Bedtime habits that keep us awake at night

56 59
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

October 15, 2021

Hello lovely readers!

Are you among those people who have trouble sleeping at night? Are you the kind that once you are too tired, you cannot sleep early?

You are exhausted and drained after a protracted working day and all you can think of is to lay down on your bed and sleep. But that doesn't happen.

As soon as you are on bed, you retain on tossing and turning and trying to find that most comfortable position that you can sleep. Your mind begins to wander and get plagued with endless thoughts. And you just can't sleep no matter how you try.

And the culprit? It's our bedtime habit that keeps us awake. Let's examine what are these bedtime habits that creating us sleepless in the dark.

Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
THESE PEOPLE ARE WAY TOO FABULOUS FOR YOU NOT TO CHECK THEM OUT!

Drinking water

Drinking water and staying hydrated throughout the day is sweet for our health but after dinner, we should always limit ourselves with our water intake. We should always stop drinking one hour before we head to bed or will find yourself getting up through the night visiting the bathroom. If you've got to drink warm milk before going to bed drink it for a minimum of an hour because similar to water it will give you trips to the toilet. And not all can easily go back to sleep after they get up.

Eating heavily before sleep

This one could be a piece of public knowledge to everyone. Everybody knows that it is not good to eat heavily before going to bed or you'll even up with vivid nightmares, worst is you will not be comfortable laying on the bed with your full stomach.

The last food intake for the night should be at least 2 to 3 hours before bedtime. Giving your body enough time to digest it well just before you hit the sack. And if the gnawing feeling of hunger doesn't make you fall asleep at night, choose to eat fruit. Avoid fast foods like fries, burgers, pizzas, anything that is heavy and oily.

Exercise

Just like drinking water, this one is additionally a healthy habit for the body. But just like drinking water, we should not be doing any rigorous exercise or activity before bedtime or it will negatively affect our sleep. It will keep our body anxious because of the high adrenaline produce by the routines of our exercise. If you wish to exercise have it away a minimum of 4 hours before your bedtime to present your body enough time to relax.

And if your body needs to relieve some stress, choose a brief stroll rather than a protracted evening walk or running on a treadmill. A brief stroll will give your mind and body the comfort it needs without getting your energy too high.

Click the photo for credits

Playing with gadgets

Just like anyone else, I'm also guilty of this one.

Let's attempt to limit cut some screen time before falling asleep. Gadgets over-stimulate the brain making it restless and the light from the screen emits that infamous blue light. This light suppresses our sleep hormone, giving proof to the brain that it's not yet time to sleep because of the light. End result? Altered sleeping time because the brain doesn't want to believe that it's nighttime already.

But if you cannot cut some screen time before bedtime, choose the special night mode on your device so that it will lessen the blue light that it emits. Though I suggest that if you actually want to sleep early turn off all your gadgets at least an hour before bedtime.

Reading books

Reading addicts and reading lovers argue that this is a healthy habit and all the spheres of your life benefit from it but reading as a bedtime habit is not. Just like watching movies or playing gadgets, reading excites your mind. If the book you are reading is too interesting you will not be able to put it aside instead you'll end up reading all night sacrificing your sleep. So, yes this one is also not a good habit before going. to bed unless you are going to do it any time during the day that it will not affect your sleeping time.

Click the photo for credits

Thinking about work

There are people who can't stop thinking before they go to bed. Their mind is loaded with their to-do list, bills to pay, and some work-related problems. Did you know that these thoughts usually cause anxiety which makes the quality of sleep way worse? Try to avoid these kinds of thoughts before bedtime and try to think of pleasant thoughts. But if you can't avoid thinking of work-related stuff try to manage it earlier in the day.

Sleep is extremely important for our bodies. It helps restore your energy, boosts your immune system, fends off depression, and reduces the danger of cardiovascular disease. Lack of sleep can make us irritated, stress, daytime sleepiness, and lack of focus and concentration. To avoid these things let's attempt to avoid these habits that may affect our sleep negatively.


lead image source

Thanks for your time reading this article, if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. By the way, let's talk some more so I hope you will leave a comment below and share with me your thoughts.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)

23
$ 9.80
$ 9.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 9
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

All the points you said are very true and we should not do them before bedtime. I guess we all have some of these bad habits. I have to work on some of those as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep! and staying away from the gadget is the hardest lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thinking about these two platforms is what makes me awake at night. Lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahahaa guilty here too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahhahaha.. . . guilty din ako jan ahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So I have been doing things the wrong way and still complain that I don't sleep well, lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahahaha same here.. and still we do it lol like me right now. its almost 10 pm here and I'm still in front of my laptop lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a nice reminder for everyone of us. Eventhough I come home as late as 10 pm because of my online class, I still eat dinner and I instantly fall asleep. There are times though that I feel energetic and won't sleep until 12 am. A friend told me that I should stop eating late because it might cause stomach cancer. So even when I'm hungry, I don't eat a heavy meal before going to bed anymore.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

you can eat as long as it light.. try to limit having heavy meal as it will give you digestive problems

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din po isa sa hindi makatylog agad sa gabi.. yung iinom ng tubig at gatas sa gabi effective sa akin e minsan nakakatamad din po kaya d ko nagagawa.. adik din po ako sa cp at sa mga movies kya siguro dpa nakakatulog agad... Pero nitong nagkasakit ako almost2 weeks ay gusto ko na talaga bagohin ang routine ko so gingawa ko po para makatulog agad nakikinig ng music sa cp nka headset din pikit mata maya2x nakakatulog nako magigising ako bandang 12am nga lang hehe tapos gutom tapos ayon makakatulog ng mga bandang 2am tas gigising mga 7am.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ako minsan dahil sa series nakakatulog ng past 3am.. pero minsan talagang hindi lang makatulog

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis may insomnia kana ata hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty po ako dun sa gadgets before sleep. Kaya kailangan ko rin ayosin gawain

$ 0.01
2 years ago

nakakalibang naman din kasi eh.. kaya lang yun nga lang.. nakakasama sa katawan natin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako madam pag yong buhay na buhay pa ang diwa or yong hyper baga diko rin alam bakit ako nahahype, yan jan ako nahihirapang makatulog. Minsan naman ay dahil sa sobrang daming isipin na tumatakbo sa isip ko. Ang hirap nila minsan alisin rr kaya ayun, gising ako magdamag ahahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ang hirap pagnatakbo ang utak eh.. nakakapagod habulin lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako talaga sis nahihirapan makatulog sa gabi lalo na kapag inaatake ng insomnia.heheh.but thank you sis sa pag share nito..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ako wala naman insomia pero pag umpisahan manood.. ayaw na pumikit ng mata ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to read before going to sleep. But I don't usually have trouble reconciling sleep. But it happens to me from time to time that I wake up in the middle of the night and sometimes find it hard to get back to sleep.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

actually i don't have a problem going back to sleep but I do have a problem sleeping lol guilty of reading and watching movies plus playing hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I wake up in the middle of the night, I'm guilty of reading and watching movies too, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have no problem with that, I always drink water before going to bed, I can play, read, do anything. When I go to bed I close my eyes and that's it, I'm asleep, if I wake up for any reason, when I go back to bed I turn off the switch, I'm asleep again. The only thing is that since Read.cash, I live dreaming about BCH, hehehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

lucky you hahaha i always have a hard time sleeping and yes guilty of gadgets

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Since I met read.cash I have not slept in a month. Ahah. It is a total addiction.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahahahahaha i agree with you...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this sis.. I have difficulty of sleeping. It's been one month I'm worry about this even how many times I tried to sleep but nothing happens sis.

I think this is an insomnia sis. It's my first time experiencing like this.🥺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

it can be insomia too.. but note that these habits can also lead to insomia

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis.. Thank you for this sis ....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pero ako nasanay na akong uminom ng tubig before matulog hahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

pwede naman daw kaya lang at least an hour para naman d ka na gigising sa gabi..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are all guilty of the phones stuff. Using phones in the night will keep you awake till 12am if possible

$ 0.01
2 years ago

can keep you up the whole night actually...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have difficulty sleeping early at night because I'm a nocturnal type of person and I hate mornings. I usually can sleep around 2 or 3 am.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i think you can still fix that.. note that body regenerate between 11pm to 4am :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, is that so? I'm trying my best now. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whenever I try to do fine calculations, a sleepless night awaits me, whenever I lay my head on the pillow with my mind empty, it takes seconds for me to fall asleep. It's true that sleeping on a full stomach is an invitation to nightmares.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep. clear mind can make you sleep fast :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Noise and read and Netflix :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha same here.. plus splinterland and pvu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I had more time for discovering splinterland.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😄I hate being sleepy but when I actually try then I cant, I would just be on the bed, thinking and looking for the best sleeping positions. Until my back breaks and knock me out

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahahaha i hate being sleepy too... it feels like 24 hours is not enough

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty of everything aigoooooo

and I need to change my reading habit also ..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahahahaha wala pa akong nababasa na nde guilty lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nyahahahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm guilty for using gadgets before sleeping but most of the time, I can't sleep because I overthink too much about my pending activities and some other stuffs

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha i'm having fun reading that most of us have the same habit lols

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so guilty of staring at gadgets until I sleep hahaha.. need to change that

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i think most of us hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty ako sa cellphone. Lage naman eh. 🤭😆 I only have trouble sleeping when I drink caffeine on that day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ako pag sobrang pagod.. usually d ako makatulog agad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi there friend. I am one of those playing games before going to bed. And another thing is that posting an article here in read.cash before going to bed was also one of my every night routine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha guilty din ako sa gaming before bedtime

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nakaka adik naman kasi :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaahaha I felt myself defensive on the reading part. Hahaha can I say half guilty then? On my end, I probably lack that exercise and the water intake. As for gadget, I still get to sleep even while fiddling on it .. but I do have insomnia . .that's when all things in check but sleep does not visit. I'm not even overthinking then.. reading is a culprit if I'm reading mystery/suspense books . ..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

for me? the culprit are reading and watching movies ... i always wanted to finish it whenever I start to read or watch lol so yes I'm guilty too lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago