"My childhood kind of Christmas day"

35 41
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
2 years ago
Sponsors of GarrethGrey07
empty
empty
empty

Blog#104

23 years ago, and I was just 8 years old, my big brother was ten years old and my younger brother was just 7.

Once upon a time, during Christmas day. My siblings and I used to woke up as early as 5:30 a.m to prepare our selves as we will be going to every house's we see in our village. Around 6:00 o'clock we are already ready with our bag's in our hands and we will run with full of excitement and joy to the street. Each person we meet at the street has the sweetest smile we've ever see during that day. While greeting each other a Merry Christmas, some of them will give us money and some will give us candy.

Source: Pinoy Warrior

At first we will be going to the house of our neighbors. We usually choose big house's as for sure they will give us money πŸ˜‚. As kids, once we see big house, all we think the people inside are rich and have a lot of money lol. We will knock their doors and greet them a Merry Christmas with smile and they will greet us too and give us some presents, but mostly cash. Some would give us 100pesos and that was 1.90usd, some would give 0.20usd and as a kid that was already big amount of money. Some of them will offer us food, and if we won't eat they will let us bring the food to our house and share it to our parents, that's how generous our neighbors before.

Well that was before, not now anymore πŸ˜…. People really changed.

Source: Facebook

Second, we will be going to our Godparents house. Each Godparents will give gifts to their Godchild and they will just give cash for the siblings, some Godparents will also give money to their Godchildren. But fortunately we also have some Godparents who will ghost us lol. Being a kid's we don't understand them, even though they are at home they will ignore us like they don't hear usπŸ˜‚.

But of course our parents will let us understand that Christmas is not all about gift giving, and it is not a responsibility of our Godparents to give us gifts. But even our parents have already told us about that, I still don't understand them πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. All I know, Christmas is gift giving lol.

I actually feel ashamed about my behaviour as a kid, when I grow olderπŸ€£πŸ˜‚. I'm a quiet stubborn back then πŸ˜‚.

Third, we will be visiting our relatives house's. Some of our relatives will give us gifts and some will give us money. Some will also offer us food. But that was also before as they change too.

As a kid, I am more happy if I received money than gift lol. I really appreciate money at my younger age πŸ˜‚. Because if I received money, then I can buy whatever I want but if they give me gift and the thing that was inside of that wrapped box is not my type, then I can't use it πŸ˜‚. But of course I appreciate their efforts for buying me a gift, I'm just a little stubborn kid.

Around 2:00 or 3:00 in the afternoon we will be in our way back home. We are happy as we have lots of candies in our bag's. In our way, we are eating some of our candies and chocolate. We are laughing while running in the street, trying to catch each other πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

When we arrive home, we are excited to check of how much money we have 🀣. We will put our gift aside as we already know what's inside that wrapping paper lol.

I still remember the biggest money I got during Christmas day is $15usd, while my brother's has more than I have as their Godparents give them more. I only have two godparents, and I don't know why πŸ˜‚. While my brother's has many.

Source: iStock.com

After checking our money we will be checking our candies. We will separate them according to what kind of candies they are. And sometimes we do exchanges, if I got a different kind of candy which they don't have, they will exchange it with the candy that I don't haveπŸ€£πŸ˜‚.

Our mom will keep the money for us and the candies as she knows that we won't stop eating them until they finish πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. Every day she just give us one candy but sometimes if our mom wasn't home we will sneak some candy lol.

Those are my childhood sweetest memory about Christmas day . My golden day's.

Closing thoughts;

Things and people may change but we can keep those good memories in our hearts. Actually, we can still celebrate the Christmas as we use to celebrate it before. We can still be a giver and enjoy each day, like it is a Christmas day.

This is all for today guy's, i hope you had a great day and enjoying your day with your lovely family.

Merry Christmas!

Lead image source: Canva

16
$ 4.55
$ 3.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Ling01
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 15
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
2 years ago

Comments

Hahahaha. Sa pangangaroling noon kahit anong bahay kami pero mas gusto namin yung may tao kasi kahit malaki o maliit kung wala kaming tao na makita sa pinto, di kami nilalabasan. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahi ra jud ang effect sa Christmas pag bata pa ta because before makadawat lang tag dulaan grabe na kayo ta ka malipayon. Pero as we grow older our excitement for Christmas has decreased. Hindi Christmas ang nag bago kundi tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahah🀣🀣. Childhood memories. We used this same pattern too during my days, we'd dress up with our newly bought clothes from parents, put on that rubber eyeglasses 🀣and be moving from house to house, visiting and collecting gifts, especially money. When they offer us food, we politely turn it down because our stomach were filled and more also, we just need the money🀣🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha that's really cute memory.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That aspect of money to gift πŸ˜‚. Most children even me as an adult prefer money

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truth as we can buy whatever we want.🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis, malaki na yan..ako madami ngang Godparent pero kapag namamasko ako sa kanila noon, madalas ang sagot ay patawad..pinakamataas na nakukuha ko ay 5 pesos..hahaha...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha nakakarami kami sis kc sa bawat ninong at ninang naming magkakapatid nagbibigay. Tapos yung mga mayayaman nagbibigay din, napunta din kami sa bahay ng kapitan namin πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't stop laughing πŸ˜‚. But, I think most children also prefer that aspect of money to gift πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas days were better when I was younger. As I get older, it loses its meaning. I can't enjoy Christmas days like I used to.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly mate, and that's so sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Xmas friend Garethgrey... Memories are really important as I believe they make us whole...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait what? You and your brother have different numbers of godparents?? That's weird lol🀣 Truly childhood memories of Christmas are some of the best ones we have!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, my brother's have many godparents than i have πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang saya talaga sis pg bata pa no. Wlang prblma na hinaharap. Kayang hanggang memories na lng tayo. Meri Xmas sis..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truth sis, masaya talaga maging bata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never experienced this sis. My parents are not allowing us to house to house. I don't know whyπŸ˜‚ and I only had one Godparent

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, that's sad. Christmas day is the best day for all kid's.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang hindi siya uso sa amin dati sis. Tapos ewan ko sa parents ko, bawal na bawal mangapitbahay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These stories was awesome I am really surprised by the urge amount of money you make $15 usd that awesome anyway Christmas was really fun here . I wish you happy Christmas ❀️❀️❀️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes mate, before we can have $15 . Anyway I wish you a Merry Christmas too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much ya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas sis❀ I remember as well that before the christmas eve we were visiting houses from our neighbors and same as well we were choosing big houses hahhaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha mga choosy pa talaga tayo noon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In our province Christmas carols is not thatnpopular since houses are hundred meters away fromceach other, it takes time to roam around the vicinity and sing on every doors. When we, over here on Manila that's the time I join Christmas carols and singing in different houses we prefer to sing o nthose big houses cause they might give huge money but sometimes there are houses which we gonna sing and say namamasko p out ended up being rejected. Some houses also turn off their lights so that there will be no kids will try to carol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Relate much ate, yung tipong mag uunahan ng dahil sa candy at chocolates na pinamimigay.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha totoo, takbohan pag may nakitang namimigay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Garreth, I really enjoyed reading your childhood memories, they were so sweet, they passed in front of my eyes like a movie, and I was overwhelmed with dreams, you made me feel so good... Thank you, Merry Christmas my friend... πŸ’šπŸŽ„

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you and you like it dear, Merry Christmas too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko naranasan to sis, since probinsya kasi ako lumaki tapos during Christmas pupunta kami sa city and syempre hindi gumagala hahaha takot sa sasakyan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Probinsya din ako lumaki sis, hahahhaha anyway merry Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some memories of the distant past can never be forgotten just like your Christmas celebrations during your childhood :) It must be fun back then hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truth sis, sana pwedeng maging bata ulit..πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas dear. Childhood Christmas memories are one of the best. ☺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed, a very beautiful memory.

$ 0.00
2 years ago