Five (5) common mistakes to avoid if you want to be successful as a blogger

40 247
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Many new bloggers have the misguided idea of what to do to be successful on their blogging journey early on. They spend their time creating articles, filling up their profiles with writing that often goes nowhere. Checking in daily and hoping to attract a centipede of visitors but are often met with disappointments. And while all this does is lay the foundation for a blogging journey that doesn’t work, it is important to avoid some of the common mistakes new bloggers tend to make.

Have you ever heard the phrase "write what you know?" Well, there are some things that you just don't want to know. And no, I don't mean you won't be able to write about it because you don't know about it. I mean you won't be able to write about it because you don't care about it. We are all experts in our own rights, but when it comes to writing, it's best to choose stories that matter to you.

Blogging is an excellent opportunity to get your opinion out and make a difference in today’s society. However, we must learn to avoid the common mistakes that many new bloggers make in order to reach the people that need to be reached. These are five of the most common mistakes that new bloggers tend to make that could ruin their blogging journey.

1. Working alone

When you first start out as a blogger, you probably don't realize how important collaborations with other bloggers can be. A blogger might say that he or she can make a difference without any help from others because they have good writing skills but in reality, it’s actually very difficult to get along on your own no matter how talented you may be. The sooner you realize that having a network of peers is extremely important, the better.

In a social blogging platform, interactions with other bloggers on a daily basis build a bond that helps to increase your followers. It also helps you develop ideas through interactions, which results in an interesting and valuable piece of content.

2. Following everyone's opinions

While it might be good to stay abreast of the trends that are happening, don't be a sheep and follow every opinion of a blogger you follow. This can get messy when you end up being asked to take a stance on issues you have no clue about. It’s best to stay on the fence and make a point of finding out what is going on before you make any statements.

Similarly, when it comes to blogs, don’t just subscribe to the comments section of an article you really don't understand because you see a few other comments on the same post. Those are usually the opinions of one or two people, so stay on the same page and enjoy the conversations and ideas that will come your way.

3. Using jargon and terms too liberally

There are many ways to use words or jargon without actually knowing what you are talking about. You don't need to be a linguist to write and yet you will be labeled as being ignorant if you write in a way that others can't understand. You must understand the intent behind the term you are using, otherwise, the meaning will be lost on the reader.

Just as important as understanding what you are writing about is the way you write it. An easy way to improve your writing style is to write with a purpose. Otherwise, you might end up sounding like a salesman. Your goal should be to help people understand your message, not to sell them your brand.

4. Seeking validation

There are many people out there who will tell you how great you are because they want you to follow up with them. There are also those who will try to sabotage you to try to boost their own ego. In fact, most people do what they can to have your attention. It's best not to get swept away by what other people are doing or saying in order to keep your credibility intact. Instead of relying on people's opinions, develop your own value as a writer.

Although blogging is meant to help people reach their own full potential, you still need to have self-esteem and self-confidence. Not everyone is going to agree with what you write, but this is why they are bloggers too. If you always seek validation from others, you might want to follow up with them to see what exactly they have to say about you. If there is nothing positive, you should be wary of being influenced by others' opinions.

5. Not improving your writing

So far, we have talked about how important it is to be good at what you do. The same can be said about improving your writing skills. This doesn't mean that you should be afraid to put in the time and effort to learn new things. But the key is to write about something you have a lot of experience with. If you are writing about cryptocurrency investment, for example, you shouldn't be afraid to write from your own experience as an investor. That's the only way to keep your writing sharp.

In the case of article writing, keep your content fresh by re-visiting the topics that have been written about the topic in the past. Try to stay as current as you can and make sure to pay attention to current events and the trends happening in the field of your writing. If you find yourself having difficulty writing, do a bit of research to find out what's been written about your topic.

These are just some of the common mistakes that people make when they get started blogging. With a bit of practice, you will find that your writing becomes much more polished and valuable to your readers.

Conclusion

Making sure that what you write makes sense will improve the quality of your writing. In the case of blog posts, the quality of the content is going to make a difference in how well your content will be received by your audience. Do not be discouraged if the content you are writing is not received well. Always try to work hard on improving your writing and use what you've learned to become a better writer.

Putting your heart into what you write will pay off in the long run. Your hard work will be appreciated and you will stand out from the crowd of other bloggers in your field.

Do you have any additional tips that you'd like to share? Have you been guilty of any of the mistakes listed above? Share your thoughts and suggestions with us in the comments section below.

46
$ 14.64
$ 13.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Davinchysax
+ 28
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

I have a good read in here sir. I always try to stick to write what I really know. I can't continue in a conversation if I have no idea what I wrote really is.

Actually, as an example from my experience. There are lots of photos of different beautiful sceneries my friends shared to me since they are trekkers. They suggested to me to write an article about it because they know I'm a blogger and writes here in Read.Cash. But to think deeper, how can I write about the images if I didn't able to see it personally. Though my friends described it as to their experience,but we have different eyes and feeling. I will find my article lacking and boring because there was no real experience involved. One can't just say beautiful clouds, glittering stars, greenish scenery without seeing it at all, there are still other things to see, to feel and describe. There are still other things to say than just adopting by having an image. Hope you got what I mean sir. 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I always see a blogger here posting pictures of the places she visits. With just one picture and her text she transports me there. And I think that with what you feel when you see the image you can write it.

People love to read the point of view of others, it's our curious part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats what I am. I am not contented with seeing just an image. I need to be there to be able to describe the place with my own eyes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I understand what you mean, but the business of writing is the same as acting. In this case, you need to put yourself in the image and describe how you would feel not how your friends felt. No one is going to evaluate you, so don't hold back, it helps your creative thinking skills.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In that case, I'll try that some other time, because I'm not good in acting. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are very good tips, I had not thought about collaborations between bloggers, I think it's a good idea.

I would add reading to others; learn a new word every day, so we enrich the language; rest, sometimes we write and write, but rest is extremely good, it helps you to clarify ideas, and also to improve them.

Greetings, excellent article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the information, you helped me in my writing skills 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful information to help aid my writing skills, I'm glad I found time to have this read. I do agree that we should tend to focus on what we are sure of or what we know well instead of writing what we no nothing about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was fond of writing with jargons but everytime I read works of other people (especially successful writers) I realized that they are making it simpler as they can. Now I use the simplest words!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't like to use jargons, I avoid them a bit, because sometimes it looks unprofessional and very informal. I think using a lot of jargon makes your text look like you're having a conversation with your friends over a beer. I don't like it, I take my blog very seriously in Read.

Although there are blogs that use jargons and they fit well with the themes. It all depends on what you write about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks immensely for pointing this out. Am entirely aligned to your content. They were straight to the point. Your Pen will never dry. Continue to shine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blogging really goes a long way but am glad I have been able to make some changes in my writing. Learning and writing more about myself and what I know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think, I somehow improve if I look back those writings I made months ago.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well noted sir and permission to save it. This really help me more improving my writings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your points are valid, these are answers we make to common mistakes as bloggers. I found mine in the topic and will work on it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Precisely, after months of being active here I could say that my writing improves. Thanks to great writers here, I've learned from them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, consistency improve productivity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I guess I'm not even improving here 🤣🤣..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha 😁 You have your bag of experience on your side. The problem with most of us is that we seek for validation from others too often than we tend to lose our confidence in ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty on most part, especially when I tried to work alone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh no, working alone is the greatest hindrance to success in the blogging business.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thing I just maintain and try not to lose is, having fun. Everything's useless if we don't enjoy what we do anymore.

I agree with the points stated above, anyway. 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is some real hit to become a better blogger, also me add some little point that works for me, when reading or doing my research, I have a jointer with me I use to put down my ideas, I write down topics that cross my mind, put down some little body for the topic and I'm good to go on

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a good thing you are doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know mister fexonice1 I'm new to read.cash and actually I saw your page link on noise.cash. And I'm happy to say that from your article I'm now sure I'll be a good writer.. Thanks for being my mentor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome to read cash and am glad you found the article helpful to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the part about following everyone's opinion; it's not everything time a writer is correct, we can share our side of the story and the writer will also learn from us too. We should always accept all opinions, we should contribute too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the truth, not everything we read about we should accept, otherwise we will have half or wrong information.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with this, mist specially to the first common mistake which is about working alone, I can say that I'm not good in writing and even in using english language in writing but with the help of others I still manage to continue developing my writing skills as long as I meet frends who's still there putting comments and suggestions sometimes how to be a good blogger. Thanks for the informative articles

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, when you work with others you learn faster and improve your skills.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always been selective in making comments on your articles, cos I wouldn't want to talk on crypto related stuffs I have no in depth knowledge of. All the points you mentioned here sir, are actually very common, I can see a few of them that I as a new writer make and which I will try my possible best to stop doing. Thanks.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a good thing you have been doing, instead of making uninformed comment just enjoy the read and move on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’m guilty for the 1,4 and 5 most especially 4 because I always try to persuade people so subscribe to me which I know that I need to support other writers so I can get support from them also. All your points and thoughts are very legit sir. Thanks for this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Interaction is the heart of the blogging business, without it you hardly get followers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I kept on nodding my head as I read through your article.. number one really got to me... It was just my experience when I started blogging on read. This is my first and only blogging experience, so I was a complete and total "neophyte" I didn't engage in people's articles but I expected them to engage in mine because I felt I typed it well... Lol, I'm sure the rest is known... I'm glad I've seen the light now. I now understand the aspect of blogging, better.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Talent is nothing without engagement with others. No matter how good you are you need people to succeed as a blogger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago