Spending time with feathered friends

42 53
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

January 17, 2022

Hello Lovely readers!

It's is Monday again and I hope that you are all doing good and enjoying your Monday. It's the third week of the month and the cases here in my country keep on growing. I just hope that after this third week cases will start to subside as it means more people are done with their fourteen-day quarantine and it means that they are healed too. So, please please make sure to take care of yourself and do take your vitamins. The weather is still crazy so all we can do is boost ourselves as not to get sick.

Anyway, I was browsing my Facebook photos when I saw this album from my trip to Sydney way back in 2014. The only photos that I have are the ones on my Facebook since my phone went kaput last week and I wasn't able to save any photos from it. I'll check if it still can be fixed and hopefully be able to save my photos from there.

Back to browsing my photos, let me share with you one of my adventures in Sydney, one that I can never forget and that gave me so much joy.

It's the Pelican Feeding at the Entrance at the Central Coast of New South Wales.

Meeting these feathered friends is one of the things that I did when I was there. Didn't think these feathered friends called Pelicans would be so friendly. When I and my friends arrived in the area they are all in the water and minding their own business but when the guy in charge called them using the whistle they all fly to him and waited for his next signal.

The man in charge waited for them to settle before he blew his whistle again. And this time whistle tune is different from the one when they called them. The man shows all the viewers how the pelicans follow his order like when he raised his hands their beaks are all facing up.

Can you see how behaved they are? They just stayed that way while waiting to be fed. The man is feeding them with small fish.

The Pelican feeding is so entertaining to watch. Whenever the man moves his hand their beak follows it. And when the man throws in a fish one will just raise his beak higher than the others until one catches it.

See the beak of each Pelican they open their beak when the fish will land near them and they just wait for the man to throw it again. The viewers also have their chance to feed them but not all wanted to try it.

After the feeding, the Pelicans mingle with humans, they roam around the area as if it's just a natural thing to do for them. The viewers are given some pellets that they can give to these amazing birds. Some like the idea but some are afraid to get near the Pelicans. Wondering if I fed them? Yes, but I didn't get near them, who wouldn't get scared of that beak? LOL

They are also selling miniature stuffed Pelicans that you can bring home with you as their souvenirs.

Meeting these wonderful and amazing feathered friends was such an experienced and I would do it again if I'll have another chance. Being with them can give you so much joy and can make you feel how wonderful nature is. Imagine seeing these big birds acting like domestic animals was such a great experience. It doesn't happen every day unless you live there. lol


And if you are still reading this... Thank you so much.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;) Yep, all photos are mine.

014/365/2022

18
$ 7.65
$ 7.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 12
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

Si marlin at Dory talaga una kong naalala nong nakita ko yung first pic ng pelicans hahhaha yung sa Finding Nemo ate ba. Yung hinatid sila ng pelican papunta sa tank ni Nemo. Ang kyut pala ng pelicans sa personal haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I love seeing more of the pelicans

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti sis gentle sila. Mga nakikita ko sa Tiktok nanghahabol mga ibon. Nalala ko yung Disney movie na Dumbo kasi si Dumbo, hinatid ng ibon sa zoo hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang ako yung natakot sa mga tuka nila ate. Ang lalaki. Hahaha. Pero ang cute nung nag susunod sunod sila sa foods. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those pelicans are beautiful! I would love to feed them, but I'm looking at those gloves and wondering how much damage they can do haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan yung ibon na kumuha kay Nemo! Tama ba? Hahaha. Nakakatuwa nga sila. Ang cute tignan habang pinapakain hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fun fact about the pelicans; 1. they actually have the potential to attack, that's why it's advised to watch the untamed pelicans from afar

  1. they do not eat just fish, they also eat turtles and tadpoles.
  2. their gular sac actually spreads down to their abdomen when they look up.

well i guess my days of reading encyclopedia paid off after all.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep.. the only reason these ones can be watched closely is because they are trained already :) thanks for the info especially about their gular sac lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't remember the last time I saw these birds

$ 0.01
2 years ago

you have those in your country? :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No. I meant on tv.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aw..thought you have a place where you can see them :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe there's though, but I'm not much a traveler yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww ang gaganda nila madams, salamat sa pag share samin 🤩

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I felt good to see the way, Pelicans mingle with humans. It would surely be a delightful day in 2014.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep it really sis.. my friends and i had a wonderful time with them :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hndi b sla nanunuka? 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yang mga yan nde naman siguro dahil sa trained na sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eto din ba yun bird na nagdedeliver ng baby sis? 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha oo sis yan din yun lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, wala ba nito sa pinas? Papadeliver ako baby,hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The beauty of nature can relieve stress 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep that is so true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I watch a lot of these in various wildlife channels in youtube but I never thought these birds are enormous in real life. Wish I can see them too in person.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha yep they are enormous but this ones are trained already

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah, for real?! That's what makes these birds more interesting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to go out sometimes and see the beauty of nature

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep.. but that one happened a few years ago hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They're so big pala in real life! Parang pwede akong makain ng pelicans pag lumapit ako haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahahaha wala pa naman ako nabalitaan na kinain nila na tao... subukan natin?hahaha joke

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seen enough videos on internet but never been close to them. I wish I could.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

who knows one day :) the devil can do anything he wants remember lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah! I've never come across pelicans before, we don't have anything in my country. I'm wondering, do they bite?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

the one that I encountered doesn't bite lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow! I've been longing to see these types of animals but the unfortunate thing is that you just can't find them anywhere in Africa where we live in

$ 0.01
2 years ago

we don't have them here in the Philippines too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like these very much. I just watch these videos on YouTube . But never met directly. My son really wants to play with these.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sure your son would love it .. and you will love it too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. My niece would love to be there. Even adults enjoyed being with pelicans. Love it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep it is for all ages... whether your old or your young.. you will enjoy it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Considering that pelicans swallow fish whole, I think I'll be on the side of those who are afraid.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahahaha but these ones are already trained

$ 0.00
2 years ago