Insecurities Do Not Equate Flaws

16 44
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

I don't want to beat around the bush this time. Let me get straight to the point. What are your insecurities?

It's okay if you find my question really personal and not choose to answer that. I just said this because I know, I will rarely hear an answer that goes like this, "I don't have any insecurity. Thank you, next."

In my opinion, even those people we look up to also have their own insecurities. Okay, so why did I just randomly write in this time of the night to talk about it? Because, tonight, I want to share to you the things I consider my flaws.

I am not a confident person. I admit it. I always look at myself in the mirror and I never felt satisfied. This might seem so dramatic, but no, this is my reality.

I have round eyes, fairly small but not as tall of a nose, and slightly thick lips. My face resembles an oval, so I don't have a sharp jawline.

I used to not like the placement of my facial features. They just don't fit together in my big face.

I have dark circles under my eyes, my eyebrows are thin and not shaped well, my face is somehow asymmetrical. I don't find my self looking flattering in any angle, so I am really not so confident in taking my own pictures.

My hair is not like the others', straight and easy to manage. I always have to tie my hair in an unattractive bun, or ponytail, as it will just spread like an old mop if I let it down. My hair is black and wavy, but maybe my own lack of hair care routines made it look worse.

I also don't like my physique. I have lots of fats around my waistline, and a hip dip. My legs are not slim, like how I want them to be, and my fingers and toes are not candle-like.

This is what a dip hip looks like. Mine is a milder version, it almost looks unnoticeable.

I am considered 'tall' at a height of 5 feet, and 5 inches. My skin complexion is originally brownish, but maybe, years of working and exposure to air conditioning units made a fair share of lightening my overall skin tone.

You may find it hard to believe, but I still struggle in accepting my insecurities until now. I am twenty years old; I have read a lot of self-love, self-confidence quotes and reading materials, but I am sure, I still can't form a genuine smile whenever I am looking at the mirror.

I even feel so vulnerable sharing these personal thoughts I have in this article right now. However, I took the courage to unravel it as I know it would help me, too, and hopefully, anyone who might read this—especially, you.

I know you also have your own set of features that you consider your flaws. I feel for you.

There are rare instances where all our insecurities just bottle up inside and consume us without rest. I've been there once. Looking at my skin, my fats, and sobbing while whining like a baby, "Why am I born like this? Why is she slim even she eats a lot and doesn't even exercise? Why is her skin so smooth? Why is mine always full of unwelcomed scars?"

But let me share you an interesting thing. Yeah, you might have heard of it, but we all have different insecurities. What I personally refer to as my insecurity maybe something other people like about me. Let me give you a personal example.

I have always complained about not having a slim body. But it's what my skinny friends envy in me, a normal-looking body that implies I am a healthy person. And yes, I really am.

I personally don't like my eye brows. But my mom, whenever she looks at it, she compliments it as if it's the most beautiful set if eyebrows to ever exist. She said, everytime she sees it, she remembers the bloodline of her mother, (my grandma, of course), and how granny and her relatives looked really pretty with these eye brows.

Tonight, I chose to be honest about myself. That doesn't end there anyway. Everyday if my life, I always encourage me to love me more. I always find ways to appreciate myself more.

Learning to love and accept myself is a lifetime quest for me—for all of us. Let's make each day count! Even with just 1%, it's still a progress.

One thing I have also realized writing this right now is this: Insecurities are not equivalent to flaws. The truth is, all of us do not have flaws, we just see those as one.

My hip dip? It's just a normal body structure and it's completely human. My wavy hair? It is a product of genetics and it is never a flaw. Even my naturally lean legs and boxy torso is a product of heredity, and those are never flaws!

Indeed. We may have insecurities, but those will never ever equate to flaws. God made us fearfully and carefully; He knows the exact number of all our hair; He considers us His most precious creation—now, where is the flaw in that?

Now, here's my tiny challenge for you. Join me as I gradually eliminate all my insecurities and turn them into self-love and confidence. Let's all make our own little steps together in building an accepting community where there would be no fixed standards for beauty, nor condemnation of people who do not fit into the standards made by the judgemental, wrongly perfectionist society.

This is another personal sharing for today. I hope I helped you, even just a little bit. If I may share, my favorite Kpop Group, BTS, inspired me to share this. They are the people who instilled in me the idea of loving myself. Choosing to be their fan is one of the best decisions I've ever made in this life.

Have you been feeling insecure lately? I hope this article helped you in some kind of way. I am always here to cheer you up whenever you need some courage.

Loving and accepting ourselves take a lot of courage and effort. So, to whoever has chosen this path, you are amazing! You did a good job, keep it up!

And to those who will start this quest soon, don't think twice. If you're looking for a sign, this is it.

We are all beautiful in our own ways. Period. Beauty has no limits. Period. Fat or slim, you're amazing. White or dark skin? Both gorgeous, period. Let's normalize that our differences make us humans, different from robots.

Diversity is what makes this world colorful, and overall, breath-takingly spectacular. Just being yourself is amazing enough.


Bonjour! How did your Thursday go? Right now, I am lying on my bed, waiting for my eyes to get tired, and I am thinking about many empowering things right now. Let me share you ome that jist crossed: You can do it!

I hope you had a good read. Thank you for being here. I appreciate it always. :))

Do you want to express yourself too, and earn like all of us in this platform? Sign up now for read.cash and start earning!

I also welcome those who would want to help me in my humble read.cash journey, towards achieving my #1BCH goal! I will do my best to not disappoint you. :)

  • Lead Image source

  • Other photos used have the sources embedded in them. Just click the pictures. :)


You're lucky! You don't have to look any longer for more to read, I will recommend some amazing works to you! Read them now! The writers are talented and full of insights.

@Fexonice1

@leejhen

@noisytoothie

@heartbeat1515

@helmetjetrimi

Until Next Time!

7
$ 12.93
$ 12.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @noisytoothie
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
+ 4
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

I used to be so insecure about my height and color. I seem to be extra tall although I am just your height just a .5 added...Most people around me are shorter than me so I thought I was different. That was when I was in high school. Now, children are really taller.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah!!! Thanks for the plug. I appreciate it. And I'm happy for you learning to love yourself a little bit more. :) virtual hugs!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You deserve the promotion! Hehe.. My way of thanking my sponsors is promoting them as much as I can. Virtual hugs accepted!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright! :) thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dabest! ❤️ Thank you for mentioning me in your article. I do love everything you write and how honest you were. I'm just so shocked to know that you are just 20. I thought you can be my Ate here. Hahaha I'm 21, it's not much of an age gap. 😁

We do have same features regarding the hair. I'm also kind of wavy that's why I always need to tie it when I'm going inside. But, that's what I got from my Mom, and it makes me beautiful. ❤️ It's hereditary and that's what our family is.

I'm so proud of you on how you managed to overcome your insecurities. I also have one and I think we still have a way to go. Everything takes time. We just need to be calm and just go with the flow. ✨

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, but I am going 21 soon, anyway hahaha. So you can consider me same age as you hahaha Thanks for reading! You deserve the mention. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try to make an article inspired by this. ❤️ Thankyouuu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, and let me know! So I won't miss it. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've already posted it. Check it out! :) https://read.cash/@noisytoothie/inse-cute-rities-622583b9

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just did. Thanks a lot for your mention . :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have insecurities of course. The most important thing is to accept and love yourself. If you can't you can't accept and love others. I don't know if you are or will be an ideal person to somebody, who loves or will love you just as you are. They will love your eyes, your skin, your hair, your voice and everything about you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True, we all have insecurities but we have to accept and love ourselves. It's hard but it's doable. Thank you for coming by. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, we all have insecurities and have learned to accept it the way it is. Self love is the key to self-discovery and true happiness. Check out my recent article here https://read.cash/@Fexonice1/the-courage-to-start-2407cf26

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It must have slipped my notifications, :((

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. Thank you so much! I will read this latest work of yours now. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago