Sorry, Excuse me and Thank You

10 53
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

How you react when you are getting closed with your elders? I mean when they are talking with each other and they blocking your way, what will you do? I say “Sorry, Excuse me and Thank you” How about you?

https://unsplash.com/photos/pR13lLESFJw

I want to go out of our house but my mother and some of our neighbors I called aunt are talking about some matter, I think it’s all about someone’s birthday, they asked each other how to prepare the food and what must be to be prepared.

I remember it's June and Legend is born in June as they said. But I am not a Legend LOL, it is also my birth month. Maybe that’s the best reason why I really need to get out inside the house. They might think about what to prepare for my birthday, and I don’t have the budget for that LOL.

It is normal for me to say Excuse me when I see two or more people blocking the door. Sometimes I say thank you if the guard opens the door for me at the mall or buildings, I also say sorry when I think I pushed and something happened.

Filipino Manners Always Matters

I remember my grandfather stories when they still a teenager, their parent are really strict that the glance of eyes will shock your bone and causes you to overthink and panic. When there is an event and you’re family had some visitors and you never greeted them with “mano po” or blessing with their hand they will label you disgraceful.

He said talking loud voice with your parent also causes big disrespect. But now it becomes normal. Even a small kid could now talk like an adult to their parent.

Filipino values and the main concern of that time that passes through generation to generation. Sometimes it’s become instinct of all Filipinos that they respect the older people in society.

When we go out someplace we used the word “Kuya and Ate” when we buy things or commute. We Filipino also called the stranger “Auntie and Uncle” even we don’t know their names and where they come from. That’s become a normal thing for me, I don’t know for other people, maybe you could comment if you still like me.

Filipino values are something that is I am proud of, I remember when I was still in Elementary, I want to become a Teacher. Because calling the name “Ma’am and Sir” is something that is touch full. Well in some schools mostly from the private institution they don’t call ma’am or sir but they called it Teacher. Until now when I saw my teacher from Elementary at our neighborhood I normalized calling them Ma’am and Sir.

The Act of Giving Respect Matters

Whoever the person or what positioned they had you need to respect them. That’s what professionals do, I don’t understand sometimes people who think they are higher labeled when they been graduated college and find a nice and decent job. They have been starting to ignore lower-class people.

When I was working as Supervisor, workers always saying I don’t have to call them Ma’am and Sir because they must be the only person who just called me that term. I laughed and I ask where they did hear that? I was shocked when they say that It comes from one of my co-supervisors.

One thing is always on my mind and I know it’s an old and classic motto “Degree is just a piece of paper”, Believed it or not, my teacher from college always reminding us when we still under degree. Which I still pasting in my mind.

We also use this as a tool when gathering information about farmers, I remember when I was on the field doing school survey research. Calling them with respect and honorific term like mentioned earlier its make them active to participate and even offer you some product from their garden.

Sorry, Excuse me and Thank You

This Three words I think are the very important thing you had when your out at some public places or private events.

  • We don’t have to be sorry to say the word, When we are in public places, I think saying the word sorry during some unexpected happening is the best remedy to prevent arguing, and if I am the person who been accidentally hit and heard the word I will just smile and says it's okay.

  • Excuse yourself with manners, don’t just walk in the face of people even you don’t know who they are, who knows someday they will be a person you need the most, or they will be your future clients so we must treat whoever and what standard of living they had with right gesture and manners

  • Thank you and be thankful. When the sales staff gave me the change from my purchase I always say the word Thank you. Sometimes we don’t know what stress they been through from working, and the word thank might brighten their mood and do the job more happily.

This thing is natural to us, not because we're Filipino or anyone else. We say sorry if e hurt or we think we did something bad, we excused ourselves when we really need to and we say thank you to appreciate what they did. Thank You 

THANK YOU.

Thank you for reading my article, If you like my article please leave thumbs Like, and if you have thoughts regarding this topic I will glad to hear that in the comment. Do you want to be part of the journey? That’s will be highly appreciated.

Hey, my sponsor block is waiting for your logo.

To God Be The Glory

RECENT ARTICLE

Stressed Spell Backward is Desserts

Edible but Wild Is Poisonous

What if Gossipers Has Superpower?

When I Dreamed About You

6
$ 24.27
$ 23.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.10 from @ZehraSky
+ 4
Sponsors of Eunoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Also one of those people who still values courtesy to elder ones. Proud Filipino na magalang here! XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uyy hehe parehas tayu yow

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Respect is such a gem that not everyone doesn't treasure it so I have huge respect for someone who instills respect in his soul.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May our soul be blessed for respecting our elders. That's was on 10 commandments right! 😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some time in Noise cash some newbie called me sir but i refused them to call me sir because i am not deserve that praise as well the called ..

Anyway, this is necessary to use some words in our daily life according to the position and according to the people .. Yes some people available who try to blame lower class earner but this is not make any sense yet!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

were to much polite bro haha .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You? 🙄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woii,, I also did same like saying 'excuse me and thank you'. Haihihihi. Tandem na sakin yang words na yan. Yung turo din ni papa at mama ko, everytime na pupunta kami ng ibang bahay, dapat may respeto at umupo ng maayos at wag magsasalita o sasali sa usapan ng mga mas nakakatanda.

Uie, advance happy birthday, bawasan mo ipon mo uie hahaha . Kaso nasa mababa ang presyo ni bch now. Kaya paano? 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha kaya nga eh, next year nalang handa baka lumaki ma hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sana para bongga. Parang debut ba hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago