Caught In The Act: Examination Malpractice

13 30
Avatar for FashTioluwa
2 years ago

Recently in my school “Kwara state polytechnic”, every student is busy with one examination or the other because it is exam period. The fresher and the stay lite on campus have all been busy reading and preparing for exams, since I'm in my final year, I'm doing my best to study hard and abstain from any form of examination malpractice. I have never done it before and I have a feeling that the first time I will try it, I would get caught. My school has some weird rules for the examination which is counted as malpractice which is not written in the polytechnic constitution but all students know this to be counted as malpractice such as putting on face cap to the examination hall, licking a stick sweet while the exam is on, chewing gum while the exam is on, also you can’t use any kind of wristwatch. Since we all know this unwritten constitution, we abide by it to graduate without any problem.

It happened on this faithful day, I had an exam very early in the morning at the hour of 08:00 am WAT, I woke up at night to read, I went to the exam hall with so much confidence in myself, after the exam had started, just a few minutes into the exam, the guy seating next to me brought out a text which pertains to the exam course we are currently writing, at first I didn’t see him, but the way we were acting, he looks tensed and unsettled, I had to look at his side just to see him with a textbook on his laps. I could just ignore him and act like I don’t know, but if he was caught, I would be in trouble too, I could report him and everyone in the exam hall would see me as a snitch, and besides, I don’t know who he is, so he won’t attack me after the exam, I love my life. I try talking to him by whispering

Me: hey, hey, hey... Would you put that away, do you know you can implicate both of us

The Guy: “ignore me”

Me: there are three invigilators, you would be caught, don’t implicate me, I don’t know what’s going on here

The Guy: face your book.

I turned my face away and continue writing, the first invigilator walk towards my side, look at me, look at the guy, then walk away, I was shaking already cause I thought the guy has been caught just for me to look at his side and not to find the textbook with him again, I was shocked cause the textbook is big, where the hell did he hide it? I was glad the textbook was away, I couldn’t write properly because of the fear I was feeling, after some hour, some people were already submitting, and at that time I knew it would be the perfect time to change my seat, but I wouldn’t be able to do so without taking permission from the invigilator and giving them a reasonable excuse why I want to change my seat.

Finally, I summon up my courage and asked for a change of seat, a close friend of mine, "Amoke" was looking at me and she knew something was wrong, when I was asked why I wanted to change my position, didn't know what to say then Amoke step in and said, Sir, he is not used to writing close to the window, it makes his senses dull... I was gonna say, nothing makes my sense dull but to my surprise, I was asked to move.

Not quite long, an external invigilator came in and went straight to the guy's place, him to stand up and said, bring out the material you're copying from. He denied it, I was even surprised how the invigilator could know without being inside the hall with us, he said: I have been looking at you for quite some time now from the window and I know malpractice when I see one, he asked an invigilator to search the guy, but they didn't find anything on him and that one even surprise me the more cause I saw the textbook with him. The external invigilator asked the other invigilator to step back and he did the search himself, to my extra surprise, he remove the textbook from the boy pocket, it was like magic, like juju, like jass, everyone attention was at the corner of the hall, the boy was taken out of the hall and asked to fill a malpractice form, we were asked to continue our exam, the people sitting around the boy were implicated, cause the invigilator believe they had hands in it too, and others where pick for being a witness, I was just glad I changed my seat before anything happen. God just loves me so so so much. The End

Lead image from unsplash.com

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed it
Article type: Lifestyle
Date: 16/02/2022
Author: FashTioluwa

11
$ 2.02
$ 1.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.02 from @Amazing-grace
+ 3
Sponsors of FashTioluwa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FashTioluwa
2 years ago

Comments

That external invigilator must have had alot if years experience for being able to catch the guy red-handed when others couldn't

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sure the man must be a guru

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Others shouldn't have been implicated since they were not caught copying him. God really saved you. I know you must have prayed and read very well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prayer is the one thing I don't joke with and before any exam, I do fast three days ahead for it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abeg which church you dey go? Or you be pastor? That was a real message/signal from heaven to save you that day. Thank God!

Actually, some lecturers have experience in catching cheaters in exam hall

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah God really save me.. Time for testimony on Sunday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah!!!!!!! Thank God you changed your seat jeez! I can't even imagine the kind of trouble you would have been in if you were still sitting next to him. I don't even know if I would have been able to muster up courage to change seats. I'm even surprised how the first person didn't find the book on him

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like everyone was surprise cause it was a text book not a sheet of paper.. And I'm in my final year o😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Imagine being caught in final year, mehn!! I'm just happy you changed seats but I feel bad for those that were implicated

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How did the guy did it? He must be so smart but his smartness got to a limit then. Thank God it was when you changed seat and it is all by your friend´s help especially from God. Thank God for you. What would have happened if you were caught especially at the final stage. Some people are just bold and not afraid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And the guy was also at his final year too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow....God really saved you bro 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

trouble

Big time saving

$ 0.00
2 years ago