Get Some Sleep After Reading This

Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Don't ignore sleep. Don't take it for granted. Whether life makes you have it night or day, get enough sleep. A portion of the day is meant to work, the other portion is meant for rest.

Free Image from Unsplash

Okay, so of course if you read this one after you just woke up, don't sleep, okay? Lol, I don't want to make your momma mad for you having this article as an excuse to not do your tasks.

Well, if you are like me who always sleeps kinda late, (I sleep at exactly 12 a.m. everyday) you may want to check this out and re-assess your sleeping habits.

Just earlier today, it happened again. I was dozing off while working. I always had the strongest urge to sleep whenever I am in the middle of work. I always look at the time on my computer and impatiently wait for the break time to get a few minutes of nap. In an attempt to wake myself up, I go to the restroom from time to time and do some jumping jacks. If not, I purposely bring some files on the ground floor so I would have reasons to walk down and up the stairs (my workplace is in second floor). This makes me walk and gain some presence of mind, like literally.

It is a struggle to focus on what I am doing because, apparently, I would just stare unconsciously at the screen, type on my keyboard without anything in mind, or play with the numbers on my calculator even I am not really computing something sensible. I don't know how to explain that situation, but I know I am always trying to be awake. I even slap my face lightly, or do some stretching, but it's like my whole body is in a "Power-saving Mode" or maybe just low battery. My eyes are open, my body's on the moveโ€”I even talk to colleagues or answer phone calls, but I know a major part of me is absent, or like floating in some other universe, I don't know, really.

The only instances that would wake me up, are when my supervisor would instruct me to do something different from what I am currently doing, or when I interchange my tasks from time to time. Also when I have many things to do (I prefer doing many things at work than few), when I chew some candy, or doing something new. Discovering new ways to do stuff interests me, so my attention is at 100%.

However, there are just days in my work where I can't do anything else but the same things, over and over again. Just today at work, I almost feel like passing out while walking. Not because I am feeling dizzy nor I am having a headache. I just want to lay down in that very spot and get some sleep.

You may wonder, how sleep-deprived am I that I experience this thing? Not gonna lie, there is this even one time I anxiously thought, am I narcoleptic? Geez. Hope not. Definitely not. Right?

I woke up at six in the morning on workdays, which means I get more or less than six hours per. You may think, it's not that bad. It may even be very alright. I think so, too. But I still wonder why I always feel lethargic in some certain parts of everyday. Now, I realized it is not just about the sleep time, but maybe incorporated with my overall aspects, like physical, mental, emotional, spirritual and social state. For sure, my conditions in those aspects contribute to my situation right now.

Now, having shared my situation, I have come up with solutions to try resolving it. I hope these will be effective.

  • Increasing sleep time. From the usual 12 a.m. I would move my sleep to as early as 9 p.m. If not possible, then 10 p.m. Two hours earlier. This would make my sleep eight hours.

  • No more cellphone at least fifteen minutes before sleep. I know I shoild set longer times that a mere fifteen minutes, but I am also aware I can't. (Haha!) For now fifteen minutes. I'd just increase it gradually.

  • Not thinking about stressful things before sleep. Someone has to scold me for this. I always think of my worries so I would always have my eyes closed but still awake inside. It's so hard not to, as overthinking has been my unwelcomed best friend.

When I was a child, I would always hate it when mother would force us to sleep in the middle of the day, or what we call here, Siesta. During those times, I woild prefer playing outside that sleeping. I would always pretend sleeping when she's not looking. Well, I was always caught though. Good old days.

Now, I understand what parents mean. When we grow, we would crave sleep but we can't just satisfy it. Adulthood made me realize I don't really have control over my time because I gotta focus on responsibilities more. This is a sad, yet, obvious reality. I can't just resign from work with a petty reason like "I want to get more sleep." It's kinda funny though, that we all work with the intention to have a more comfortable life, yet to others, it affects their well-being. On the other side, however, we know not working will not do us any good. I can't explain my point really well, but I wanna say life is indeed paradoxical.

So, to you who's reading this, get some sleep if you haven't got enough of it yet. You can just continue that online book tomorrow, or know the hottest celebrity issue the next day. Your mobile game is just one click away, you can always play it any time. You are not forced to stay up all night and reach that specific level.

Don't ignore your eyes when these give you a signal to take some rest. Our eyes have limits, too. When your eyes find it hard to open, don't force it. When they feel uncomfortable or dry, don't stress it further.

We always neglect this important organ of our body. Of course, all organs are vital to us overall, we gotta take care of it. Some people out there have not experienced the benefits of eye sight. There are blind people out there, that if they're given a chance to see, they'd do everything to take care of those eyes they'd have.

We are very aware how everything would be more difficult if our eyes would be affected. So, let's take care of it. Okay? Starting now!

What are your thoughts about this? Do you have some nice sleeping habits to share? Comment them below, I would take note of them!

Thanks a lot for being here. And hey, don't forget to get some decent sleep, okay?

Until Next Time!

Thank you in advance for supporting me in my humble journey. My sponsor block is always welcoming of new people to fill it!

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

โ„๏ธ Read Next:

12
$ 15.25
$ 14.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Ouch. LOL. But I have already adjusted my sleep. I now sleep at 12AM and as much as possible, I am really trying to draft my article as early as 4PM so I can publish it by 10PM and latest wpuld be 12AM. I watch a couple of Philippine dramas at night. FPJs Ang Probinsyano and La Vida Lena. Then I also watch the Korean drama which us aired in ABSCBN as well. Last time it was Two Cops and now it's Criminal Minds.

After I have published my article, as much as possible I try to not hold my cellphone and place it on my side table. So far I am ok with 12AM. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sana all, pwede pa ng 12 am. huhu. May worl pa kasi agad kinabukasan so pag nag 12 am ako, aantukin ako sa trabaho ๐Ÿ˜ฉ Sa weekends lng ako pwede magpuyat. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To that, I say... SLEEP IS FOR THE WEAK! LOL Sleep and I have this confusing relationship... the more I sleep the more I want to sleep, the more tired I get... It's like it has some kind of sepanx. LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh really? It is my first time to meet someone like this naman.. You get like.. weaker when you sleep? Oh.. that's interesting...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For real? I thought it's common. LOL alright.. I get that, I'm weird. Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not really though. Maybe people like you are common, and I am just clueless about it. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha... well, that's another plausible scenario. Hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I slept a lot the past few days! You really have to focus on sleep as well. Haha quit owling and you will be thankful every day!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, ma'am! On it!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I experienced this before. Those times that even if I'm in standing in front of my boss, I fell asleep. Hahaha! I'm a nocturnal person that's why I often sleep at midnight or later than that. When I'm in high school, I often sleep at 3 am, though. ๐Ÿ˜… My mind is much more active at night, I can't help it.

In order not to feel lethargic, I learned to drink coffee. At first, it's just 3n1, then native coffee, after that I tried black coffee with 2 teaspoons of sugar. For now, I'm drinking black coffee with no sugar before going to work. It had become my habit that my day wouldn't be complete without it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

But too much coffee is dangerous too, so you can have it moderately. For me, coffee is a no no. My body does not agree with it, LOL. It's acidity is already too much for my stomach, I don't know why, but that's just how it is. So I changed coffee to sweets. :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you don't like coffee, Chocolates and Coke can be an alternative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! Chocolates. I love those. (sorry for just replying now. Lol)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, it's okay. I know you're busy. Well, me too. I got tons of articles left unread until now. ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya natin so Sis! Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mauubos din natin to lahat basahin. Hahaha, kelan kaya? ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only time knows. Char! ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

when i was still working in a call center, I had multiple experiences like this. I guess its boredom and I lost some motivation to work that's why I always end up like this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Really? Maybe it was boredom and lack of motivation then. Hmm.. It is nice to know I am not the only one experiencing this. Thanks for reading Jean! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you have a baby, your sleeping pattern could be different anytime. There will be times that they wake up at late night or dawn, even if you really feel sleepy, you have to attend to their needs. So, what I do, whenever I am given the chance to sleep I sleep or nap. Thanks for the mention.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I feel.the struggle pf the parents who have a baby in their homes. The sleep cycles are really affected. That's right po, getting sleep as long as you can is the hest way to still recharge the body. Thanks for reading and the upvote, ma'am. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We as human beings are all unique, what works for one person does not always work for another person. Sleep is incredibly important, of course it is, it is how our bodies recharge themselves. I am not a big sleeper, I usually have five hours a day. When my body complains, it makes me sleep longer though. But if you are tired and lethargic then yes, you need more sleep and your little habits to start are great. Good luck with them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello! You are right. Others are fine with little sleep, others don't function with a few hours of it. What's important is we know how our body works and give it the rest and care that is best for it. Thanks for cheering me on. I hope I could do this. Good morning! (From here) ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely, get to know your body and do what it tells you! You can do it, and you have done it na, you just don't know it yet. OF course you can do and good morning over there :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, ctually I slept at 10 pm last night. Feels different today eehehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sleep is very beneficial to our health. We talked about sleep in our Sunday school yesterday and we were told sleep is good and shouldn't be abused. God even told us to sleep but sleeping when we shouldn't be doing so is like we are abusing our sleep.

It's bad not to give our body rest when it need to be relaxed because it will definitely affect our body.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're right.. Too much sleep is not good! Our body deserves to rest, too. Thanks for being here, Princess!! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This has been my problem lately.. Even if I have a lot of time to sleep, I still can't.. 15mins before sleep is not enough. Sometimes it took me an hour before I fall asleep..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, that's sad. I used to be like this din po. It takes me about two hours to finally sleep because either I was thinking about exams, or financial problems, or my body can't just sleep as I want it. Gugulong gulong lang po ako sa kama, until mag 2 a.m. Haayy. :( Thank God this does not happen anymore..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. You know I was just about to go to bed when I got a notification of your article and when I checked the title alone made me laugh. It's as if the post was for me hahaha. I slept late last night only for me to wake up and continue with my duties lol.

I wanted to get off my device just a while ago and grab a few hours of sleep.

I do find it difficult to take an afternoon nap so I will be forcing myself to do just that if I really wanted to sleep.

I can also totally relate to when our parents used to scold us to take an afternoon nap. Now no one is telling us that, we are left to decide what is good for our health lol. So there you go, I choose my health so I will go off now and sleep dear lol. Take care dear

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good! That's nice! I won't change the title, so they will be reminded as well. I hope this would reach many people. Have a good sleep! Love lots! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago