To Continue or to Give up?

40 70
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

10/25/2021


Things just don't always go as expected. And as if it's not yet bad enough, worse things unexpectedly happen, that test our spirits. Should I push through, or stop now?

Source: Unsplash

I've been in this situation lots of times. It's a continuous streaks of failures, mistakes after mistakes, worse days after bad ones, tears after tears, fears after rejections. Unmet expectations are such a pain in the bangs, even if you don't have one. And we are not hypocrites to just say the eagerness to pursue will stay the same. In reality, it wavers. It's always tempted to fly away.

Whenever we come into this point in life, there are suddenly lots of question marks on the way. Am I doing it wrong ever since? Should I just have listened to what they said? Will I really get there if I continue? Should I just accept that this is not for me?

Answering these questions, along with a thousand more, can be nerve-wracking. It's not an exaggeration when I say it could cause an emotional breakdown. It's the state of confusion, of crisis, that, unfortunately, only YOU, could ultimately solve.

While others may be influential enough to tell you what to do, the final say is still on you. At the end of the day, it's your mind who will command what's to be done. It's your heart that will dictate what direction you'd take. But what if you could not hear what your heart and mind say?

This is what I do. First, I take a break. Even this sounds like an irresponsible way to sort out our feelings, it's actually helpful. It's normal to have worries and mixed emotions that can be overwhelming, and just thinking about it more does not actually make it better, truth be told. So, I take at least a day, to just losen things up. Like a lady losening up her tight corset, she lets go and breathes better, finally. A relaxed mind works wonders. During this state, I can now start to clear out my clouded mind, and distinguish my heart's voice among lots of others.

This may include doing things that calm you. Personally, I do sleep. Or just lisyen to music. And pray. It's different for everyone, do what works for you.

After relaxing, I would either ask for others's advice or work it out myself. Most of the times, I do the latter. I am personally not inclined to sharing my burdens with other people; moreover, I find it exhausting to talk especially when I am struggling inside. So, I usually think things through alone. Again, this works differently for everyone. I also had 'Eureka' moments, thanks to friends' help and pieces of advice. It is also true that two heads are better than one.

After these two steps comes the final one. Decision making. Should we stop, or should we continue?

For this area, I know it's gonna be hrd to give a specific answer because it depends om the situation. However, let me share some things to consider whether you should not give up, or whether to let go.

  • Does doing it make you happy?

  • Does the outcome matter more than the means?

  • Do you think you are nearing the desired results you want?

  • Do you think it's worth it?

  • Are you still inspired to pursue this?

  • Is continuing more beneficial that giving up, or vice versa?

These are just some of the questions I ask myself. Most of the time, I get the answer "Continue".

While there are situations we may have to give up, let this be known to us that surrendering a battle does not mean we are incapable. It actually means we are meant for something more. Remember this, whenever you feel like giving up is a sin.

Taking that thought aside, we actually never know if we can unless we just go and try multiple times. We know practice does not make perfect, but it makes us improve and become better than the last time, until we achieve the desired results.

There is a story of two people who are mining diamond, James, and Lucas. James was further below the cave and has already dug a great part of the underground mine, initially enthusistic for the large diamond which was the talk of the town. However, one week into his seemingly vain attempt, he gave up. On the other hand, Lucas who was just a few meters behind James, followed through the path James left, and continued what was left of the deep hole. After almost three days of digging in the same area James left behind, Lucas jumped in joy when he finally found the large diamond hiding.

Is it luck, or hardwork? You judge. All I can say is, too bad for James. If he just put up with it a little more, he could have gotten that diamond he's worked for a week.

Sometimes, things in our lives are like that. Whenever we're about to give up, God helps us realize that we just need a little more push to see what's waiting at the end of the tiresome race. Failures are meant to prepare us to trimphs and victories, so I hope we'll continue to stay strong and hold on a little longer, because who knows? Your diamond is waiting a few meters below you, just waiting for more efforts.. A little bit more, and you'll finally see it shining before your eyes.

You'll soon be there, keep going, friend.

Another Rainy Monday!

Whoa, I really did not expect the strong rains! Is it still the same typhoon? Sigh.

Anway, these are just some of my insights while traveling home from work earlier this evening.I consider myself as a person who don't really have massive successes. But then I look back and realize I won many battles already, and those victories are because I did not choose to give up, but fought instead.

I hope you enjoyed reading my insights today. Until next time!

Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty

Special mention to my lovely sponsors!I am always thankful and love y'all so much!

❄️ Read Next!


My sponsor block is excited to have your logo! Thanks in advance.

Start your read.cash journey NOW!

Oh, wait.. Do you prefer interacting through short posts? noise.cash is perfect for you! Let me know, so I could guide you through.

#Club1BCH

To God be The Glory.

16
$ 10.35
$ 9.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.20 from @Pichi28
+ 12
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

Pause for a moment but never give up , it okay to take a rest but continue to hold on...Laban lang!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, keeping this is mind. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed. Best thing to do is to know ourselves. 👍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for reading. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously this giving up is what I was thinking of doing last week after writing articles with no reward to show for it,I was weak and scattered like relenting but the way I see people earning in here always keep motivating me not to relent but keep on pushing till I get there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is right. Keep going. I wonder why your comment is on spam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ilang beses ko ng sinabi na give up, pero heto ako patuloy pa din. Siguro nakikita ni God na I can do better than what I am doing kaya pinupush niya pa ko.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama ka dyan. Push lang tayo ha? 💜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Elle. Push lang! 💗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Stopping for a moment is not a sin, it's just that we just want to breath. We just have to stop for a moment and think again.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama! Hugot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes when we tried everything and still fail, we just have to take a moment. Maybe it is Heaven's way of saying we are doing it the wrong way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, yeah, sometimes, we can only see how far we've come when we stop, that way, we gotta see what we've been doing wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True that Michelle :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Taking a break means you are trying to pull your senses back; reassessing what's happening to you. Failures are part of our life and it's okay to fail sometimes but what's not okay is if you will always let yourslef fail. Giving up is only to those who are fragile. Anyway, thanks for this article Ellechim! ❣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice to meet you! I love your insights relating to this blog. See you around!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was on the verge of giving up too but I learned that God was just testing me and He sent a miracle my way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had lots of experiences like these, too. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am always in favor of not giving up. Although sometimes we need a change, and in those cases the change s fine. But as you say, the word that I usually apply is continue.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, we'll never know unless we test the limits. 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's go! what's up? You didn't read my article before: "Never give up" Let's eat the world!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe I really did not read that one. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unless it is something you really Hate doing, everything is worth fighting for

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This somehow summarizes what I wrote, thanks for sharing. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taking a break is a good help, it is the proven remedy to all the toxicity and stress we all feel. It is advisable to take a break to breath in. I do that all the time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed! Other people sometomes forget it. It's very okay to take a break!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've had those kind of experiences too. Just a week ago, I thought of giving something up and letting it go but God came in in the most perfect time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is sometimes true to "Let Go and Let God." Tuloy lang tayo! 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it also helps, when taking a pause, to consider other things that God is working out in your life. I mean we are set to think and work towards our goal right? SO our focus is getting there. So when things don't go our way, we tend to think of giving up because it feels like we're not progressing or not hitting the small goals toward the big goal. But in reality, every waking moment for us, God is working out something in us and THROUGH us. Maybe not FOR us just yet but He is at work :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww, I love this one. Thanks for adding this. There are things we really can't do because God does it for us. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know the good old saying "never give up". Taking a break is ok and actually needed when you feel it is too much. After the break you can continue.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Spot on, my friend. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I often take a break if I know something's not right deep inside me. After that, I could see things clearer than before and that's making me continue. No room for giving ups! ☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! You are right, the way is only clear when we take a pause and let the sand settle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another inspiring article from one of the passionate and brilliant women. You bloom so much with your crafts here every article leads to one purpose to inspire us. be safe always and I am so proud of you.

$ 0.01
User's avatar eve
2 years ago

Thank you po, ate. You know I really miss your presence here. Buti ako di na po spam ang account mo. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems we have your high winds and rains. I am a Rangers football fan and we have one motto .... NO SURRENDER .... I apply this in my life :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, love the motto! Thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always expect the unexpected

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Love this one. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago