My salad garden

42 60
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago
Topics: Planting, Greens

December 13, 14, 2021

I'm running out of topic though I know there are millions of topics out there that I can write but my mind is not cooperating... again. So let me try if I'll end up somewhere with this one...

That first paragraph was written last night and that was all I've ever written after staring at this page for about 20 minutes or so until my temple starts aching so I did stop and just get my coloring stuff instead to finish my last piece but that didn't happen too after coloring 2 parts I decided to return all my coloring stuff to where it should be and head to bed with phone and laptop and played Splinterlands. After a few lost I decided to stop playing too. Looks like odd was not in my favor last night.

Anyhoo, last night was not my topic, remember I did share in my article I'm back after 15 days! that I bought some seeds that I want to plant? That same day I started planting those seeds and I'm going to update you now with them.

Didn't expect that planting seeds would give me so much excitement, it put a smile on my face every time I check them because they always surprise me with something new. It's not my first time taking care of plants but it was my first time planting seeds. Did some research about the seed before I start putting them on the soil, how they germinate, how long will it take them to have sprouted, how long do I still have to wait before I can re-pot them, how long before I can harvest them and how to take care of them.

My favorite among them is the Arugula, I like the taste of it in salads and in sandwiches that is why I want to plant it and it turns out that it is easy to grow too. But the real reason why I planted it aside from me liking it that much is because it is expensive when you buy it in the market. Imagine 250 grams of it is about a hundred or $2. So thinking of why spend when you can plant it in your own backyard right? Arugula grows faster and it doesn't want too much sun so planting it inside my store or at home or in a shaded area is not a problem. It doesn't need much water too I just have to keep the soil moist. Not a handful eh? So after 5 days of planting the seeds, I now 2 have inches tall baby arugula. Isn't it exciting? They really grow fast.

The second seed that sprouted fast is the Pechay. It is really not included in the seeds that I ordered but the seller give it to me for free so why not plant it right? Another plant that is not hard to take care of and grows faster too.

Pechay

After six days, my Thai basil shows some signs of sprouting, well according to Mr. Google, Basil plants germinate in 7 to 10 days after planting and will be ready for repotting after 4 - 5 weeks. Mine had sprouted on its 6th day, so I think I'm doing well with this plant. As per KennyRoy, Basil plants don't want too much water so have to keep that in mind as I loved watering them. This one lasts longer than Arugula and it gives some flowers too.

Thai Basil

To complete my salad ingredients garden I planted red lettuce too and will plant tomorrow morning the capsicum or red bell pepper. The lettuce is so friendly that it sprouted the following day and its sprouts are so cute, they look different from the usual sprout of two leaves like half of a cloverleaf. Lettuce seeds need light to germinate and have to harden the plant by reducing water and temperature before transplant. It doesn't want direct sunlight so has to make sure that it is always in a shaded area. Guess, I don't need to transfer these seedlings anymore since they are planted in paper cups just like the one I saw on youtube.

Cilantro and Red lettuce

The last 3 seeds that I'm waiting to germinate are Cilantro, Celery, and Sage and it will still take time before they wave hello to me, so for now, let's just enjoy these ones and I'll update you again on how they are doing once all my salad ingredients are ready for harvest or maybe after a month or two.


lead image source

Thanks for your time reading this article, if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. By the way, let's talk some more so I hope you will leave a comment below and share with me your thoughts.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)

pla

20
$ 11.90
$ 11.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 12
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago
Topics: Planting, Greens

Comments

I really love plants, but where I live I don't have edible plants, I only have cacti and succulents. Planting also excites me a lot and I love it when my plant grows a lot and I have to find a new pot so that my plant can live better.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very good, congratulations. Recommendation: after the basil has seeds to replant, cut all the flowers and seeds, so that it is always lush green. When you select any kind of seeds, sprinkle a little bit of ashes to save them, when sowing apply a little bit of cinnamon, it is a good rooting agent.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ok.. will remember that cinnamon.. i don't know what happened but my plants looks like they are not growing hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay they are growing!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute nung garden mo. Gusto ko din magtanin for salad salad pero bakit Hindi ko nasisimulan lagi haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I also like salads, this is like bean sprouts made from green beans, really like hydroponic plants like this dear. By the way, I hope I'm still accepted here and become a part of amateur writer.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Galing mo sis. Sakin pagmagtatanim ako e namamatay agad haha! Sana may green thumb rin ako. Hanggang succulent na lang siguro ako. Madami lang kasi alagaan. hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice article, you are very interested in projects, I just joined and I would like to help you, I have some questions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank for showing us your babies sis hehe! Gonna buy pechay from you soon pag nag harvest na hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will just give you some for free sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh

dami mo nang plants envious meeeee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha sana talaga sis makabuhay ka na ng halaman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sana talaga madam...huhuhhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How many days before the lettuce sprouted?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Less than 24 hours

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. That is some kind of therapy sis. It will surely calm a person and brings happiness and peace and satisfaction. All in one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All writers must face writers block in one way or the other, it's a good thing that you came up with something that you could use to keep your audience busy... I'll love to see the celery when if germinates.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thanks to tengolotodo for telling me to write about my plants :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahilg k rn pla mag tanim

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sis... lumaki kasi ako na puro halaman sa paligid namin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabi, ang dami ang galing galing. I mean, di lang talaga ako makarelate gawa ng di ako maalam magpatubo baga haha. Pero ang galing nyo, naalala ko si Hanzell plantita din yon sya.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

sabi nga ni hanzell plantita din sya.. waiting daw sya dun sa mga order nya na seeds hehe tara tanim ka na din hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha if sana di ako plant killer kita mo pag ako nag tanim matic na ang death ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

as in matic death? walang paligoy ligoy?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also love arugula. And I've never tried Pechay. Here we have basil, which has never done very well in my pots. Good luck with your salad garden; I hope you keep showing us the progress. xoxo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yay! cheers to loving arugula! i just loved its taste! and hope i can share with you some by the time i harvevst it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love arugula in salads and also add it to sandwiches 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha same here sis. i just find it perfet with those those haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me and my mind and speed reading ....

Do you know salad is an anagram of a lads

So I read as " A Lads Garden" hehe it looks awesome though, but I want my courgette in there!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

lolz! wonder why your mind is in a rush reading lol oo... oo.. oo will add your courgette in my lil garden! hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pechay is very low maintenance, I love that veg :) The bell pepper is kind of sweet so be careful with the ants. Samen madaming ibon kaya mahirap magtanim ng mga ganyan :( I can't wait to see them grow sis :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

dito din sis madami so nasa loob sila.. but i do hope i can just leave them outside.. and thanks for the tips! hahaha will note that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If kaya mong maglagay ng net para maharangan yung mga ibon, but that will require a lot of effort I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all face writers block at some point. Irrespective of that, you were able to come up with something. Hehe.

I’d like to see the picture of the Celery when it germinates.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to see your salad garden and the way you are taking care of it. I also have a vegetable garden, but nowadays I am not spending much time there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Guess you are busy nowadays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You really love planting sis. Congrats sis it grow so fast. The other names I don't familiar sis. Pechay is one of the best too. My mom always plant that. A free viands we have and put it also like nilagang baboy. Happy for you sis. I know it will grow bigger.🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sana nga sis hehehe first time ko nagtanim ng gulay e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis basta alagaan mo lang sila mabuti sis. I know lalaki yan sis at maka harvest kana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I'llnhave to ask Mr Google about what Arugula looks like, hehe.

Masarap talaga sa feeling na makita na ganyan tunutubo na un seeds. Kaya tinawag na stress reliever ang pagtatnim eh, hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga sis.. sobrang aliw sya hehehe go masarap yung arugula sis eh hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di pa ako nakakita nito sis kaya pla di ako familiar sa name hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago