My CryptoLoan Gone Wrong!

45 98
Avatar for Eybyoung
2 years ago

Disclaimer: This article is intended only to share my experience with crypto loans at Binance. This is not financial advice, if you'd like to know more about how crypto loans work please DYOR! It is very risky, don't jump like a Kangaroo 🦘!

Crypto loans are available on any platform that offers them, you can have a loan using your hodl coins and used it for collateral. If you wish to hold a certain coin for long term and do not plan to sell it yet, you can make loan of other coins or stablecoins where you can use for whatever reason you want.

It's my first time availing loan in crypto, if some people like to avail loans and used them to buy for other things, mine is different I used loan as my capital. Way back, I remember I keep availing of an online loan app from Tala Philippines, it started from 2,000 Php then gradually increase my loanable amount because I pay it on time or earlier.

I used that money I loans as my capital before when I tried online selling and join some investment scheme, I got busted later on as the investment turned into a scam. Well, that's another story but what I am going to share in this article I'll tell you how my crypto loan went wrong 😆

How did my crypto loan go wrong?

It's been 3 months that my crypto loans at Binance got stuck. I was curious how these crypto loans work, so I tried it since I am holding my BCH I made it as my collateral, but sadly I failed to make it as a short-term loan lol.

My $YFI trade got stuck-up

I bought $Cake last time and I made a $25 profit from the $130 USDT I loaned.

Then the due date of my loan is still far so I bought $YFI at $45608 price, because I don't pay attention to my trade I wasn't able to cancel the order, I remember I did that Friday and before when the weekends come the market goes down and it did went down until $23806 level almost half of the price when I bought lol 😆

The total amount I used was exactly $140 but right now I am still at loss amounting to $20.I left the $15 in case I need some extra. I even renew my loan and paid I think $2+ only so not bad.

Yesterday (August 9) was the due date of my loan again, I was thinking if I'll pay it as I have $160, $120 from YFI, and $40 spare for doing small trades but I cannot accept that I am at loss.

I loaned again to pay for the coming due date of the first loan

I have 0.82BCH as my collateral for my loan and the TVL is around 28-31% only, just to make sure it is far from liquidation. This time I chose 180 days maturation, so I won't be stress when monthly due date comes.

As I said I cannot accept to sell my $YFI at a loss just to pay my loan, so what I did is to adjust the LTV and remove some collateral which is 0.40BCH, and made a loan again with an amount of $137.50 then chose 180 days term that incurs $12+ fees.

180 days is equivalent to 6 months if the market can recover then I can sell the $YFI already, even if it's just BE (break even) to the capital so I can pay my loan. After 180 days, my total loan payment would be $149.87 but if I repay early that amount will lower.

After the loan push through I pay the first loan that was due yesterday and adjust the TVL again so my collateral will not be at risk.

Is it a wise decision?

I don't know if this wise decision, I just had strong beliefs that the market will recover soon and I am just holding my BCH anyway.

I can sleep in peace now, and I will not be stress thinking about (Judith) due date lol. If I'll do better on my trade 6 months is a long time and I think I can make $150 enough to pay the total loan amount with its interest. I just don't like the idea of selling at loss when I can just hodl it for a while. I know I must have profit instead of this bullshit stuck up, but damage has been done hahaha.

I am not worried as well because if the market will recover and $YFI crossed at least $50,000 I can have a little profit from that and I can pay the loan right away earlier than its due date and the interest calculation will be lowered. All time high of $YFI is $95,000, let's see what will happen next.

I can loan again as I have more collateral and trade but I will not risk more of my BCH anymore.

KeyNOTES;

  • If you are a trader always monitor your trade so it will not get stuck when the market starts sinking. But if you are trading in spot, if your trade went wrong just HODL!

  • Never sell at loss, because in spot you'll only lose once you start selling at negative PNL.

  • Never do this crypto loan if you don't know what you are doing because it also has liquidation especially if the price of your collateral goes DIPer. The Liquidation is at 83% the high risk bracket.

  • If your collateral price drop and reached the medium risk, you'll receive a margin call via text or email to add collateral inorder to avoid liquidation. My collateral amount of BCH before was only 0.25BCH that's why I got that margin call when BCH drops to $400 below. I just keep adding it to lower the LTV.

  • My current loan has 28.48% as of writing this article. If it's in green it means it is far from liquidation.

  • Keep an eye of your collateral coin price to make sure your LTV is not at risk.

  • Always TAYOR- Trade At Your Own Risk and always DYOR- Do Your Own Research.

Closing Thoughts

Since my partner was a way I am not so attentive with Trading anymore as I don't have much time, this was the reason why most of my trades got stuck because if I got busy with noise and read. cash, I forgot my trade lol.

Don't do trading if you can't pay attention especially in leverage, or else you'll get rekt!

I also learned there is no QUICK RICE scheme in trading, you'll have to eat a lot and learn a lot to master it lol. Indeed no shortcuts in getting rich haha!

I am not also trading with leverage now, I cannot spent sleepless nights to monitor anymore.

That's all, thank you for reading!

Date Published: August 10, 2021

30
$ 13.13
$ 12.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 15
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
2 years ago

Comments

I will take time to study this crypto loan thingy. Hirap pumasok pag unti alam baka maubos na naman pera hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yes study hard 😂 learn what's the risk kase masyado talaga risky yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagpadala si Binance ng 200 at 500 worth ng USDT sa partner ko. SIguro nagexpire na yung voucher hehe. You will recover hopefully soon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only thing that can make your decision justifiable is when the market picks up and I hope it picks up so you won't have to keep taking loans to repay the existing one. I've never taken one though but I know it exists. Marc also spoke about taking some to fund some projects. I hope the market picks up again...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Advice noted just In case i venture into it...now you going to get much better after observing those flaws...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya talaga dapat ko ng e install at e explore ang binance eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dahan dahan lang haha risky masyado dyor lagi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ow hahaha! Nga naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read that the market will recover soon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nanaykopo, bat kasi nag loaf ka aguyy. Another isipin oa iyan. Pero sana talaga maka recover na ang market. Para naman naku, naku talaga. 😵

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha chill lang naman ako malayo nman sa liquidation.. isip isip lang talaga paraan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was making a mental calculation how much all that was but good thing you were able to work it out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, need to work out. Trying my best to doe better i trading haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede din pala mag loan sa binance. Wow dami ko pala talagang dpat i learn hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo haha daming features sa Binance pwd e explore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ate ask ko lang sa spot trading, pagba di nareach ung sinet di mawawala ung laman?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman andon lang yun kung spot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat poo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko pa nasusubukan mag crypto loan o kaya yung daily trading din, may mga times kase na namimiss ko ung pagtaas ng crypto, madalas at a loss pag check ko haha. Dapat talaga nababantayan siya every hour at least.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo need talaga minomonitor din talaga pag may trade para iwas talo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great

$ 0.00
2 years ago

D ko carry magloan lalo na kung collateral at BCH 😅 mas mabuti mag trade nlng.. Safe pa. Haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si Marc nga eh nag loan 😂 curious lang kasi ko how it works, tsaka pang trade nmn talaga yan naipit lang. May pambayad nmn na ako ayoko lang mag lose trade ko sa YFI

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko pa natry magloan, sis. Di ko kasi namomonitor lagi. Dapat malaki din collateral mo nyan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga kaya nga na stuck yang sakin kasi di ko namonitor nang maayos. Oo dapat talaga malaki para iwas liquidation. Kita mo malapit na 1BCH collateral ko haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is such a good a good article . I never got into the crypto loans , but I have considered it a few times for the same reason you did; to get some capital. I never realized that these work on leverage and you could be liquidated. Now I know for sure to stay away from these loans . Thank you!

Oh, and I know all about the stress of watching a trade. If I ever do get confident enough in my technical analysis to start trading leverage I'm going to start with the 3x ETF coins that KuCoin offers . They have BTC3x long /short ETH3x long/short, but it's set up with a rebalancing mechanism that helps keep you from being liquidated. It's like leverage for noobs, haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What's Kicking? Is is a new Exchanger? Sorry haven't heard that haha. Yes monitoring trade can be very stressful especially after you bought the market start sinking, it's like it only wait for me to buy then goes down after buying hahaha.

Yeah, you should stay away especially if your collateral is not much as it is very susceptible to liquidation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry, Kicking was a typo ; I fixed it. It was supposed to be KuCoin . Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, Ah KuCoin. Also heard KuCoin has trading bot, have you tried it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, they actually have a few different trading bots. I haven't tried it yet but that is actually my ultimate goal in learning all this technical analysis and charting stuff. I want to be able to put my system into a trading bot and have it make money 24/7, lol. Some of the returns people are making are outrageous!! You can follow someone else's parameters or create your own .

If you are interested, I think it's worth looking into . You'll be able to understand it no doubt about it. You are way smarter than me and I almost got it figured out , lol. I'm not good at this complicated stuff. I like spot trading, haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha actually I already tried that Trading bot at Poinex Exchange and their broker is Binance. Just that I wasn't able to save my trade and close the bot before the market crash!

Still noob at trading, for pete's sake I always got busted but I don't mind it, at least I am learning and I am aware it's part of learning curve. I am not that smart I am just also a curious noob, a risk taker and love to explore.

But I am doing my best to accumulate capital and do trading grid again, just don't know when haha depends on capital as usual.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow, so you are already way ahead of me! That is awesome!

Hey, you are being too humble, lol. I truly believe your intelligence is above average, and you won't convince me otherwise, hahaha. I can see it with my own eyes, lol.

That really sucks you got rekd like that. Sometimes those situations are unavoidable even for the so called "experts". Cryptos are so volatile that even if you set a proper stop loss the price can still go right through you. Just remember you can be as risky as you want as long as you have a good risk management strategy you won't blow up your account and live to trade another day.

I've learned human psychology actually plays a pretty big role in determining price action and market trends. I never realized trading incorporated so many interesting subjects. Being a risk taker is one trait that will benefit you in trading. It's actually what is holding me back I think. I am too conservative; That, and of course the capital because it's a $200.00 minimum to start the bot. Keep up the good work. We are all noobs and we get better by helping each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So there is minimum in KuCoin, I wasn't that very sad about my experience in trading bot because I only used small funds on that $25 only, there are some coins that has high capital needed, I traded BCH/USDT pair in there and I can open bot with only $25. It became $30 but didn't save it now it's half HAHAHA.

I agree human psychology plays a big rule in trading, what I am trying to control and try to master is my risk management. I am too risk taker, if I lose I just tell myself “Oh! It's part of learning!” then try again hahaha

The only advantage I have is that I am not scared of trying again, but this time I'll stay away from leverage since the market is not yet fully recovered, and practice to calculate risk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kpg ngloan k pla dpat my laman binance mo na equivalent sa amount ng iloloan mo?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Oo collateral, dapat mas mataas pa don sa amount na e loan mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mautak din e no 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Oo nmn lahat naman nang loan terms kahit sa bank mas mataas talaga collateral amount.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko Alam e 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Haha ganon yun kaya nga diba yung iba collats mga bahay at lupa 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good you were able to make a remedy for it. I haven't tried loan yet and I may not as I tend to forget to monitor these. Thank you for sharing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it needs to be monitored every now and then to make sure if your collateral is not at risk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh that's what I lack, monitoring hehe. Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May mga ganyan din po pala sa crypto world. hihihi. Andami ko pa palang dapat matutunan.(•‿•)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nman meron din haha, oo aral aral na lang muna bago pumasok sa mga ganyan. Risky yan eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga po. Hanggang hodl lang muna ako.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago