My Parents are the Stars Tonight

30 79
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

02/16/2022


We are now into the middle of the week again, and on my end, after work time.. is writing time.

Image from Unsplash

I am glad that I seemed to have gained more energy even after a day's work during these times, unlike before. I am sure it was due to more sleep that I get. Thanks to a healthier sleep time I have been trying to stick to, since last year. I could feel its positive effects gradually benefiting my body.

Tonight's article is something different.

Inspired by @Ruffa 's recent article, I want to answer some questions about my parents. To give credits to the idea source, let me also mention @Zhyne06 who initiated this type of content. (Please let me know if I have made a mistake in mentioning the original owner of idea).

It has been a while since I participated in writing challenges/prompts. If this one can categorized as such, then this will be the first of the many events I will probably join in, soon.

Enough of this small talk, let me go straight to the questions now.

What do you want to feel from your parents?

Honestly, I don't have an answer to this seemingly intriguing question. Maybe because I can say I have felt all sorts of feelings I was supposed to feel as someone's child. I have felt genuine love, care, affection, happiness, and many other beautiful things.

There were negative feelings, of course. Every relationship has its own good and bad times, too, and that applies in parent-child relationship as well. Some emotions I felt are resentment, anger, sadness, longing, among others.

Okay, so what's the question again? I am sorry, I got lost for a bit.

If I would be more creative, I want my parents to make me feel like I am more trusted. Until now, I believe they still want me to consult to them whatever decisions (especially major ones) I would make. Of course, I know it's a good thing, but maybe in my future years, this would be possible.

They still have a big influence into my life, and I admit that sometimes, I feel like I am still a child to them. That's a fact, though. No matter how old I am, I will always remain as my parents' baby.

What do you think is the reason why your parents are strict?

I believe there is no other main reason of this other than their ultimate love for me. I used to really resent my mom when I was not allowed to join school trips, clasmmates' birthday parties, even overnights at a friend's house, and others. To the point that I always write resentful stuff to my diary I used to have when I was younger. Moreover, I always got jealous of other people of my age who were more free than I am. I even had some ideas back then that this is maybe the reason I do not have many friends.

Truth be told, everyone, almost everyone in my class, be it in primary, secondary, or even college years of mine, absolutely knows how strict my parents (especially mom) are.

I am that one person in a friend group that was always asked things like "Is your mom gonna be mad?" or "Do you think you'll be allowed this time?" etc, when travel plans are being talked about. Funny, but it's true. I am thankful that they respect me with this background.

Looking back, I am thankful for that, because I realized how my parents wanted us to always be safe, and free from harm as much as possible. I always heard mom say:

"If I could make it that not even a mosquito will bite you, I would go as far as that to protect you."

Oh yeah, soft hours officially open now.

Have you ever experienced to be compared by your parents to your siblings?

I don't have any memories of being compared to my siblings, (or maybe I just forgot them) or even felt the negative emotions associated with being compared to them.

Maybe I could remember a few times being compared to my classmates, and those memories are not pleasant. I hate being compared to others, more so because I tend to feel more inferior than I already am. On the other hand, these kinds of situations always made me work harder to be better.

What is your dream for your parents?

There is no other desire in my heart than to give my parents a comfortable life. They both grew in poverty, and did not grow up in a good life, but I am sure they were both raised well by my grandparents.

I want to make them experience amazing things like how I see influential people give their parents expensive vacations, beautiful houses, and other similar things. It is not just give back for all they have done for me, because I know I could never ever compensate for that, even with my life.

It's because they deserve a good life, and I love them. Now that I have decided to start some productive activities, I am looking forward to saving lots and lots until I can surprise them with a beautiful gift one day. In God's time, hopefully.


I have also said it in Ruffa's article. My parents are not perfect. They also make mistakes, and I remember not-so-good moments I had with them. Whether in secret, or openly, I criticized them, and even had some bad thoughts about the way they raised me.

However, I will never ever doubt one thing about them, their love for me. They are not expressive of their love. We rarely exchange words of love, but everytime the day ends, and I think about the day was spent, I realize, over and over again, how they made a big part of it. Of my day. Of my weeks. Of my years. Of my whole life.

Every step of the way, they have been with me, and continued to love and accept me despite my shortcomings. It's true that friends come and go. Even significant others may leave, but a parent will always be a parent. No one can ever change the bond that God made between a parent and a child.


Who's cutting onions?

Just kidding, I did not cry. Oh, did you?

I am grateful that God blessed me with amazing parents that raised me well. I know that whoever I am right now, it's mostly because of them.

It's not yet Mothers' Day, nor Fathers' Day, but I believe there needs no occasion for us to show some appreciation to our parents, right? As we all know, we can't always tell what happens tomorrow, so I hope that we can show our love to them in our own ways.

  • For non-Filipino readers, please click CC for English subtitles.

Why do I feel like there is always an applicable SB19 song to each of my articles? LOL.

Anyway, you may or may not listened to the song above (SB19's "MAPA"), but this is a beautiful song, and I am sure this will be heard forever, as long as there are parents and children in this world.

Do you also want to answer questions like these? You are very welcome to do so! Suddenly, I become curious of your own ideas or memories to share.

Thanks for being here!

What do you think about this article? Show some love! Feel free to leave a like, comment, and share it to your friends! If you want to support me in a different way, be one of my sponsors! This user loves sponsors!Β πŸ’―

Start worthwhile journeys:

❄️ Read Next!

#Club1BCH

(Lead Image from Unsplash)

To GOD be the glory.

12
$ 9.23
$ 8.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @MD_Tibro
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 9
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

My dream is to let my parents travel the world one day once I am successful and I am rooting for it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope that I could do this for my parents, too. πŸ’ž

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really have a lot of story to tell qhen it comes to the people we lovve

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My daddy was like that, when we were younger with my brother. He was very strict with us and I remember we learned how to behave. I only can thank to him, because if he just let us do what we want we would have never learned and who knows where we would be now.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree. I saw some other kids now being adults, and I can see the difference in our current lives, because of the way our parents raised us. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

if to me to be honest there are no parents who hate their children let alone have to suppress excessively, because in fact the way your parents receive is love and care for you, because remember that your parents had experienced youth they would know what would happen to you when things like that happened to them. ever feel. maybe because we are too young for the way we think and analyze everything that happens but all of that has a purpose that you are very dear to them. No child asks parents for bread and is then given a snake. word message

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Unfortunately, not all parents deserve to be called one. Some are abusive parents and deserve to go to jail. But I hope the children of these kinds of parents will still have a good life even on their own or with the help of other adults.

Thanks for your insights, Pajeroz. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naiiyak din ako dahil sa iyo Elle. I always dreamed as well to give my parents a comfortable and happy life. Free from financial issues and stress. What we always wanted is to make them happy. That's how much we love them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Awww... That means you love your parents so much. Sana as soon as possible, magawa nating totoo yun. Deserve na deserve talaga nila. :((

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhh loves your story. Actually our parents will die one day, which still makes me so sad. I really don't wanna let their go. Definitely we must loves our parent no matter what. Great article kdrama lover😜

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh yes. Nothing's permanent in this world, but change. Everything has its limit, so we really gotta make our time worth it, especially with our loved ones. :))

And yeah! I am a kdrama lover! Hahaha! Thanks for mentioning that. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents can really be a lot at times but they still take care of me and I respect them for that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree. As children, we sometimes don't understand them, but when the day comes we'll be parents, too, we'll understand. :) Thanks for the visit, Mofif. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow thank you for the mention sis. True sis, one of the thing that we want from our parents is to be trusted. Kasi dati feeling ko di nila ako ni trust kasi palagi ako nililimitahan sa gusto kong gawin. Pero naiintindihan ko na now kung bakit nung naging magulang na ron ako

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tama ka dyaan, Zhyne. Pero ang totoo, satin may tiwala sila, pero sa mga nakakasama natin, dun sila walang tiwala. Makes sense, diba? <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, sabi ni papa sakin yan. Si mama, minsa ok sa kanya na lumabas ako pero pag alam nika sino kasama ko ayun di sila papayag. Kesyo ganito ganyan daw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, nakakainis talaga pero lahat yata tayo dumaam sa ganyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis haha. Bago naintindihan, nag drama muna kumbaga nagtampo sa parents πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahuhu, guilty ako! Mom ka na ba ngayon sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis. May anak na ki isa. Baby lang naman pero alam mo yung iniisip konna future nya. Natatakot ako. Di ko alam if kaya ko ba siya disiplinahin eh. Basta go with the flow lang ako. Pero yun nga need ko siya e guide. Di ko pa talaga nakikita yung sarili ko kapag malaki na siya.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya mo yan. Ang parent nagiging superhero yan. Fighting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The truth is that what parents do in other to correct us, they do it from a place of love. Although most times we may want to disagree with them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, because their perspective is different from ours. When I try to put myself in their shoes, then I understand, gradually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung bata pa ako strict tlaga sila kng lalabas ako pro nung ngka college prang wala na. Freely na hehhee

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kami paunti unti, di naman yung biglaang kawala ganern haha. Pero nung nag wowork na, ayon, maraming restrictions na ang na-lift. (wow restriction? quarantine yarn? πŸ˜‚)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gahh, same tayo sa strictness ng parents. Yong ang daming di pwdng gawin no. That's why I also resent them. I'm even cursing them in my mind because that's the only way I know to ease the frustration na nafifeel ki. Yong gusto mong mag alsa but can't because of takot. It's really painful and frustrating that time. It's like wala silang tiwala sakin πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I used to feel that, too. "Alam ko naman sa sarili kong di ako magwawalwal, gusto ko lang naman din mag enjoy like them, tapos parang ayaw yata nila akong masaya."

Puro ganyan thoughts ko dati, but now that I am an adult and I watch news , and hear about rape, etc. mas naiintindihan ko na kung bakit napaka-crucial sa parents na hanggat maaari, wag na lalabas yung anak nila. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, most of my friends with strict parents are really females. Well accepted in fact that they will protect their princess diba hehe. Kami wala eh, di masaydo haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! I have a younger bro, and ganun din sya as treated by our parents. At dagdag mo pa kaming mga ate nya minsan, (syempre nag iisang lalaki, at bunso pa) masmalala pa yata pag ganon! Haha!

Though ngyon naman, nararamdaman ko na masmalaya na kami compared to before. Kasi naensure na nila mama't papa na di kami gaya ng ibang pariwara na kapag lumabas, buntis na kinabukasan. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago