he grows out of this fear once he ages.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's it for a little child, if it were to be a matured human, the sound of rain is so sweet for sleep. Yeah, if rain falls at night while I'm in my bed, it feel so sweet.

Also, the attachment between mother and child is immeasurable. Sometimes only the mother has the key to stop baby from crying

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My friend, try to get your child used to listening to loud noises as long as it doesn't break his eardrums. Try to be brave for him because I'm worried that this will continue to haunt him until he grows up. I mean when he gets used to it then there will be no more worrying about it and also try to take him out often to find out the real environment maybe he can change gradually when he hears the same thing more often outside the house. Keep protecting him my friend because he is the future of the family, may God always protect him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That kind of phobia is rare, I think there something in past tha trade him fear of loud sound, I hope when he grow old, his fear will fade cause that kind of fear is problematic since this world is full of noise and people having that phobia can't stand it. I think that your the only one can make him calm since she's your safe zone, it's an instinct of a child to look for his mother when he feel he's not safe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am experiencing now-a-days while pampering my nieces that the kind size bed is not much large to sleep with baby. Yes she has phobia of noise and loud sounds but hopefully with the passage of time she will be okay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm currently concerned about hearing your complaint, my friend, maybe I don't really understand how your child feels, so the sound of the rain makes him afraid maybe because it started from the beginning when the sound of firecrackers during the new year haunted him when he heard a loud sound. One way for you from me friend just pray for him to be protected by God and teach him to pray I'm sure this will change it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When children don't sleep well, unfortunately, parents, especially mothers, lack sleep. I fully understand your situation, dear Garreth. But don't worry, his fear of loud noise will definitely improve as he gets older, especially when he wants to become independent and go to school.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mostly ganyan talaga mga bata sis nuh. Takot sila sa mga loud sounds. Ganyan din nephew ko sis sobrang takot kung ano nariring niya lalo na pag gabi. Iiyak nalang bigla. Ayaw na ayaw nila makarinig na hindi maganda sa tainga nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is that very loud noises are disturbing in themselves, I imagine that for a child it must be much more stressful. When I am in a place and there are a lot of people and a lot of noise, I go to a clearer place. It makes me laugh to imagine you sleeping and being silvered by your baby, how funny

$ 0.00
1 year ago