Edible but Wild Is Poisonous

27 67
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

Rainy season now in the Philippines and people are expecting both planting rice and Mushroom season, but what is under this mysteries with the mushroom? Why during rain and loud thunders there will provide a bunch of wild fungi all over your backyard? Is this mystery or science?

Yours truly under my small mushroom farm

I am in the mushroom field for four years now, I do research and a study thing under the sun that is related to mushroom cultivation and the rainy season is the best environment for wild mushrooms. My friends remember me when they see mushrooms in their backyard, that my trademark. One thing for sure we always want to eat safely.

I started a small business here in our area, and the fear of eating mushrooms is the big problem I faced. Like they are really curious if is this food is safe? How it comes from? How it made?

People who are not normalized eating mushrooms think of the poison they gave. Well, some characteristics are already publicized, like don’t eat those with a ring at the stem, or have an unpleasant smell. But for me, it’s not enough that you knew those simple things. Because in mushroom already evolved as our environment do.

Eating wild mushroom that is edible is sometimes poisonous and not safe.

Why Mushroom Grow After The Rain and Thunderstorm?

If you are living in a farm or logwood abundant area, you will notice that when the heavy rain with a thunderstorm the next day there will be mushroom grows and ready to pick. Haven’t you curious what happened and why it’s too big and looks healthy than the normal one.

Here’s the answer, a mushroom is fungi not considered a plant but closely related to humans or animals. They only need three primary sources of food to survive and that are Glucose (Sugar), Lignin, and Nitrogen. Those elements are highly present during the condensation of the cloud then transferred through the heavy rain. Sugar and Lignin are present under the decaying wood or leaves while nitrogen is present from the lightning storm.

So primary source is present where they did come from?  The seed of mushroom is called spores, and two active sexual spores are called mycelium. Spores are highly present in the environment, we breathe them and inhale them with our nose, those tiny spores will be later become Mycelium that will grow as mushrooms fruiting bodies.

Why mushroom is related to humans? A high amount of Fungicide is dangerous to human, and the structure of mycelia and nerves cell of human have a common molecular structure if your fan of science, evolution living creatures are from big sized fungi.

How the Edible Becomes Poisonous?

We knew if it's an edible one if there is no ring, and the name is listed on the safe category. But we must consider different factors; I worked at a mushroom farm so I must know how to spot edible and what is not.

Culture Mushroom is Better than Wild. Those mushroom-packed in the marker are safer than the wild because they been insured clean. All mushroom has no protective layer skin, so they could absorb all the present element in the environment they grew. So if the mushroom grows on the rice field with chemical or beside the pesticide residue, 100% there is a chemical component that is toxic and that mushroom is considered poisonous.

In another hand not be biased, cultured mushroom or those under commercial scale is also at risk of having poison. If the fruiting bodies fall under the ground for one minute, that is considered not edible under big commercial packaging. Regardless if wet or dry the floor is, the chances of contamination and infection are 50%.

Also considered the people who picked the mushroom are prone to poisonous chemicals. Like the worker just like me.

Here’s the thing I been debated when I worked on the farm, do you know that edible mushroom could kill its boss? Yeah, workers are at risk of poison even the mushroom in under the cultured category, I myself had encountered being poisoned my oyster mushroom, and that is the reason why I been doing research and educating the farmers.

From 3 AM to 5 AM then 4 PM to 6 PM, you need to wear nose protective gear because the spores releasing mushroom is very active; too much inhalation of spores could kill you just a second. First, you felt dizzy, and then later you will found yourself vomiting. That what happened to me when I was working in the fields, like other poison remedies you need to ingest sugar to trigger the toxin to come out to your body.

There is more risk in mushroom farming you may not know, under the healthy and tasty mushroom at your table lays a lifetime risk to the farmers.

Edible but Wild Is Poisonous

The rainy season is coming in the Philippines and before gathering wild mushroom makes sure the area they been grown is safe and clean, away from the chemicals residues that may harm yourself. Because edible but wild mushroom is poisonous.

Look for a mushroom that has no ring, no unpleasant smell, and grown in a clean environment. And the most important thing look for the only mushroom that is proven safe. Don’t risk yourself eating unknown species of mushrooms. But I'm not telling you not to eat them, but to carefully prepare and enjoy the tasty mushroom.

If you haven't yet read my goal why I am here please visit to know me more and why I am here. Link here: BCH Will Fund My Research

Welcoming My New Sponsor

Another achievement of Eunoia, a new sponsor is added thank you @Eybyoung for offering your support with @Bjorn and @CryptoMax .

And also thank you for reading my today's article, I want to know you and I want to befriend you. Please do comment with your thought, thank you. I'm also looking for a sponsee now, and willing to help a newbie even I just an amateur.

To God Be The Glory

14
$ 31.50
$ 31.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of Eunoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

For true i not yet eat any mushroom but we have played with many mushroom when i was child though those mushroom we are toxic full.. Anyway, i like the information of mushroom growing requarment brother and this is awesome that this no need oxygen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just that is primary food need bro, oxygen is also essential to them. They not plant but they are also categorized animals because they also contributed carbon dioxide. Just like us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

though i am science student but look everything i forget 😆😂.. God bless corona!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I eat mushroon but not always. Ewan, takot ako, I always think I have the risk of getting poisoned. Kudos sa lahat ng farmers na nagrisk ng buhay nila para maenjoy ng masa yung inihahain sa mesa. (kahit konti lang sahod hahaha) Hoping for better compensation opportunities dito sa Pilipinas. Sa ibang bansa kasi, prioritized welfare nila. Hay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whahah that's my greatest problem when I established my mushroom farm, takot tao dito but later through the constant education nakukumbinsi ko sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti naman. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How to pronounce your username? Haha mine is Yo noy ah.. I don't know yours haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually it's a reverse version of my real name, Michelle haha! You can just call me Elle for easier life. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan lang ako kumakain ng mushrooms kasi ang alam ko poisonous siya. Thanks to your article at naliwanagan ako.😊 Minsan umuorder ang nanay ng partner ko ng mga cultured mushrooms. So ngayon kakainin ko na ang mga iyon.😊Sene set aside ko kasi yung mga mushrooms pag hinalo sa mga ulam eh.😁😁😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe oo kapag cultured safe yan, di tlga ako kumakain din ng wild kasi alam kong di safe hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. My course isn't related to agriculture, more so mushroom but we had a project last sem about creating an advertisement about new wild edible mushroom products. I think it's part of the Tuklas Lunas project of DOST.

Anyways, you have already mentioned it. It can really be poisonous, not all tho. And of course, only you guys, who are expert on this field can tell.

And oh, I love mushroom sisig! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow naman. Oo masarap sisig hehe, pero dapat pira-piraso kasi mabilis maubos whahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha oo nakachop yung mushroom na pang sisig talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We do eat mushrooms here whenever they grow after a storm. It became our favorite. Thanks to father that he know how to identify the poisonous and not poisonous one the same reason you have given the ring and smell. I am thankful to you of sharing this article because I now know how mushroom grow. And I could explain the mystery behind it, so as the structure it compose, and the danger it could bring if not taken properly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lucky you, yes mas alam minsan ng nakakatanda. May ibat ibang pangalan din sila eh sa ibat ibang lugar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kumakain din ako ng mushroom. Nilalahok namin sa mga gulay na ulam din namin. Masarap naman ang mushroom hindi naman siguro nakakalason pwera nalang if may sign if pwedeng kainin or hindi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ingat ingat tayu. Madaming nakakalasong kabute din sa paligid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anong klaseng mushroom ang inaalagaan mo? Dto sa HK love ng nga tao ang mushrooms

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang mahal ng mushroom diyan no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dpende sa klase.. Yung osyer ang pinaka mahal ata

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oyster mushroom po. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really find your articles about this topic fascinating. I am actually fond of mushrooms and a part of me really wants to see the mushroom cave at our university but I have only seen them in pictures haha. I want to start doing research as well but since I have nowhere to place the mushrooms, I am reading about them sometimes.

I never realized that mushroom cultivation comes with its own risks. I know that there were poisonous mushrooms but this is the first time that I have heard that you can get poisoned even by cultured mushrooms. Thank you for sharing this informative article. Hopefully, they help a lot of people in your field.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the your time reading. Yeah I thought that poisonous only those inedible until I myself the one that encountered being a host of the toxin, that's why I really want to educate farmers specially the risk on their health

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ijay farm, agmumushroom culture da met, kabsat. Mayat pay nga business dayta. Keep it up. Dayta koma gayam naimas nga dengdengen tatta ah. Laukam bunga parya. Sows! Mansu!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayna makapa-uma kabsat hahaha isu lang kanayun sida my hehe mayat lang at libre

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mangpurwak ka man ngarud ta puro marunggay met ditoy ayan mi hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First let me Congratulate you on your new Sponsored. And I also like to be your friend nice writing even though I've eat mushrooms before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago