Why I'm Single For Almost 23 Years

37 86
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago
Topics: Love, Life, Goals, NBSB

I'll be turning 23 years old more than 2 months from now and while people expect that at that age, you probably already have some experiences when it comes to your romantic love life, it is not the case for me. While others my age are already getting engaged, and some are even already married and building their families, I'm just here having a crush on someone who will probably never be mine or just collecting a bunch of Korean Oppas that I call my husbands. Lol

Some of you probably know that I've never been into any kind of serious or long-term type of relationship. In fact, I belong to the "No Boyfriend Since Birth" club. However, I too have had my fair share of love stories and heartaches, and some of them, I even talked about in my previous blogs.

Now, the point of this article is that I want to talk about Why I'm single for almost 23 years. When I signed up on a dating app called OkCupid and whenever I share with some guys that I've matched with that I haven't had a boyfriend all my life, they usually ask why. So let me grab this opportunity to explain my side and probably, there are also some NBSBs there who can relate with me.

1. Strict Parents

Well, it is just normal to have strict parents, especially if you are the only daughter they have. Back when I was in High School, my only routine was to go to school and come home right after class. I remember, when my mother found out that I was having a crush on a student in the higher year and texting with him, she confiscated my phone right away. She scolded me and told me that I should focus on my studies first instead of entertaining any guy out there. So I got afraid, and after that incident, I didn't bother texting any guy anymore.

2. Focus on my studies

From elementary to High School, I have been an honor student and since I was a little competitive in our class, I wanted to focus on my studies to maintain my high grades so that I would always be included as one of the honor students. And I brought that trait into my college life, so I didn't really have time to meet and entertain guys from different colleges. In fact, I only know a few guys in college since I didn't want to be out and about to try and meet new people.

3. Proving people they're wrong

When I was in High School, I remember some teachers used to gossip about me and they think that I will not even graduate from High School because I will already get pregnant in Grade 9 and get married right away. They thought I won't be able to finish my studies because they thought that I'm "Malandi" or "Flirty" because of my physical appearance. I was only in Grade 8 when I heard these teachers talk about me so I really wanted to prove they were wrong about me.

And now, I'm already a college graduate, but I still haven't had a boyfriend, how much more about getting pregnant and getting married? Lol

4. Being Ghosted and Ghosting (Pushing people away from me)

Well, in my 22 years of existence, I can say that there were a few good guys who wanted to pursue me but we didn't end up together because they ended up ghosting me or I ended up ghosting them. When I ghost guys, it's only because they're not in my league or that he is just too rich for me so we're not on the same level. I remember this one guy whom I always went out with to eat back in my freshman year in college when I found out that his family is rich and always having foreign country trips, I immediately distanced myself away from him because he deserved someone better. Lol! Well, I'm actually happy for those guys who used to be a part of my life that they now have happy and long-term relationships. I wish them all well.

5. It's not yet time

I really believe that there is a perfect time for everything and just because you want something now, doesn't mean it's already time for it. While I'm already turning 23 and I feel that I'm now ready to be in a relationship, destiny just keeps telling me that it's not time yet. Perhaps, I still need to work on making myself better to be the best version of myself before I found the one for me. So instead of finding the one, I should work on being the right one first.

Perhaps, another reason why I'm single is that I want my first boyfriend to be my last and that if I will date, I will date to marry. I don't want to be in so many "trial and error" relationships because I don't think my heart could afford to experience so many heartbreaks in life so I'll just really wait for the right person, at the right time, and right place.


There are so many reasons why I've been single my whole life and perhaps, the best reason is that I'm not really the "Jowable" type. Lols! 😂

Anyway, if you're still single right now, don't worry. The right man will find you. And while he's not yet around, let's work on achieving our goals first.

Cheers to singlehood! ✨

16
$ 7.44
$ 7.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @rezoanulvibes
$ 0.02 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago
Topics: Love, Life, Goals, NBSB

Comments

ah, 23 ka pa naman. i suggest you travel sis. samahan mo ng tinder app. hahaha! as in, dami mo mami meet na afam sa travels. no regrets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Super relate sa #1-3 & 5, Ate FM. Now, pwede naman na kasi I can feel na may tiwala sa'ken sila Mama na 'di ko mapapabayaan studies ko kahit magka-jowa man. Also, other people thinks na maaga din akong mabubuntis at magkaka-asawa kasi ganoon nangyari kay Mama~ pero awittt. 22 na po ako, nalagpasan ko na 'yung record ni Mama na 16. Sana masaya na 'yung mga Marites sa tabi-tabi, LOL! 🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha! Kaya nga diba? Ako, 15 palang daw, mabubuntis na eh. Kaloka. Mag-23 na ako pero wala pang experience. Wahahaha! 🤣 Pwede na magjowa yarn. Pero saka nalang. Payaman muna tayo. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha ako na ni wala man lang nakaka-landian, asawa at anak pa kaya? 😆

Sa trueee. Unahin munang magpayaman, goals before boys. Hihihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sakin naman po hindi strict ang mother ko pero yung mga grandparents ko po talaga yung apaka strict. Grabe po yung teacher nyo na nagsabi ng mga panghuhusga, teacher pa naman po sila. And lastly same po tayo. I want my first boyfriend to be my last, tsaka isa pa po hindi rin talaga ako jowable. Hahahhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayos yan. Hahaha! Huwag muna magboyfriend. Bata ka pa yata eh. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi naman po halos magka age lang po tayo. Hehe 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have the same reasons. Seeing how most of the people nowadays have shared their hurtful experiences makes me not to rush experiencing it. I'm also that type who would to date the first person who'll be my lastt.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. So let's not rush cause relationships can either make or break you. Lol 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For sure sis darating yung para sayo, yung tipong magpaparamdam sayo ng lahat. I'm sure he's around the corner

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahhh as in sis?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabi ha, teacher pa talaga nag gossip sauo about that. How can they be so sure kaya no, parsng sure na sure na sila ee so madam auring ba sila, lol. Anyways, masaya maging single sa totoo lang. Yong malaya kang magka crush haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga. Tapos di naman nagkatotoo ung sinasabi nila. Hahaha! Sa true lang. Oppas nalang ang icocollect. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was once like this, I remember finished secondary school everyone is talking about boyfriends but am always blank, not until my youngest cousin found love and took me like a small child that knows nothing about life..I took that as a challenge and found love..yeah I once said that first and last boyfriend but then you are happy that you have found, just 1yr gone and there's a chance in everything

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am sure na makakasalubong mo na sya soon. Char! Pero it's nice na you still keep your heart open to people, hindi nga lang siguro tamang oras pa. Pag nafeel mo na anjan na at sya na yun, dakmain mo na, este grab the chance! Road to happy ever after na iyern

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baka sa ibang way po dumaan eh. Hahaha! Ung akala ko nga pong da wan na eh, tinataboy naman ako. Charot. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako edi di sya yung da wan hahahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can sense na you're really serious with your life kasi you want to have first and last.. okay lang yan pero wag mo rin kalimutan lumandi talaga kasi that's the key hahahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha! Lumalandi naman pero hanggang dating apps lang. Tapos nagoghost pa. Buset na yan. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahhaa enjoy mo na lang muna ghosting serye, dadating din yung para sayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baka matanda na ako nun. Hahahaha! 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right my dear friend. The right man will come at the right time. We should be patient no matter the pressure. And while we are waiting, let's keep and improve ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. Let's just be patient and keep waiting. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When the time comes, you will find the guy or he will find you. It is better to focus on a better version of yourself. You will be more than happy when you find the right guy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, will focus on making myself better first. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always believe that the right person will come at the right time, your so blessed at the age of 23 you already finished your studies and had an income.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I also believe in that. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you want to be sure, you will not be single anymore, while I, who is almost 28 years old, is still not married because of economic factors.😄 That's my problem right now, why am I not married yet, I hope you can finish your studies soon and can accept the man of your own choice.😇

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I already finished my studies tho. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Then what are you waiting for, do your parents still forbid you and are still looking for a good future son-in-law.😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

NBSB ka pala langga. Napaka lucky ng guy na para sayo. In a right time langga ma meet mo din siya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga po. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo langga darating yan. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It doesn't you are only single iam also single now 😜 by the way if you are single then its good for you 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, some relationships encourage me to stay single too. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If these relationship encouraging you to remain single then its well nd good We can make it double Joking 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago