" Dead City'

52 56
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
2 years ago
Sponsors of GarrethGrey07
empty
empty
empty

2015 when I went back to Philippines from Kuwait. I work there for two years as a domestic helper. When I arrive at our airport, I noticed how every thing has changed and I felt sad seeing our place looks like it has no life. The driver of the motorcycle saw my reaction, and he started to make a conversation with me. He said that our place changed a lot since the typhoon Yolanda/Haiyan came and kills thousands of people and ruined billions of properties. He says that our place looks like a dead city after the typhoon. I felt the pain and sadness on his voice as he talked, he added that he would never forget that tragedy to his life as he lost everything he has including his family. I was silently listening to his story as I felt how sad he was. I told him that please be strong, God still has a reason why he save you. He then answer me, what was the purpose of my life if I have nothing left. I was left alone and trying to survive by my self. Why did he didn't take my life too? I can't say a word as I don't know how am I going to explain to him how precious our lives was. It's his second life, so he must be brave and keep living.

It was 6;40 P.M. when we arrive in our village, it's a little bit dark already. Actually we can arrive earlier if we didn't get lost πŸ˜…. We get lost, because of how big the difference that has made after the typhoon, that I can't even recognize my own place anymore. I just ask the driver to drop me along the road and I will just walk to our house. Because it's been 30 minutes and I still can't find our place, it's funny because I grow up there and I get lost. At first the driver really want to drop me exactly to my place but because I felt ashamed that I really can't tell the exact place, I just insisted to drop me beside the road until he agreed. I give him 500 pesos and some chocolates, he was happy and thank me for the chocolate. He told me to take care and get home safe as it's getting darker because the night is approaching. I smiled and thank to him also and I started walking to start finding our place.

My place was so quite, it's just 6:40 but I didn't see any one outside. It's a bit strange, I used to see our place so noisy until midnight but that time the atmosphere is different. I walked to the other side of the road. I was about to call my brother but when I took my phone it was out of battery. I have two days trip that is why I haven't charge my phone but I saved 40% of it's life so I can still contact my family incase my surprise come back got a problem. I already feel tired while dragging my two luggages. I feel pissed because my plan was wrong. I should have contacted my family so they can fetch me and I can have a rest that hour. I was walking until I saw someone, from my distance I reflected that the person is a girl because it has a long hair and its wearing a pair of pants and shirt. I reflected that she was holding something. Seems like she was holding a baby in her arms. When we meet our way, I smell a bad smell, like the smell of a decomposing dead rat. I saw that her baby looks like lifeless, it was wet and it was full of mud and even her was full of mud too. I asked politely and if I can help her. Excuse me po ate, ano pong nangyari sa inyo? Tsaka bakit po kayo basang basa? Bakit po puno kayo ng putik? Ok lang po ba tong baby nyo? (Excuse me ate, what happened to you? Why are you full of mud? Is your baby ok? Do you need help) She didn't answer me, she didn't even try to look at me. She just continue walking and passed me, as if I didn't exist. I thought she just didn't hear me so turned my back to her to repeat asking her. But I almost fainted when I saw that her head is broken. It was cracked and its blood is running. Her feet was pale and it looks like it was decomposing. I didn't immediately notice it because my attention was caught with the baby that she was holding.

I can't move my body anymore, I was sweating cold and I'm shaking with fear's. I was praying that she won't turned her back and looked at me, otherwise I will fainted any moment. I slowly grab my luggages and walked slowly while my mind is praying that someone I knew will come. I was shaking and I'm holding my breath, till I feel that I'm already crying. I thought I'm going crazy that time. I screamed out loud when feel someone grab my arm. Waahhhhhhh please no, I'm sorry, I don't know what happen to you and to your baby. Please leave me alone, I just wanna go home ! I was crying like crazy that time, I was thinking that the woman followed me. But I heard a familiar voice. Ate?? Ano bang pinagsasabi mo? Ok ka lang ba? ( Ate happen to you? Are you okay?) I immediately hug the owner of that voice. It's from my younger brothers voice. He says that he saw me walking but he was hesitant to call me because all he knew I'm still working abroad. He told me that they have overtime at his work that is why he was just his way to our home. I told him to go home first and I will tell him what had happen.

When we arrive home, I'm still shaking, my family was surprised seeing me with my brother. They don't even say a word, like they just saw me as a ghost. I asked my brother to give me some water, and I told them that it's really me. I plan to surprise them but my plan went wrong. I got a creepy experience because of my plan. They says that I shouldn't do that, they thought that it wasn't really me, just a lost spirit's that come together with my younger brother. Because according to my family, there were some people who died from the typhoon who couldn't accept their fate. They're soul keep roaming around.

I feel sad with the victims, specially to the poor innocent children who died during that typhoon. I was broken hearted while listening to my family's story. How hard that time to survive. No food, no water, no shelter and even hope has no assurance. People are devastated because of their lose. But we should move on and continue our living. May their soul rest in peace.

Thank you for reading

This is my entry for miss @Theblackdoll #HalloweenContest2021. I hope you'd like it too guy's.

Disclaimer:

Anyway this is just a fiction story, and if there is any resemblance to real life events it is just coincidence!

But it was real that our place has been vanished by the typhoon Haiyan and it killed thousands lives and ruined billions of properties. Only the creepy situation was the fiction.

October 27,2021 13:20

Lead image source;

https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736%2814%2960590-0/fulltext

16
$ 4.50
$ 3.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.48 from @Theblackdoll
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 10
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
2 years ago

Comments

Nag domestic helper ka rin pala sis , ang bagyong ay grabe yung damage kahit pa nasa cebu kami pero apektado pa rin kami Jung time na yun kaya napakasakit balikan ang pangyayaring iyun dahil maraming buhay ang nawala.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo sis, nag Kuwait din ako tapos nag HK.. last year lng ako nakabalik Ng pinas bago mag lock down..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice article. I was scared and full of pity while reading it. May God protect us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you my friend.. even I, after I heard whats my family story I feel sad for those who died

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala sis grvh pala nangyari sa lugar nyo non at naawa ako sa mag ina. Totoo din yan sis yang nagmumulto dahil sa trahedya. Gnda ng kwnto mo, i love it!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga sis, sabi nga ng pamilya ko may mga gabi na nkakarinig cla ng iyakan at takbohan..pro wla nmn tlagang tao.. naisip ko din ung trauma na dala ng bagyo na un..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mga kaluluwang di pa natahimik sis.. Same yan sa compostela din na baha. Pag dumaan ka sa lugar na yun nangangamoy patay tlga.. Kakatakot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gawan mo kaya ng kwento sis..ung compostela valley ba un?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko alam ang whole story sis ksi malayo yun dito mga 3 hours siguro. Try mo search sa ang compostela typhoon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap na hirap tlga mga tao ung time ng typhoon yolanda, isa ako sa saksi

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Saan ka sa Leyte sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahaplag sis, ilang buwan din nun walang kuryente

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was like I was seeing an horror movie. If this story is put into movie, it'll make a lot of sense and bring good money to your pocket. You did a good work my friend πŸŽ‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nanayo balahibo ko sis while reading. Akala ko talaga totoong nangyari sayo.hihi

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ung naligaw ako sis totoo tlaga ung multo lng ung hndi πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sissy akala ko totoo talaga, pero ang ganda ng pagkakaswitch mo ng story. Pero gustong-gusto ko yung part na nakikipag usap ka sa driver. I knew it, mabait ka talaga Sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜… salamat sisyy,hndi nmn ako mabait, konti lng..πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry to hear that... invasions of towns by typhoons and hoodlums are rampant nowadays, my town also being a victim once .. May the Almighty God protect us

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Our place has a typhoon always..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How horrible it was, I was very sad, I hope their souls are happy and calm...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am praying for it too my friend..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You told it's fiction but still, I think this kind of coincidence happened to you. Excellent story with mystery and suspense.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Only the creepy was fiction..but our place really changed after the super typhoon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all, thank you so much for participating and secondly... This was incredibly sad than creepy... I was crying inside when I read spirits were walking without realizing their fate... that is too sad... disasters suck dude...

I'm glad this is just fiction but also thought I wish typhoon was fiction too :/

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The typhoon is real..and my lead image was actually the face of our place after the typhoon.. I'm only praying that those people who died have a peaceful rest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

100% agree with you.. last year, our neighboring state had a typhoon and in 2014, my city had natural disaster as our ocean had a major earth quake and cyclone,, literally hundreds of people los their lives and thousands became homeless.. this is all too sad to see/listen ad digest... Rip to all of them.. Bless you people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhhh heheh fiction lang pala ate. Pero nice idea mo huh. May mga ganito talagang nangyayare na sa ating bansa

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yung typhoon Haiyan totoo talaga un..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko talaga sis totoo na. Naalala ko tuloy yung bagyong Yolanda. Nung nanood ako ng news dami talagang nasawing buhay sa sobrang lakas ng bagyo. Naiyak talaga ko.😭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ako nga din sis..nsa Kuwait pa nman ako nun..hndi ako makakain at makatulog kc iniisip ko mga magulang ko..matatanda na tapos di ko pa sila makontak

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa Leyte ka sis? Oo sobrang nakakatakot. Kinontak ko talaga mga ante ko dun sa Leyte mga kamag anak namin..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, dun tlaga kami nakatira..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tacloban kayo sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Palo sis..30 minutes away sa Tacloban

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakapunta na ako Palo sis..Sobrang lapit lang talaga.. Thanks God okay lang family mo sis ..πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really thought it's your story ate @GarrethGrey07 not until I read the disclaimer hahaha. When natural cataclysm strikes, we cant help but be terrified because mother nature is in great anger. I hope we get to start changing our ways and do our best to a aim and maintain a healthy planet. πŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Totoo talagang naligaw ako nun,pro hndi lng talaga totoo ung nkasalubong ako ng patay na multo πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Anyway sana lng tlaga maiwasan na natin ang magkaron ng malakas na bagyo para wla ng buhay ang mawala pa..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko totoo na sis, not until I read the last part, pero grabe talaga si Yolanda, ang dami nyang kinuhang buhay at marami ata ang hindi na nakita πŸ₯²

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo sis, thousands pa ung missing dahil hndi talaga mahanap, sobrang takot ko nun kc wla ako nung time na un.. halos di din ako makatulog nun kakaisip sa pamilya ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mabuti na lang at maayos din yung family mo no, unexpected talaga yung pangyayari noon eh, daming nagulantang sa sobrang lakas ng bagyo pati yung storm surge na sinasabi nila, naging aral din sa iba na tuwing may bagyo eh lumilikas na agad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, tapos madaling araw un nagsimula sabi ng pamilya ko,,pro kampante kc sanay na dW cla sa bagyo bagyo pro hndi nila inasahan na magiging malakas un ng ganun..tumaas ung tubig sa dagat at umabot un sa bahay namin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan talaga sis pag madalas may bagyo, parang sanayan na lang kasi kinabukasan lilipas din, pero kakaiba ang mga bagyo ngayon parang nagevolve na din, sobrang malalakas na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May their souls Rest In Peace. I feel sad for them, But I’m glad you got home safely and your family is safe too that’s what is important. Thank God

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you my friend ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha you got me sissy hehehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahhaha totoo ung pagbabago at naligaw ako sis.. fiction lang ung nkasalubong ako ng patay.πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagot ka sissy its Halloween baka mgkatotoo niahahahaha joke lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kala ko totoo Hahha, Yung surprise na pagdating mo ikaw ang na surprise duon sa multo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nasurprise din nmn ako lods kc naligaw ako..hndi ko lng talaga nakasalubong multong patay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha Yun Pala naligaw talaga. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galing naman, sis!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you madame..πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago